We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal very friendly, rooms very clean beds really comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York North Hotel
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Bungay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal very friendly, rooms very clean beds really comfortable.”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The premier inn north is a little further out, but it's only about 20mins walk. The rooms are plenty big enough, clean and beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful. It has a massive carpark and the pub called the dormouse is a must. The atmosphere is lovely and the good is fantastic definitely be returning on our next trip to York.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovedays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    302
    85
    22
    12
See reviews for
269
409
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

One of the better Premier Inns I have stayed in, Its is a lovely leafy part of York, just a couple of mile out of city centre and has easy access to the city. Staff were friendly and room very comfy. There is a very nice looking pub on the grounds although I did not use it as I wanted to dine in the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamw1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed for one night to try and take the sting out of the Christmas shopping by doing it in York over 2 days - this worked quite well and we got a good price on the room for a Thursday night. We partly chose the hotel because it is close to the Rawcliffe Bar park and ride service - this also worked well - Senior citizens might want to note that there is now a charge of 60p for the inward journey (even with a bus pass), but curiously no charge for the return - even though the outgoing ticket says "SINGLE" on it !

Finding the place was not that easy (though they did call me to offer directions - which I declined, especially approaching from the North in the dark as the sign is on the other side of the road; also, the drive to the hotel winds round the back of the Dormouse Vintage Inn and is a bit narrow and dingy

The accommodation did basically what it said on the tin - A basic room with a shower room (and a strange arrangement for the toilet door, which doubled as a door to the bathroom and a door to the toilet so you could lock yourself in the toilet whilst your partner has the use of the shower room - we couldn't make our minds up if this was helpful or not ! No real complaints about the room - clean and tidy as you'd expect - with a king-size bed. They were a bit stingy with the teabags and milk though: two coffee sticks, two teabags and 4 milks - I dare say we could have asked for more at Reception, but I don't think it's unreasonable to have two drinks of tea each in a one night stay.

We didn't eat in (breakfast in hotel - dinner at the Vintage Inn next door). We had a late breakfast elsewhere and had a much needed lay in instead, plus, we've had experience of Vintage Inn before and not found them to be anything special in terms of quality or price - we'd previously looked up a Camra pub in Upper Poppleton called the Lord Collingwood - about 4 miles away which was really excellent see separate review !

One thing to note: the hotel is only one roundabout up the northern ring road away from the Vue cinema, so we went to see Skyfall which rounded off an excellent evening following on from a great meal with real ale at the Lord Collingwood.

All in all we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annanjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

we've stayed a few times in York at various b&b & hotels...this was by far the best value for money. set in an old orchard & with a decent pub onsite this made our overnight stay in York very enjoyable indeed!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headsupBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Having stayed here before on a previous trip I had no hesitation in booking again in particular I found Samantha to be very courteous and welcoming with her easy going freindly nature which kinda makes you feel at home

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regalgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Have now stayed at all of the York Premier Inns - and many others throughout the country. The room here was not the standard Premier Inn size, but smaller and, as a result, a little claustrophobic.The bathroom/toilet area was too cramped for what was supposedly a double room - no bath, just a shower and a loo, with a ridiculous door arrangement in which a single door served as both door to the bathroom and door to the loo - a very unfortunate space-saver.
I waited 20 minutes for a cooked breakfast to arrive, and when it did, both bacon and sausage looked as though they had been exposed to the cooker for all of two minutes - not a promising start to the day.
I understood from the receptionist that this had formerly been a Holiday Inn Express - some further work needs to be done before it matches the acceptable standards of other Premier Inns - a chain I can usually stay in with confidence.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn York North Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team at this hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2012

WE stayed for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary and found the hotel to be ideal for visiting York- Lovely quiet location, good parking, close to the Park and Ride, very clean rooms ( if a little cool) and lovely, friendly staff.
Breakfast was great, not rushed at all, and the room (122) was comfortable and spacious.
We were really made to feel welcome - they even spotted it was our Anniversary and gave us a card from the staff, balloons and a little bottle of wine! Lovely, will not stay anywhere else now we have found this little gem.

Room Tip: Gound floor room at the back was peaceful, we will ask for 122 again next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,073 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
610 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York North Hotel
Address: Clifton Park Avenue | Shipton Road, York YO30 5PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in York
#4 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York North is a small Premier Inn set on the outskirts of York, just 1.5 miles from York Minster. With brilliant Park and Ride facilities and a bus stop opposite which takes you straight into the heart of York City Centre. Adjacent to us is The Dormouse Vintage Inn Pub/Restaurant serving food and drink daily. My team and I are proud of the great feedback we receive. Please contact Premier Inn for any other details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn York North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York North Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing