We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn York North Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn York North Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for a 3 night visit to York. Great place within easy access to the centre. Very comfy room. Booked the breakfast option and was glad we did as had a great selection of both cold and hot food. Ate at the attached restaurant "The Doormouse" and found it very good with a good selection of dishes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    290
    79
    20
    10
See reviews for
256
391
14
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Great staff - always willing to help and excellent restaurant next door (just make sure you book!). Park and Ride nearby is fantastic for getting into York and not expensive. The restaurant next door is very good value and excellent food.



  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a former Holiday Inn so room and bathroom layout a little different to most Premier Inns. However the service and location are excellent. The hotel is situated quite close to York centre but is really quiet so a good night's sleep is a realistic expectation.Value excellent if booked ahead on no cancellation basis. Decent pub and access to Park and ride system are both within a couple of minutes stroll so no extra parking fees. A great spot to visit the attractions of York

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billthraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
508 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a Saturday night at the end of March.

We had room 229 which was at the back of the hotel and was nice and quiet. Spacious room - quite a strange bathroom - toilet was separate to to the rest of the bathroom and there was no bath which is quite strange for a premier inn.

Few problems at check in - apparently the computer had gone down but they still managed a relatively fast check in service.

Rooms were basic but comfortable - what you expect really from your standard premier inn.

Taxi into town was £6.50 which I didn't think was bad really.

I did however think the £96.00 we paid was on the expensive side - for an out of town hotel which is quite basic.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KTandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Would recommend this premier inn to anybody as a very enjoyable stay just on outskirts of York with very good parking & good pub/restaurant attached for dinner.
The rooms are good standard with all you need for good stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roderick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Even though we had some problems the staff and Premier Inn sorted everything out with no fuss and we would stay again
Premier Inn do everything they say they will it was no problem to them and would reccomend the resteraunt next door for value and service----

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here as a family for 2 nights in February to visit our son at university. Excellent location, very close to York city centre with regular buses etc or walkable for the fit and active! We find Premier Inns always to be pleasant to stay in and this one was no different. Rooms were fine and I always do love the Premier Inn beds, very comfortable as advertised. Breakfast was in the hotel - dining room was a little bit small and the area where you collect your food was a little bit cramped if there were more than about 3 people in the area. As someone else mentioned there was a queue for the toaster. We had an evening meal in the pub/restaurant next to the hotel and it was fantastic - lovely food, friendly staff and a log fire! We have also previously stayed in the Premier Inn York North West - a bit further out of York than this one - the North West one has a more spacious breakfast room and better breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0nB0nJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.5 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York North Hotel
Address: Clifton Park Avenue | Shipton Road, York YO30 5PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in York
#5 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York North is a small Premier Inn set on the outskirts of York, just 1.5 miles from York Minster. With brilliant Park and Ride facilities and a bus stop opposite which takes you straight into the heart of York City Centre. Adjacent to us is The Dormouse Vintage Inn Pub/Restaurant serving food and drink daily. My team and I are proud of the great feedback we receive. Please contact Premier Inn for any other details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn York North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York North Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing