We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York North Hotel
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good, as always”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

If you want to be in a premier inn, just a 30 min stroll away from city centre York, then this is the premier inn for you. Tucked away, so private and quiet we were welcomed warmly. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good, as usual. The reception staff were helpful for directions and places to go and we're interested in finding out what we did. Great choice if you want to be out of the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    311
    90
    23
    12
See reviews for
281
418
15
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed for an extended weekend break to take in the sites of York. The hotel was clean and secure with friendly helpful staff & no noise or fuss. All that and the best breakfast going :). We even managed to walk the 2.5 miles into York which gave us a little needed exercise. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foldyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We are regulars with Premier Inn but this hotel was one of my least favourite to stay in. We were given a ground floor room at the back of the hotel.
Bad Points:
1. Cramped room.
2. Broken gate banging against back window.
3. Sewage smell from bathroom sink when running water.
4. Room was next to kitchen so heard banging noises from 6am.

Good Points:
1. Really Friendly & helpful staff
2. Free Parking
3. Not to far from York City Centre
4. Great breakfast & fast service
5. Received refund for 1 night on the Good Night Guarantee.

Overall if it wasn't for the staff I'd have marked it down to a 2, if the room wasn't so expensive in the first place it would have been a 4!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kendaljim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A lovely branch of Premier Inn. Friendly welcoming staff who actually seemed pleased to see us- not always the case in some hotels! Top quality breakfast and staff to serve it. Clean throughout the hotel. Close to York and local sights.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Positive points
Lovely staff
Great location
Good breakfast, although if you order a cooked one be prepared for a wait

Negative points
Room 201 is far too small for a family of four, there was literally no room we could only fit one case on the floor the children left theirs in the car.
The sink smelt awful, didn't seem to have a trap and you could easily drop something straight down it.
First morning all the beds were tidied, even the children's teddies. Second day the large bed was done but the children's beds were just left in a mess.
Worst point is the kitchen extractor fan which makes a terrible noise from before 7am... nightmare. We needed to window open as the room was very warm.
No extractor working in the bathroom so it was like a sauna after a shower.
Booked as a family room ........ but no bath...... even though we had booked in a 5yr old.

Have stayed in lots of Premier Inns but this one, well our room wasn't good. Went to reception to return keys but the guy was on the phone for ages to my children just left the room keys. At over £100 per night I actually felt robbed.

Room Tip: If you are a family or like an open window dont stay in 201 ask for one on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn York North Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your review details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We spent a couple of nights at this Premier Inn, which is situated on the north of the city of York. There is a Park and Ride bus stop on the main road about a five minutes walk from the hotel, which is very convenient if you are visiting the city of York. There is plenty of parking in front of the hotel, so it may be better to choose a room at the back to avoid any noise from residents arriving and leaving. The room was very comfortable, and had an en-suite with a shower and TV. There was no safe, fridge or coffee making facilities. The breakfasts are excellent, with the food being cooked fresh and as you like it! The breakfasts cost extra. Dinner is nor provided, but on the same site is 'The Dormouse', a Vintage Inn owned by Mitchell and Butlers - this is a repro inn made from recycled bricks etc and it is very popular so booking a table during the busy season is a must (the hotel will do this on your arrival). The hotel is an excellent choice if visiting the sights of York.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel to avoid being disturbed by guests arriving and leaving at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Good points: It's in a quiet area (offices). Staff are friendly. Breakfast good, and they are happy to continue serving until at least 9:30 during the week (supposed to finish at 9 which is too early during holiday season).
Bad points: there's no aircon and even when it's 18 outside it can be 23 in the room. Mattress springs can be felt. Rooms are on the cramped side. TV is one of the small non-HD ones.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.5 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,089 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York North Hotel
Address: Clifton Park Avenue | Shipton Road, York YO30 5PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in York
#5 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York North is a small Premier Inn set on the outskirts of York, just 1.5 miles from York Minster. With brilliant Park and Ride facilities and a bus stop opposite which takes you straight into the heart of York City Centre. Adjacent to us is The Dormouse Vintage Inn Pub/Restaurant serving food and drink daily. My team and I are proud of the great feedback we receive. Please contact Premier Inn for any other details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn York North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York North Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing