We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very clean, very convenient for York City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn York North Hotel
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very clean, very convenient for York City”
Reviewed 20 August 2007

A very clean hotel with pleasant staff(when you saw them)
However, make sure that if someone in your party has difficulty using stairs, you book a ground floor room as stair lift technology has not reached this hotel yet
The term used by the H.I. website for this hotel mentions breakfast in the "Great Room" the "Great Room" consists of a room off the reception with approx. 10 tables and you must wait for a table if the hotel is full.
Food service area is very cramped unlike other "H I Express hotels.
""Doormouse" pub next door has very good food at reasonable prices.
Would definately stay again (but downstrairs) unti they get lift.

  • Liked — clealiness and convenience
  • Disliked — lack of means for disabled to access second floor
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAPPYSCOUSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    293
    82
    20
    11
See reviews for
261
393
14
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2007

I tend to stay in this hotel when I visit York. Situated off a busy main road into the city centre, and about a half hour walk from it, I've found it quieter and of a better standard than those more centrally located (The Queens, Moat House, the Hilton). The rooms are clean, have nice decor, there are in-room movies, tea and coffee etc. There's no bath, but there is a shower. They're functional, sure, and you wouldn't want to spend a lot of time in them, but you could say the same about 99% of hotel rooms.
Adjacent to the hotel is The Dormouse, an excellent pub and restaurant which can become frustratingly busy. Good beer and good food though with a proper country pub feel that belies its years.
Breakfast is disappointing. It's continental, the tea and coffee is from a machine and it's all a bit dispiriting. But you get what you pay for - my room was £69 B&B.

  • Liked — Clean and quiet rooms
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank uryjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld near Glasgow in Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2007

We stayed over the Easter break so the hotel was full on two nights, yet the rooms were quiet and clean. The rooms were a fair size and the bathroom was very good as well.

The location was fine as the park and ride bus stops on the main road beside the hotel, but it stops quite early so we took a taxi in from York to the hotel, £5, cheaper than the bus for a party of 4.

The only quibble was the breakfast on Easter Sunday, the hotel could not quite cope with the number of people, but that was quickly sorted.

The nearby Dormouse pub was clean, tidy and standard. The car park was also more that big enough fro the cars.

I would recomend this hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and bathroom
  • Disliked — No concerns
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank redwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2007

We are a family of four and that is why we chose the hiexpress. We always use tripadvisor and took a chance on the middle ranking reviews. We have stayed with the group before and found them very good value, friendly, clean and tidy.

Unfortunately when we arrived head office had cancelled our booking - luckily there was plenty of spare rooms and we were allocated another room. Had our stay been in July/August this would not have been possible and we would have been pretty stuck. We were told this was not the first time rooms had been mysteriously cancelled.
Our room was unclean. Unclean toilet, un-vacuumed edges to the carpet and mould half way up the shower. BUT after seeing the manageress another room was found and it was a lot cleaner AND we were given it complementary.
The manageress explained that she had just taken over and she was in the process of refurb and reworking cleaning rotas. We left with a free stay which was nice but for a quick weekend break we honestly would have paid full price for a clean tidy room.
The dormouse over the road serves great beer and food but does get very busy early evening - a good sign but be patient.

  • Liked — free stay - good pub next door
  • Disliked — standard of cleaning
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYork96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunswick, ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2007

This was a very quiet, clean hotel that was a good base for touring York and Yorkshire.
It was a bit of a hike into the city center but if the weather is nice it would be a pleasant walk.
The Dormouse Pub was an added bonus as it too was clean and very pleasant and the Sunday roast was quite good.
Would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank skeldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York North Hotel
Address: Clifton Park Avenue | Shipton Road, York YO30 5PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in York
#5 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York North is a small Premier Inn set on the outskirts of York, just 1.5 miles from York Minster. With brilliant Park and Ride facilities and a bus stop opposite which takes you straight into the heart of York City Centre. Adjacent to us is The Dormouse Vintage Inn Pub/Restaurant serving food and drink daily. My team and I are proud of the great feedback we receive. Please contact Premier Inn for any other details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn York North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York North Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing