We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York North Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We really enjoy staying in Premier Inns but hardly ever find we can be flexible enough to get the real good rates. This time @£49 we jumped at the chance as just about everything in central York was booked or £100+!
It is easy to find and in a lovely wooded area with a great pub about 50yards away,close to a park & ride, and with special concessions with cabs for a fixed rate no meter trip into the city.
It was probably the smallest Premier Inn room we've been in - but not small, if that makes sense? It took a while to get the room up to temperature, but fine once it was. Plenty of pillows - wonderful! Staff helpful and friendly as usual, nothing too much trouble.
We'd booked a restaurant in town (see seperate review) as it was a birthday weekend away, but the pub food looked good and a bit more inventive than the usual lasagne, sheperds pie and scampi pub grub. If this had been "sold" a bit more by Premier Inn on their site we might have eaten there instead.
Really good stay, recommend highly.

Room Tip: Quiet location any room should be fine, though it is on a business park so things might start up ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisand69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    301
    85
    22
    12
See reviews for
269
406
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We wanted to stay in York for our wedding anniversary and we were so glad we had chosen this particular Premier Inn as it was in a quiet location, not very large, near a good pub,lovely breakfast and helpful staff. The only negative was that the heating did not work in the room but we did have a plug in heater which worked well. It was very near a good bus service into the city so we did not have to worry about expensive parking. A very convenient Inn and we shall definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Very impressed with the friendliness of all the Staff and nothing was too much trouble when we asked for directions, bus time tables or extra tea, coffee and milk. The breakfast was fantastic and the choice was excellent, from full english to continental. The room was lovelly as well. Would highly reccommend Premier Inn too all my family and friends. Thank you for a pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I met up with college friends for our annual reunion (we move around the country to see different sights and it was York's turn this year)...we left college in 1974, so you have some idea of age and there are 10 of us, so you have some idea of size. The hotel was clean and tidy, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, helping us to all gather together in one room so that we could catch up with each other's news(we were quiet...getting too old for that sort of thing now!) and providing us with jugs of fresh milk and extra tea bags in order to make communal tea. The breakfasts were excellent; plenty of choice and freshly cooked and of very good quality. We loved this venue so much that we thought we would revisit next year. The Dormouse Pub/restaurant next door was just as accommodating and we enjoyed a good meal there on our first evening of the weekend.

Room Tip: To be honest myself and my friends were spread around the hotel and everyone said they had a good ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We recently had a two night stay. Our expectations were not very high, as we were just expecting an average chain hotel, but we were very impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We were given bus timetables and a map of York on arrival. The room was already made up for the family, the breakfast was great value. The nearby pub was an unexpected bonus, with great food. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ztarfizh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Friendly reception staff nothing was to much trouble. Room was warm and clean bathroom was spotlessly clean, the only thing was the smell wasn't nice from the sink, so I had to put the plug in to stop the smell.
The breakfast was well prepared hot food not self service which was fab as the food was cooked and delivered fresh to you.
Would recommend this hotel for all. Bus service just over the road into York .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hairflik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Just down the road from the park and ride and a good pub / restaurant next door. Staff were very helpful. Can't find any faults. It's good base for a variety of places to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,197 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,072 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
604 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York North Hotel
Address: Clifton Park Avenue | Shipton Road, York YO30 5PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in York
#4 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York North is a small Premier Inn set on the outskirts of York, just 1.5 miles from York Minster. With brilliant Park and Ride facilities and a bus stop opposite which takes you straight into the heart of York City Centre. Adjacent to us is The Dormouse Vintage Inn Pub/Restaurant serving food and drink daily. My team and I are proud of the great feedback we receive. Please contact Premier Inn for any other details. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York North Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing