We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay. Jason and Bev” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn York North Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn York North Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely place to stay. Jason and Bev”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

A really nice place to stay, staff were polite, friendly and couldnt do enough for you. A warm greeting on arrival, lovely clean room and the bed was so comfortable we wanted to take it home. Breakfast in the morning excellent value for money and lots of choice, cooked breakfast cooked to order and presented well. Staff at breakfast were also very polite. It only cost £2 per person one way into the City and the bus stop was 2 mins away. Highly recommend you stay here and what a lovely City.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrparr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    290
    79
    20
    10
See reviews for
256
391
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

A lovely hotel, clean modern and met expectations. Only negative comment was a distinct drain smell from the bathroom sink. Friendly staff happy to help but perhaps could have been a little more proactive. Great restaurant opposite. Easy to get to from York Station.

Room Tip: If you have difficulties in walking ask for a room close to reception, as some of the rooms are a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were part of a large party that stayed this weekend at this hotel and we cannot praise it enough. Not only was the hotel kept beautifully clean, the staff were absolutely fantastic and so friendly, in particular Joanne and Sam. We had a fantastic weekend and cannot thank them enough, they went above and beyond to ensure that we had everything that we needed and more. Thank you so much for putting so much effort into your job and ensuring that we were looked after.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a four-night break, with some friends. We’d noticed from the website that the hotel has no lift and since two members of the party have mobility issues, we phoned a couple of days before arrival to ask for ground floor rooms, which were duly arranged with no hassle.

Checking in was the usual smooth experience we’ve come to expect from Premier Inns (which we use quite often) and we soon found our rooms.

Our overall first impression was that it’s not like other Premier Inns, since there’s just a shower rather than a bath and the room is somewhat smaller than most. Additionally, the breakfast is served in the hotel rather than in the attached pub (which, unusually, isn’t one of the Whitbread brands). Subsequent research revealed that it used to be a Holiday Inn Express, which explained a lot!

The rooms were clean and looked as though they’d been recently refurbished. They had the usual flat-screen TV and tea/coffee facilities, and were large enough, though there was a distinct lack of space to hang clothes. There’s no air-conditioning but that wasn’t a problem during our stay as the rooms were never too hot. The only real problem was the ‘drain smell’ from the sink which others have commented on – it does seem to be a common problem with the hotel.

Breakfast had all the usual Premier Inn hot and cold options. The cooked food is prepared to order and always arrived hot and fresh. The porridge was a particular favourite with those who sampled it. In fact the breakfast here was in my view better than that available at a 5-star hotel we recently stayed in.

Overall, then, a pleasant stay at a good price and we’d have no hesitation to use the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilT1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I have contacted Premier Inn about my comments below on the 7th September, but have had no reply as yet (14th September). There are one or two other comments on Tripadvisor about bad smells from the bathroom - so it isn't just us!

We stayed at the York North Premier Inn (Room 122) on the 4th September and would like to make the following comments.

The staff were very friendly and efficient

The shower room was grubby, particularly the shower cubicle itself. The grouting was stained quite badly.

There was nowhere in the shower to put shower gel whilst in use

The sink hag a disgusting ‘drain type’ smell coming from it – we had to put the sink plug in to make it better!

No electric shaver point anywhere in the room. The reception staff sorted me out with and adaptor, but seeing how many there were in the box, this is obviously an issue.

Items 2 and 4 are simply not acceptable – bad smells should be sorted out – no excuse.

We mentioned these on checking out – it didn’t seem to be much of a surprise to the staff.

This experience hasn’t exactly put us off Premier Inn, but has made us a bit more wary!

I look forward to receiving your comments as soon as possible.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Great - very helpful reception staff and nice clean well kept room very well located for all of York attractions! Fantastic Pub on site with very classy with well priced food would recommend to anyone visiting York also on good bus route

Room Tip: all rooms ok have stayed here a few times
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEF552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Lovely hotel great staff. Very friendly just the beds are uncomfortable. But a great stay for a great price. Breakfast is very delayed if the hotel is busy but lovely. The pub attatched is also lively.



  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.5 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York North Hotel
Address: Clifton Park Avenue | Shipton Road, York YO30 5PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in York
#5 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York North is a small Premier Inn set on the outskirts of York, just 1.5 miles from York Minster. With brilliant Park and Ride facilities and a bus stop opposite which takes you straight into the heart of York City Centre. Adjacent to us is The Dormouse Vintage Inn Pub/Restaurant serving food and drink daily. My team and I are proud of the great feedback we receive. Please contact Premier Inn for any other details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn York North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York North Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing