We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York North Hotel
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Impressed!”
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Had a panic on arrival because at my previous experience with a Premier Inn we paid online so it was a shock to find out that the room hadn't actually been paid for when we got there!! I had used my Mum's card so obviously never noticed the cash going out of the account and as we are a young couple - both 20 years old - it would have been hard to scrape together the £144.20 for 2 nights seeing as that was pretty much all our spending money!!

The receptionist Emma was extremely kind to us (I have registered to tripadvisor today just to write this review about her so that management hopefully see it lol) she made sure we could use my Mum's card as planned, spoke with my Mum on the phone about the problem and got it all sorted by email confirmation because she said she "didn't want to ruin our trip to York" - so lovely!!

We were very happy with the size of the room and the bathroom - both were very clean. The hotel is in a great location away from the road so there wasn't any problem with traffic noise. It was about a 10min drive to everywhere we wanted to go really and the car park is very safe and secure. The pub next door is a pub/restaurant style and very family friendly so there wasn't any issues with drunken people shouting outside at night or anything, it was a very enjoyable stay!

All the other staff we came across were very pleasant as well from Friday 9th April-Sunday 11th. Both nights we came in past 11pm so had to be let in by the receptionist and both times they were very friendly and let us in with no problems. Great service!

I'm sure we will be returning to York at some point in the future and this will definitely be our choice of hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn York North Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2010
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay in our York Clifton hotel. As you noted we are in a great location, with easy access to many surrounding attractions. We do apologise for any confusion you experienced on arrival. During the booking process a credit/debit card number is required to secure the booking, however payment is due on arrival at the hotel. Should the booking be made using a card of a 3rd party who also wish to pay with this card but are not one of the guest staying the hotel would require a fax authorisation to confirm the payment can be taken. Thanks for your feedback regarding our team members especially our receptionist Emma, please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up by the management team at our hotel. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    302
    85
    22
    12
See reviews for
269
409
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We have just got back after a 2 night stay in this hotel. We were greeted by a friendly and helpful receptionist, and found all the staff to be the same over the 2 days. The family room was spotless and very modern, the beds were extremely comfortable too. The only complaint we had was that our room was situated over the laundry room, hence the droan of a tumble dryer all night! But this didn`t cause a major problem as we all slept well. Breakfast is served "in house" and fine, the pub next door "the Dormouse" is fab - great pub food and very friendly. Due to the hotels position, its a bit far out to walk, but on a main route into York and the "park and ride" bus stops on the main road outside for an easy pick up and drop off.
A must to visit in York is the Yorkcastle Museum - great value, Jorvik centre bit of a disappointment!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckie-Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn York North Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2010
We are delighted that your had a good time during you stay with us, and that our helpful team members, clean comfortable rooms, breakfast and restaurant facilities ensured you stay was enjoyable. We appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to continue to meet the expectations of our guests and give you the best possible service. Thank you so much for your review, we do hope to welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2010

we found this little gem after deciding to have a last minute trip away. set in lovley location with the pub opposite. the cleanliness and quality of the rooms were some of the best we have stayed in with premier inn. the service from reception to breakfast was excellent. we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fivebellys123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn York North Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2010
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased to know that we are continuing to meet your expectations. At Premier Inn we strive to delivery a high level of customer service in all our establishments, our team members will be delighted to hear that the service given met your expectations.. Your feedback is of paramount importance to us in our endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customers requirements. Once again thank you for taking the time to review you stay and your continued custom we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

We have stayed here many times before when this hotel was the Holiday Inn and have never had cause to complain. As the newly refurbished Premier Inn we found the rooms to be extemely pleasant and comfortable. The decor and flat screen TV is great. But the shower is low and at 5ft 10ins I struggled to get underneath. An inhouse safe would be useful or if not the use of the hotel safe which we have used in the past, however the girl on reception (who was indifferent to the point of been rude) was most uncooperative. She was prepared to take our posessions but would not place them in a secure envelope or offer a receipt, and I doubt could guarantee their safety either,so in the end we decided not to bother. Our full English breakfast was a 40 minute wait the next morning with the sausages arriving 5 minutes after the rest of it. I was telephoned a couple of hours after checking out to say that we had not paid for breakfast when in fact we had. And only when I called back later to check that all was ok was I told that the girl on reception has credited our payment to the wrong room. All of these things I could overlook if it had not been for the bad staff attitude. I dont think any of them wanted to be there.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cas62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn York North Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2010
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise that the our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our York hotel. Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

I stayed here for a few days 24th july-28th we were woken on friday night at 1.50 by two very loud people who decided to have a chat and discuss breakfast arrangements and what a good day they had had,Complained next morning and was told what did i expect it was york races and people do get a bit spirited. I was not offered a refund as was advertised as a good night sleap or money back ,
SUnday put wet towell out to be washed when i came back went to use towells one was crumpled and very damp next day put both towells out and when i got back no towells went to recepetion were a very help man said he would deliver some when thay had been washed they arrived at 9.30pm
I think the room could have been a bit cleaner as ring marks were left and crumb from our cups
I finally did get £90.00 back for the disturbance on friday night but nothink for the inconvience of having no towells

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth59Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

After having difficlutly in finding accomodation for a weekend away not realising that York races were on, my husband found the last room available in the area here at the Premier Inn Clifton.I was slightly apprehensive as I have not used this hotel chain before and would rather have been in the centre of York.
However I could not have been more surprised!.The hotel was clean, comfortable and had everything you need.The staff I have to say were exceptional, very friendly, helpful and attentive.
The pub next door was also very good, good inexpensive meals and drinks also with good service.
To top everthing off the park & ride bus picked up and dropped off across the road from the hotel every ten minutes.
I would definatley return to this hotel next time we visit York, even though we have used other hotels in the centre previously this was by far the best and good value too.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jedburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2009

we stayed here 2 nights with our two boys, we found the staff to be friendly, pleasant and helpful. the hotel was in a perfect setting, near the main road for easy access to york and visitor attractions, but far enough back as not to be disturbed by the sound of traffic, plenty parking spaces in front of the hotel. the breakfast was lovely with the kids eating free, well organised and a relaxed atmosphere,
our only downside was the family room was a bit on the small side and uncomfortably hot at night, so we didn't get a sound sleep for that reason, perhaps their air conditioning needs looked at. we also thought it was a pity that they didn't have their own restaurant and bar area for relaxing at night.
we were very dissapointed with ' the dormouse restaurant' next door, they had an extreemely limited childrens menu, and when our food was brought to our table it was luke warm, we didn't go back the following evening, we found 'the red lionj' just a few miles out on the harrogate road and had a lovely meal there, which did cater well for the kids.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathmcJedburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,073 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
607 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York North Hotel
Address: Clifton Park Avenue | Shipton Road, York YO30 5PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in York
#4 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York North is a small Premier Inn set on the outskirts of York, just 1.5 miles from York Minster. With brilliant Park and Ride facilities and a bus stop opposite which takes you straight into the heart of York City Centre. Adjacent to us is The Dormouse Vintage Inn Pub/Restaurant serving food and drink daily. My team and I are proud of the great feedback we receive. Please contact Premier Inn for any other details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn York North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York North Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing