We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel, sufficient for my needs....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
York Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in York
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“very nice hotel, sufficient for my needs....”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I recently stayed at the Marriott for 1 night, as I was attending a meeting in York. Therefore, my company had arranged for this hotel to be booked on my behalf.
check in was extremely efficient and no issues there. We dined in the restaurant in the evneing and could not fault it. Late evening, we ventured into York centre to attend a ghost walk, again arranged by my work colleagues....very interesting and memorable. York is a beautiful city and I wish i could have stayed longer.
Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of variety for everyone.
Check out was also very efficient....would i stay again ?.....probably, however, if i came back on a leisure trip, i would look to stay somewhere closer to the city centre, as I want to visit York and do lots of things....I would say this Marriott is similar to others Ihave stayed in, however can not comment too much on what others have mentioned as my room was very nice and similar to other marriott rooms where i have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    661
    362
    155
    75
See reviews for
420
820
41
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

At check in we were told that our card was declined due to lack of funds - quite embarrasing with a line of people waiting to check. I had to buy a card for the internet connection and go and check my bank balance. Everything was obviously fine, we used an alternative card and went to the room. Ten minutes later we had a call from reception stating that their card machine had made an error !

The room was tired, but was OK. The mattress had seen better days.

Breakfast the next morning was a tiring affair, mainly due to the fact that they only had four people working to serve and clear tables for around 100 guests. The second morning we weren't able to even get a cup of Coffee.

Definately one of the worst Marriott Hotels I have stayed in and it has the feel of a franchised hotel.

Not sure whether I would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

At this hotel for business trip for 2 nights, the room was no where like those photos uploaded by others. I was at a room on the first floor above the restaurant. The room sufferend intense wear and tear especially the bathroom, cracked tiles, toilet bowl, the anti slips in the white bath tube are grey, door frame, all furniture has scratched edge, crickled wall paper from condensation. Room has a super King size bed, but not confortable. You can actually feel the spring on the bed, bed sheet has a hole on it. The windows close properly, but leaks cold air from outside. There is air con in the room but the air con is so noisy that u can't keep it on when you go to sleep. No central heating in bed room, instead, 2x portable oil heaters. Even in late augest, room could get really cold in the middle of night.

Breakfast and lunch in the restaurant was averaged, but food in the bar in the evening was extremely greasy, ordered onion ring at £3, but there is only 6 piece, accompanied with a table spoon of oil in the bowl, so as the chips that come with the burger and it took 1 hour for the food to arrive!

Out of town hotel, cost £5.00 from train station in late evening, but a long walk to town.

Room Tip: If you are not satisfied with the room, ask for a room somewhere else in the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrs_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotabato City, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

TV must be at least 10 years old (tube model), and the remote control is not responsive (battery is OK), so had a hard time changing channels. Breakfast is good though.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HopeCocoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights and got what we expected. The staff were all helpful and friendly, our room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed, the pool area was well maintained and it wasn't too far from the city centre. The breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice and I felt the hotel in general maintained the Marriott standard.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Arrived early and staff couldnt have been more helpful, room wasnt quite ready so had lunch. Receptionist came looking for us to let us know when it was and our luggage had already been taken to our room. Had a family room with two double beds and nice large bathroom. Kids wernt disappointed with the leisure club although very small it was nicely kept and comfortable. Bus stop just a short walk along the road to the center of York, can get the 4, 12, 13 or 13A, never waited very long and a return ticket was good value. Visted the Jorvik center, river cruise, railway museum and walked the city walls. Enjoyed them all. Lots of nice places in town center to eat with excellent choice of food. The hotel bar was good with great friendly staff but the bar area was freezing, the doors were open onto the garden when we first arrived and we thought it was that, but even when closed it was still cold. Took our drinks to our room to warm up the first night and didnt bother getting changed out of our jeans the second night and put on a sweatshirt. Breakfast didnt have a huge choice but hot food was indeed kept hot and stocked up. A nice hotel and would stay again. If you want to be within walking distance of the city center then this is not for you but for something quiet and relaxing a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseakers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We were really disappointed in this hotel. As a frequent travller from the US and with top tier status with Marriott this was not what we expected. This hotel would not pass as a Marriott in the US - the rooms in the extended part of the hotel were dark and reminiscent of university dorms. Very dark with low ceilings. In the main hotel they were a little better but again were clearly lacking in investment and required modernization.
The breakfast was poor. The food in the restaurant/bar in the evenings was fine but not worth the price.
On the plus side the staff were extremely friendly. We also liked the location. Great for the races and a pleasant 20 mins walk into the old city. For locals if you can get a deal then go for it.. For US travelers there are many more boutique hotels in the city providing better quality and value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.8 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Property: York Marriott Hotel
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#16 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing