We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, beware no bath!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York North Hotel
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Barking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely stay, beware no bath!”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed here the previous weekend with my husband, 3 days in total. The hotel itself is set in lovely grounds, very quiet and green, a couple of miles out of york centre. Our room was upstairs, there is no lift though the staircase is not too challenging, even for someone of my slightly advanced years! We ate in the Dormouse pub next door ( Vintage Inns run this i think) which although next to the Premier Inn is not actually connected at all. Reception staff were happy to book tables for us and it is recommended that you book because i imagine most of the hotels guest eat there, it does get very hectic. Our room was standard premier inn but with no bath which wasnt a problem for us but i imagine for not so able bodied people this may be an issue, This is advised when reserving rooms though. Our rooms was exceptionally clean and housekeeping staff were wonderfully friendly. We had breakfast in the hotel each morning and though we had a very lengthy wait on the Saturday and Sunday we were very impressed with carrie anne who was running the dining room, excellent service and made our wait seem not an issue at all. The second morning she did rush our order through as we had waited for such a long time the day before and tried her utmost to keep things ticking over even though the dining room was bursting with guests. she did seem to be the only staff member on hand other than the chef whilst there was a receptionist on duty she seemed to be avoiding the chaotic dining room completely. We will not hesitate to return to this hotel, despite the few issues we had, this was one of the nices inns we have stayed in due to how these were dealt with.

Room Tip: no stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janandTony55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    302
    85
    22
    12
See reviews for
271
409
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Very helpful and personable staff. Very clean. Does exactly what it says on the tin!! Inclusive package included excellent breakfast and staff, despite being extremely busy over the weekend. No hesitation in recommending this venue to other people.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarboroughKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Well as an extensive Premier Inn customer I definitely like the brand , you know what you are getting . Premier Inn North York is a variation though , its clearly one of the Holiday Inns that Premier took over . Theres the strange door arrangement in the bathroom which makes the loo a bit claustriphobic and the rooms are quite a bit little smaller than the Premier Inn Standard I usually find . In mine they had crammed in too much furniture so you could not sit down comfortably at the desk . The television volume setting was a bit erratic and for those of us with mobile internet and phones the reception was lousey. However the room and bathroom were very clean , the water was hot and the shower strong . The bed was comfortable and the environment quiet . Its set right next to a Vintage inn where was the food was good as was the beer . The hotel is set in a nice environment and I think a peacefull nights stay is most likely here . In addition the staff were very welcoming and polite . The hotel itself is set on the main road into York which is only a half mile walk away .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I would stay here again for sure. Does exactly what it says! Lovely breakfast and well organised. I stayed with my mother in a twin room and will be booking soon for my disabled father to go. Hopefully the disabled rooms will be just as good!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Having stayed at this hotel before we were not disappointed, the staff are very friendly and welcoming, and this service was maintained throughout the visit. Room was very clean as were beds and bathroom facilities. Had the full english breakfast which set us up for the whole day, no complaints there. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a good nights sleep, no external noise and free parking.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor so no stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed here as we were going to the races and it is not too far in a taxi to the course. The staff were very good trying to get guests into their rooms if needed before the 2 oclock check in time. The doormouse pub next door was great to have an evening meal. The food was good and the waiter we had named Michael was the best waiter we have ever had. Nothing was too much trouble but he wasn't over the top..We went with another couple and paid for 3 full english breakfast's and 1 continental but when we went down for breakfast next morning we were told it was only down for 2 full english and 1 continental. We ended up having to go back to our room to get the receipt to prove we had paid for them all and after all that we didn.t get an apology! Other than this we did have a very good time here but not as good as some of the other premiere inns we have stayed at.

Room Tip: Don't go in the room over the reception if you want a quiet night as it tends to be a little noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Before we left Australia for the UK we decided to book our hotels for a short trip to Scotland for a few days, We used Booking .com very easy to use. We chose York as our first first stop and Premier Inn York North as the hotel. It was off the main road by about 100 mtrs and so it was very quiet,The staff welcomed us and explained everything, the room was clean and tidy,the bed was comfortable and it had a lounge to sit on. In the morning we went down to breakfast and was shown to our table the girl explained the breakfast menu which was all you can eat like ( 2 hash browns,2 pork snags, 2 eggs, 4 rashers bacon, 2 slices toast, baked beans,mushrooms.) what can I say I was hungry. The only thing I did'nt see was a lift and carrying large suitcases up stairs is hard. If you are in York after visiting the city pay a visit to the National Railway Museum well worth it and its free.

Room Tip: If your old ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,073 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
611 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York North Hotel
Address: Clifton Park Avenue | Shipton Road, York YO30 5PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in York
#4 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York North is a small Premier Inn set on the outskirts of York, just 1.5 miles from York Minster. With brilliant Park and Ride facilities and a bus stop opposite which takes you straight into the heart of York City Centre. Adjacent to us is The Dormouse Vintage Inn Pub/Restaurant serving food and drink daily. My team and I are proud of the great feedback we receive. Please contact Premier Inn for any other details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn York North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York North Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing