We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TV Remote Control”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
York Marriott Hotel
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in York
Cotabato City, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“TV Remote Control”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

TV must be at least 10 years old (tube model), and the remote control is not responsive (battery is OK), so had a hard time changing channels. Breakfast is good though.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HopeCocoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    653
    357
    148
    66
See reviews for
411
806
39
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights and got what we expected. The staff were all helpful and friendly, our room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed, the pool area was well maintained and it wasn't too far from the city centre. The breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice and I felt the hotel in general maintained the Marriott standard.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Arrived early and staff couldnt have been more helpful, room wasnt quite ready so had lunch. Receptionist came looking for us to let us know when it was and our luggage had already been taken to our room. Had a family room with two double beds and nice large bathroom. Kids wernt disappointed with the leisure club although very small it was nicely kept and comfortable. Bus stop just a short walk along the road to the center of York, can get the 4, 12, 13 or 13A, never waited very long and a return ticket was good value. Visted the Jorvik center, river cruise, railway museum and walked the city walls. Enjoyed them all. Lots of nice places in town center to eat with excellent choice of food. The hotel bar was good with great friendly staff but the bar area was freezing, the doors were open onto the garden when we first arrived and we thought it was that, but even when closed it was still cold. Took our drinks to our room to warm up the first night and didnt bother getting changed out of our jeans the second night and put on a sweatshirt. Breakfast didnt have a huge choice but hot food was indeed kept hot and stocked up. A nice hotel and would stay again. If you want to be within walking distance of the city center then this is not for you but for something quiet and relaxing a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseakers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We were really disappointed in this hotel. As a frequent travller from the US and with top tier status with Marriott this was not what we expected. This hotel would not pass as a Marriott in the US - the rooms in the extended part of the hotel were dark and reminiscent of university dorms. Very dark with low ceilings. In the main hotel they were a little better but again were clearly lacking in investment and required modernization.
The breakfast was poor. The food in the restaurant/bar in the evenings was fine but not worth the price.
On the plus side the staff were extremely friendly. We also liked the location. Great for the races and a pleasant 20 mins walk into the old city. For locals if you can get a deal then go for it.. For US travelers there are many more boutique hotels in the city providing better quality and value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA, USA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

My stay was part of a Tour Package. Marriott York is located near the Racetrack and about 1.5 miles from City Center. Route to get to city center is direct, but because parking in city is often a hassle would prefer to stay closer to the City. No means to get to City Center other than Taxi or taking the local bus, i.e. Marriott offers no shuttle buses. No, or little activity at the Racetrack, so cannot comment on noise during race days. My room was on first floor and I had a very nice view of green grassed ground. I half expected to see wildlife wandering by. Nights quiet and easy to sleep. Comforter very cozy.

Marriott is typical to what one might expect in either the States or on the Continent: spacious rooms; clean linens; large bathroom (for European/UK standards). Bathroom quite modern with full toiletries and amenities as you would expect from a Marriott. If you are looking for a ‘characteristic’ UK hotel, this would not be my first choice.

Disappointed that there is a charge for Internet Access or no ‘free’ Wi-Fi in the rooms. You can find free Wi-Fi in the lobbies but there doesn’t seem to be a strong enough signal other than to log onto Marriott preferred supplier. BT is NOT available that I could tell.

Public areas quite nice. Bar and Restaurant were very good. I especially loved the ‘sun room’ just off the main lobby. It was especially quaint in the early morning (around 7-8am) when the local neighborhood cat arrives to take its favorite ‘sun’ chair. According to staff, this is a neighborhood cat that has figured out how to use the automatic doors and sneak by the staff to plop itself for a snooze and sun nap. Unless you’re possibly allergic to cats, it’s quite wonderful.

Room Tip: Being a member of the Marriott Freq. Stayer's program is very useful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Don't get me wrong, this was a perfectly nice hotel and the usual excellent Marriott service from the staff. Breakfast was satisfactory but no more than that. I suppose that the thing that bugged me was the fact that we had a huge room (2 double beds) in a classy hotel but only one office chair in the room. Want to watch TV? Sit on the bed. I also think that in this day-and-age wireless Internet should be standard at top end hotels and it should be FREE! I'm not sure if the York Marriott is due an upgrade but we had a very old CRT TV with minimal channel options - the sort of thing you'd expect in a 2-star B&B. As I say, a nice enough stay for the night and only a short drive to the town centre but I'm glad it was an over-nighter and nothing longer.

Room Tip: Join the hotel loyalty scheme wherever possible and specify WHERE in the hotel you want your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitebandana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I often stay in Marriotts because their rooms and service are reliable. The York Marriott is no exception and I don't understand previous reviews suggesting that this hotel is not up to par. There were some downsides: during our weekend stay, the hotel was packed and the common areas (lobby, hallways, etc) are too small to accommodate the crowds, particularly with wedding parties adding to the crowd each night. This made the hotel seem rather chaotic. But that atmosphere did not interfere with the service we received nor a comfortable stay. The other downside was that the hotel is not IN York. But we had a car and the drive in to York was very easy, as was parking there.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donnmein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.9 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Property: York Marriott Hotel
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#15 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing