We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room as always------ BUT!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn York North Hotel
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great room as always------ BUT!!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

One thing about Premier Inn is you know exactly what you are going to get. A nice clean comfortable room and a good nights sleep. Stayed here for two nights on the great night giveaway scheme and stayed Saturday and Sunday nights. No evening meal here, but a very good country pub next door serving very good food and drinks at reasonable prices. The large BUT came on Sunday morning when breakfast in the hotel could only be described as an utter shambles. Everyone was waiting a very long time to be served and I actually had to call a waitress over to the table after three quarters of an hour just to take the order. We then had to wait another half an hour for our food to be served. I do know people walked out in disgust at the amount of time they had to wait. The hotel sort of made amends by giving everyone a free breakfast but it did rather spoil the day. Monday morning by contrast. The breakfast was brought to the table so quickly I didn't even have time to prepare any toast. Talk about from one extreme to another. They must have been trying to make up for the previous day. The other spoiler was the hotels location. A ten minute bus ride into York city centre but the shuttle bus finished service at 20:00 on Saturday and !8:00 on Sunday and at around ten pounds in a taxi to get back made things a little more expensive than it should have been.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trapper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    294
    82
    20
    11
See reviews for
262
395
14
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

we stayed overnight a lovely hotel and very clean the pub next door the Door Mouse has a fabulous restaurant which we thoroughly enjoyed. Walking into York from here is about 2 miles but a really pleasant walk there are buses just down from the Hotel which we used in the way back but the Park and ride is just about the same distance away from the hotel as the bus stop highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The staff at this hotel were extremely helpful. When we checked into our room we very quickly realised there were families staying in the room next door and opposite. The children were going between rooms, shouting and crying. We asked if it was possible to be moved to another room and this was seen to very quickly and without hesitation. In the change of rooms I left my scarf behind and did not realise until we had left the next day. The receptionist rang and left a message to say they had the scarf and would post it on to our home address free of charge. A nice touch that was greatly appreciated. We didn't have breakfast here in the morning but did eat in the pub next door which had a nice feel about it and the food was good. A good stay although it is worth noting a lot of the rooms have adjoining doors and this does effect the sound proofing. Nice location outside city centre but still close enough.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room which doesn't have an adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Booked family room for two adults and two children. Had expected room to be as big as family rooms in other Premier Inns, but it was not. Therefore, spent five nights in cramped conditions.

Staff very good!

Room Tip: Check room size before you book - don't assume all rooms are the same size in Premier Inns
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aknowlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights over Christmas. Good location for visiting family in York and travelling into the centre for shopping. Found hotel to be in a quiet location , no unwanted noise the whole holiday. Pub next door nice for a drink in evening, didn't try the food. Staff at hotel very friendly and helpful. Always plenty of space in car park however at busy pub times this may not be the case.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jimbob2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

If you are looking for a budget hotel in York search no further. With its excellent location fro the town centre and its friendly atmosphere, this hotel has it all for the most discerning travellers. Strongly recommended a visit to the adjacent pub (although not part of the same chain you can can good price).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Hotel in good location, easy to find. Two minutes walk to bus stop got on park and ride (every 10 minutes) bus no 2 to centre of York, left car at hotel car park which is free. Staff very friendly and helpful hence bus service info (I don't travel on buses that often! But anything to please my little one who was happy, he loves buses). A good sized family room and it was very clean. Everything was perfect for a good short break. Hey and above all a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ypfashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York North Hotel
Address: Clifton Park Avenue | Shipton Road, York YO30 5PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in York
#5 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York North is a small Premier Inn set on the outskirts of York, just 1.5 miles from York Minster. With brilliant Park and Ride facilities and a bus stop opposite which takes you straight into the heart of York City Centre. Adjacent to us is The Dormouse Vintage Inn Pub/Restaurant serving food and drink daily. My team and I are proud of the great feedback we receive. Please contact Premier Inn for any other details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn York North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York North Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing