We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid stay again...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of York Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
York Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in York
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Solid stay again...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Second year in a row with the bin lids.
Decent sized room again & made good use of the pool /gym & easy access to the city ( 15 min walk)
Try make sure you get a room on the front & not on the basement floor.
Hotel is kind of split level & rooms vary a lot.

Only complaint was the surly receptionist who wouldn't let us check in until 3.00pm ( made no effort to call housekeeping or try other options/help) Made sure I went to the friendly one for anything else!

Room Tip: Book upper floors,facing garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiddlpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    635
    350
    144
    64
See reviews for
392
781
39
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
276 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Large spacious hotel near the horse racecourse of York.
Nice arranged breakfast and lunch buffet. Spacious rooms, clean.
Expensive internet connection: 15 pounds a day.
Swimmingpool, sauna, gym and steamcabin is freely available for the customers.
Negative point to mention: the hotel is 30 minutes by foot from the York town centre, so only easy available when coming by car. You have a bus stopping in the neighbourhood of the hotel (line 4).
A taxi would cost you about 6 pounds from/towards the centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel19721972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

This is by far the worst Marriott I have stayed in. Staff on reception were fine, then it went backwards. The room was the scruffiest Marriott room we have ever stayed in. It's not a cheap hotel and they need to spend some money on it.. Sunday night meal was a disaster, it was busy because of a race meeting ( but York and race meetings are not uncommon ). The service was shocking, 40 minutes late for our booked table, tables not cleared away. If there was a restaurant manager on I don't know where he was. Food also very average for the price. Complained to duty manager about the service and room. Gave room number so at least expected a visit from the housekeeper to find out problem, but no sight. Breakfasts were up to standard. Monday night was quieter, an efficient restaurant manager and a excellent meal . So some of the staff are up to scratch. I would apportion blame more to management than the staff. We'd just been to the Marriott at Gosforth Newcastle, cheaper and far superior. In conclusion, not terrible but.............

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmo41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Extremely good standard of service. The receptionist who checked us in was friendly and efficient, the manager had a long chat with my husband about York City's performance that day and the waiting staff at breakfast were also very good. As so often happens to us we discovered at bed time that a bed hadn't been provided for our son. Despite the hotel being full and a wedding reception taking place tbe bed arrived very shortly after my husband informed reception of the problem. We'd forgotten to pack our son's toothbrush and toothpaste and the member of staff who brought the bed returned with these for him (no charge). We were given drinks vouchers by way of apology for noise caused by the wedding reception but there wasn't any! The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, our 9 year old walked there and back yesterday and today. I would definitely recommend the Marriott and we shall stay there again the next time we visit York.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mum5EastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

just returned from a two night stay at the York marriot, the hotel is GOOD and would defo stay again, food and drinks are expensive, breakfast was very good but as stated in a previous topic the service was quite slow in cleaning tables etc. the service staff was very good but one perticular guy not up to standard, quite nasty, when we complained that the coffee was cold, his reply was "well no one else has complained". Reception and meeting staff excellent, had room 118 overlooking the race course, such a great view. one complaint was that the our room toilet had a very poor flush [think they have the water rationed].
Recommend using the bus service, the no.4 from virtually outside the hotel and get off at the york dungeons then its a very short walk to all the amenities and the river.[buy the saver tickets they are great value]
pool, steam room and sauna are all great.

Room Tip: use the bus service into town
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt_hayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

Very nice rooms. Clean and comfortable. Have to get bus into town but that's fine as buses very regular and stop right outside of the hotel. Staff very polite and helpful. Only gripe is that I object to paying 15 for wifi- should be free. It's a plus that the hotel has a pool and hotub.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorks
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Rooms are ok, our double double was fairly spacious, all looking rather old fashioned and worn - the bathroom was very dated with a bizarre selection of exposed pipes. Seemed to be short staffed and lots of new trainees all over hotel. I'm at a couple of hotels each week with work and I can honestly say that the breakfast service was one of the worst I've ever experienced. There were masses of dirty tables, no crockery, no collection of plates during breakfast. Food was just ok. At bar the night before waited for 15 minutes to be served by 1 of the 2 staff as it was busy with a wedding. One of the bar staff took 5 minutes trying to open a bottle of wine that a guest had brought in from a local shop! Pool is one of tiniest ie been in at circa 10 ft by 8ft. Can not recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Property: York Marriott Hotel
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#16 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing