We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York North Hotel
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Only had one night stay there recently but it was perfectly adequate and in a quiet location. Staff very helpful. As there was four of us it was just as cheap to get a taxi into York which was only £5-6 each way. The door arrangement in the shower room was a bit odd but it worked OK. As mentioned before there is no lift so you have to struggle with your bags a bit but the stairs aren't too bad.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delilah2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

It was our second stay at the Premier Inn York North and met every expectation; it was as equally nice as the last. It is peacefully and ideally located, on an efficient bus route to the city centre, close to a very convenient park-and-ride service and there is a really good The Dormouse restaurant and bar facing the hotel all with ample parking. The staff were friendly and always willing to be helpful. Our wedding anniversary fell on the weekend that we stayed and, when we returned to our room in the evening, it was especially thoughtful to find a greeting card with a gift of sweets and sparking wine from the staff. For us our overall experience was top star.

Room Tip: The reception will book a table for you at The Doormouse restaurant which is wise since the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary_and_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We have yet to stay in a Premier Inn and not have a pleasant stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bed was sooo comfortable the breakfast in the morning was hot and fresh and my two kids were full at the end so it cant be bad

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Excellent Premier Inn for our 3 night visit to York. Friendly helpfull staff clean rooms. Good breakfast first time we have actually been served breakfast on the premises and not the adjoining restaurant . Good location for taking bus into York. Will be back again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickola d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed here the previous weekend with my husband, 3 days in total. The hotel itself is set in lovely grounds, very quiet and green, a couple of miles out of york centre. Our room was upstairs, there is no lift though the staircase is not too challenging, even for someone of my slightly advanced years! We ate in the Dormouse pub next door ( Vintage Inns run this i think) which although next to the Premier Inn is not actually connected at all. Reception staff were happy to book tables for us and it is recommended that you book because i imagine most of the hotels guest eat there, it does get very hectic. Our room was standard premier inn but with no bath which wasnt a problem for us but i imagine for not so able bodied people this may be an issue, This is advised when reserving rooms though. Our rooms was exceptionally clean and housekeeping staff were wonderfully friendly. We had breakfast in the hotel each morning and though we had a very lengthy wait on the Saturday and Sunday we were very impressed with carrie anne who was running the dining room, excellent service and made our wait seem not an issue at all. The second morning she did rush our order through as we had waited for such a long time the day before and tried her utmost to keep things ticking over even though the dining room was bursting with guests. she did seem to be the only staff member on hand other than the chef whilst there was a receptionist on duty she seemed to be avoiding the chaotic dining room completely. We will not hesitate to return to this hotel, despite the few issues we had, this was one of the nices inns we have stayed in due to how these were dealt with.

Room Tip: no stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janandTony55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Very helpful and personable staff. Very clean. Does exactly what it says on the tin!! Inclusive package included excellent breakfast and staff, despite being extremely busy over the weekend. No hesitation in recommending this venue to other people.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScarboroughKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Well as an extensive Premier Inn customer I definitely like the brand , you know what you are getting . Premier Inn North York is a variation though , its clearly one of the Holiday Inns that Premier took over . Theres the strange door arrangement in the bathroom which makes the loo a bit claustriphobic and the rooms are quite a bit little smaller than the Premier Inn Standard I usually find . In mine they had crammed in too much furniture so you could not sit down comfortably at the desk . The television volume setting was a bit erratic and for those of us with mobile internet and phones the reception was lousey. However the room and bathroom were very clean , the water was hot and the shower strong . The bed was comfortable and the environment quiet . Its set right next to a Vintage inn where was the food was good as was the beer . The hotel is set in a nice environment and I think a peacefull nights stay is most likely here . In addition the staff were very welcoming and polite . The hotel itself is set on the main road into York which is only a half mile walk away .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.8 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,127 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.8 mi away
Travelodge York Central Layerthorpe
1.8 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York North Hotel

Address: Clifton Park Avenue | Shipton Road, York YO30 5PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in York
#5 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £54 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York North is a small Premier Inn set on the outskirts of York, just 1.5 miles from York Minster. With brilliant Park and Ride facilities and a bus stop opposite which takes you straight into the heart of York City Centre. Adjacent to us is The Dormouse Vintage Inn Pub/Restaurant serving food and drink daily. My team and I are proud of the great feedback we receive. Please contact Premier Inn for any other details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn York North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York North Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing