We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overwhelmed by wedding parties”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
York Marriott Hotel
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Booked a DBB package in a room for 3 for the Jubilee Bank Holiday weekend. The room was large and the beds comfortable but there were a few cleaning issues,two false nails and hair clips on carpet, which should have been dealt with in the routine clean. Previous reviews have quoted having 'old fashioned' televisions in their rooms but we were provided with a flat screen.
The front of house, restaurant and bar staff were friendly but seemed overloaded as wedding function guests spilled out into the bar area making it difficult for residents to be served and seated in the lounge and conservatory.
The food is typical of a U.K. Marriott. The room was quiet and the views from the public areas pleasant. If inclined York is only a 20-25 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cymru56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,552 - 1,558 of 1,984 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

We arrived really early at 11.45am and just asked if the room was ready, and it was! We were really excitedand checked into our room which was on the 1st floor.
We were travelling with 2 children aged 4 and 1.
The room had 2 double beds and a cot was provided. The room was clean, and everything in good working order.
I used the gym and pool, I was really impressed with the gym equipment! and my son loved the swimming pool.
We had the breakfast the next day and that was amazing! With a wide selection of fruits, cerials, hot food etc we were spoiled!
We will definitely return to this hotel again!
Minor points:-
1. Dont park under the tree at the front of the hotel as our car got really badly covered in bird droppings! So bad we had to drive the nearest car wash at the supermarket down the road to clean it!
2. No free wifi
3. Got a coupon for a discount on Jorvic when we checked into the hotel but the coupon had expired 3 months previous.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandalsPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed in March 2012. Lovely hotel with a host of pleasant staff that really did the place justice.
Our food was to be as expected and along with grounds we felt that this hotel really was a gem in the area. We would definitely recommend a King room overlooking the garden. Would stay again.
.

Room Tip: A King room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MiaLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This hotel was a lovely choice for mine and my partners anniversary stay during May. We had 3 nights in a king room overlooking the garden (which was very neat and pretty!). The bed was so comfy but really huge so not much room for cases if you have a long stay, that's the only negative I would say! The reception, bar and spa staff were all so welcoming and friendly. The spa was very relaxing with lots of beds to lie on round the pool and a huge hot jaccuzzi.
Our favourite part was the garden and conservatory just off the bar, which was great to spend the evening in as the weather was so good.
We don't mind walking at all so the 25 min walk to town was fine, we did get bus a couple of times and there are a few which go up and down the road outside the front. Elderly people or those with children may struggle though so bus or taxi is best.
We absolutely love York and stayed in another hotel before but would definatey choose this one instead if going again.
I have seen a few negative reviews on here about the hotel needing updating etc, I would say that is true of the lifts and corridors, and the tvs are quite old, we were surprised they didn't have flat screens. But everything else was very well maintained and clean with a nice style (depends what your taste is!). If you are looking for super modern go to Premier Inn or Hotel 53 but they are clinical and not as comfy or inviting I don't think!
We had breakfast with our stay and the food was great quality and huge selection with eggs cooked how you like. Didn't try the lunch or dinner as we went out. The drinks at the bar were a bit on the pricey side really but we didn't care much as we were treating ourselves and the surroundings were so nice!
Would definately recommend this to couples and business people overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift as we could hear it every now and then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMorgan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

In need of a refurb and parts are a bit fawty towers at times. The "Pool" is one of those tiny splash pools some hotels call a pool and the gym has about 3 machines in it. The room is OK but the service is not up to 4 star at all and neither is the quality of the room or hotel in general. If it was marked 3 star youd expect less and be happy, but somehow they got a 4 star "badge" which it cant live up to. Its NOT a city hotel. 3 miles or so out of town by the race course and you cant walk in unless you have an hour to spare and brought your trainers!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

An overnight stop for the two of us on the way to family in Sunderland on Friday 25th May. There was a big wedding on and the car park was full. They therefore told me to park in one of the several, all empty, disabled bays.The reception was professional, helpful and friendly and the fact that we had been upgraded to a suite made it even better. As expected, the rooms were very nice and comfortable with views over the magnificent gardens and onto the racecourse. We decided to eat there, purely for convenience. The service was amateurish and the food very poor.
We would stay at the hotel again, but would make the effort to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The York Marriott Hotel is a lovely place to stay for a weekend break. The rooms are superbly furnished and spotlessly clean.
I stayed on a Friday when a weddinp party was taking place so it was a little akward to use the bar and lounge without feeling as though you were intruding on the wedding party. I also guess that people in rooms in the floor immediately above the room being used for the wedding party would have been disturbed by the noise, but I was on the third floor and wan't affected by the music noise.
the breakfast in the Hotel's restaurant was superb, with a great selection sof top quality hot and cold food items.
All in all for York this Hotel was surprisingly good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor or one in the side of the hotel away from the function rooms. At che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,955 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#15 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £75 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howards, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms, the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style. Secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Cast Iron Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing