We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short and entertaining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trevor Rooney's Ghost Tour of York

Trevor Rooney's Ghost Tour of York
Ranked #27 of 57 Tours in York
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trevor Rooney's first and famous ghost walks established in 1980 will take you on a one hour tour through York telling you tales of ghosts and history. You will not be disappointed.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Short and entertaining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Our tour took just under an hour. The guide claims to be the first ghost tour guide in York. He was entertaining. While he does not overdo it, he tells his tails with flair and charm. During our tour he took us to about 6 or 7 different locations and told us stories. Some involved ghosts, some did not, but they were all entertaining. It was not particularly crowded, which made it easy to get close and hear him. It was also not that far. We probably walked less than a half mile. He could have probably stopped at one or two other spots.

The tour meets at the Evil Eye. If you are so inclined, go there first and have a drink. The Evil Eye has a list of well over 100 creative drinks. Be warned, the Evil Mojito is VERY strong!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ddarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    37
    14
    23
    71
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Went on this walk lastnight, the guy has been doing this for over 35 years and he knows what he is going on about! Definitely the highlight of our visit to York, %100 recommend this to everyone who goes.

Helpful?
Thank mjb95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Factual, fun and genuine York bloke!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Have been coming to York for years and have been meaning to 'do' one of the many ghost walks on offer and eventually got around to it with Trevor. It is obvious that he is extremely knowledgable about York and it's general history and most importantly he shows a passion for his city. Whilst telling a good story he makes it engaging and interesting which on some tours is sometimes not the case. Very good value and certainly recommend the tour to anyone who wants to get down the side streets and dig a little deeper than you normally find out about.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon-Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Scary Stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

First did this tour with Trevor Rooney about 20 years ago was great then and just as good now,experienced other York ghost walks but this one was the scariest one of all ,great that this walk is still so popular

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeanmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I went on this ghost tour by accident - we were waiting for another one and got picked up by Trevor, it was not until later we realised we were on the wrong one. Having been on one of these before in Oxford my eyes were open to the fact that we probably were not going to see any ghosts and that it would be mostly theatrical.

Trevor is certainly an interesting man, having lived in York all of his life he knows a lot of facts and a lot of people...what he doesn't have is a lot of ghost stories. I am not saying I didn't enjoy the walk, because I did, it was interesting but I cant help feel he should pitch it more as a historic walk than a ghost walk. He didn't seem to pitch it from the theatrical, make you jump kind of angle but neither did he back up his stories with many facts or details, at no point on the tour did I think he really knew about ghosts, therefore you don't get what is advertised.

At £6 each he is also £2 more expensive than the ghost walk we were supposed to go on and does you a favour at the end by just asking for a fiver. The ghost walk was meant to last around 60 - 70 minutes but actually lasted about 2 hours which you could say is good value for money but by the end we were cold and had enough....it was also a bit strange walking through the ask restaurant full of people to go and look at a room where there was supposedly a well where 1000 sets of teeth were found.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trevor Rooney's Ghost Tour of York also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Trevor Rooney's Ghost Tour of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing