We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, smart, felt welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
York Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in York
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Clean, smart, felt welcome”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here as part of a business conference. Had a twin room with large single (wide) beds. Rooms were very clean. Have stayed in many hotels but the staff here were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The meals that we had were very tasty, modest food. The conference was a long one - we arrived at 10am after a 240 mile drive and finaly hit the bed at 4am. Needless to say, at about 3am when we returned to the room, we were hungry and so ordered room service. Club sandwiches and chips. (I know, sorry!). The service and presentation was very good, the sandwich very tasty. The chips we didn't eat. Thin and a bit stale. Still, that was our choice and nothing could detract from the welcome that we felt. Our room overlooked the gardens. Would recommend to other travellers. Easy to get to and no city centre to negotiate!

Room Tip: The hotel backs onto York Racecourse so ask for a room with 'a good view' if you would like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moorbius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    661
    362
    155
    75
See reviews for
420
819
41
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed here for a weekend. Hotel is situated next to the racecourse and is a 20 minute walk into the centre of York. There is a bus stop across the road from the hotel and a taxi ride into York costs about £6. There is ample car parking at the hotel. We had a king size room and the room was lovely. It overlooked the racecourse and the view was lovely. It had TV, tea/coffee making facilities etc, trouser press, large bathroom with bath tub and shower. The room was very quiet. However we did not have a good sleep due to the heat in the room at night and we had to open the windows. The other downside to our room was that there was something wrong with the flow of water to the bath and sink and therefore the water was not hot enough or running well enough. Hotel staff came to look at it promptly however.

There are leisure facilities in the hotel. There is a Gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room and sauna. It was lovely to relax in the pool at the end of the day. The pool is also open from 6am till 11 pm and we enjoyed an early morning swim before breakfast.

Breakfast is buffet style with a good choice of cereals, yoghurt, dried fruits, usual cooked breakfast, rolls, croissants etc. Omelettes and various kinds of eggs are also made fresh on request. Breakfast room is nice with plenty of seating available.

Hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gelascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Just arrived back from spending a long weekend at the marriott hotel in York. Loved every minute of our stay and was really well looked after. Our bedroom was lovely, although we had no view, but there were other bedrooms with a good view of the racecourse. The food was delicious and had to compliment the chef on every meal. This hotel is on a good bus route into town where we saw as many attractions as possible. This hotel has a swimming pool which we did make use of and although it is not huge, was adequate. If you are looking for a short break in this country can fully recommend spending time in York and staying at the Marriott Hotel.
Christine Stewart, Milton Keynes.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiltonKeynesMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, N E lincs, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

just returned from a excellent weekend at this hotel,room was very nice food was excellent and all the staff was really helpful could not find any faults at all with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terjo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Booked weekend for family of four and got great value for money, buffet breakfast is absolutely fantastic, rooms are a good size and clean and well presented and furnished, free parking plentiful with large car park and the No.4 bus stop 50 meters outside hotel, and has you in the centre of york in 5 mins, a all day bus family ticket was only £7.20 and with loads to do in york kids back and swam at 5pm followed with dinner (cracking special £25 for 3 course)which was really good, All in all a reallynice weekend break and very helpful staff

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadgetboyandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed for just one night with two friends.
I had requested an early check in from 12 noon, however on arrival room was not ready. The porter was more than happy to take our bags though and deliver them to the room as soon as was possible. This freed us to shop, eat and drink as planned! Had a couple of drinks in hotel bar. Nice and modern but prices almost double pub prices. Hotel gardens are beautiful and very well maintained . We stayed in room 161 which was spacious, clean and modern, plenty of room for the three of us. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic ! Loads of choice both hot and cold food. Just make sure you go early as the que to be seated is huge from 9am!! All in all a nice hotel, fantastic location for races but a little far out for town without the need gor a taxi (about £6.00) each way! Lovely pub across road called Fox & Roman, good fantastic there at reasonable prices !

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alibri1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.8 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Property: York Marriott Hotel
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#16 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing