We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
York Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in York
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great customer service!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel can feel like your own private estate on the edge of a beautiful city. My husband had booked the hotel as a surprise for our one year wedding anniversary. The gardens over looking York racecourse are delightful and sunny (on the right day!) with a decking terrace.

We had a three course dinner in the restaurant that was just superb food and to our surprise the chef had prepared us chocolate dipped fruit epically for our anniversary.

The pool and gym are both great facilities and the bedroom was spacious and warm. The bed itself was comfortable with stacks of pillows.

Buffet breakfast was again fantastic with a brilliant array of choice and we even took our tea and coffee out onto the garden terrace as it was a sunny morning.

We left our car in the hotel car park and caught the bus into town as we know how expensive town parking is. Getting the bus couldn't be easier. The stop is right outside the hotel.

Wonderful Stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    670
    366
    156
    76
See reviews for
422
827
42
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We went for a family break to York and chose the hotel because of the pool. We had a lovely time. We took the train and the No 4 bus from outside the station, took us to the hotel in about 10 minutes. £2.20 each, but later found that the taxi was only £5 for 3 of us so taxi is worth it. We walked back in to town. About 20mins walk to city centre. Lovely big room in the hotel. All the staff very friendly and efficient. We used the pool in the evening. Not a big pool but just enough for both adults and kid. Clean, nicely lit and nice temperature. Breakfast in the morning was good and the restaurant was comfortable. We spent most of the day visiting museums but it was lovely to come back to a nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneymanEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This hotel is in a decent location on a bus route to city centre and walking distance to race course. The standard of accommodation and breakfast is ok but not exceptional. The price at £125 per night compares poorly to other comparable hotels. The hotel trades off the Marriott name but must be one of the poorer hotels in their stable. No wifi in rooms and overall the standard is about the same as a new Premier Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Chose this hotel as it had a pool for the kids. We loved it. We had a family suite which was very spacious and had everything we needed and more. Staff were very friendly and food was great. Definitely go back. A little bit out of the city centre but only a few minutes in the car.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missflowersbrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed here for an evening break with my boyfriend and would thoroughly recommend staying here. The reception staff were very friendly and could not have done more for us. We had a short bus trip (5 mins) into the centre of York and had a look around the shops. The bus stop was just outside the hotel entrance.

We made a visit to the swimming pool area and found it to be a good szie and nice and clean. Our evening meal in the hotel was beautiful and again the staff were excellent. The price of the meal was a little pricey but I suppose this is to be expected of hotel restaurants.

There was a huge selection of breakfast items available.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippy1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I was taken to this hotel on a race weekend in July for my birthday by my best friend. I am 32 and my friend 38, we're both well travelled too. Well after an exhausting day at the races we checked in no hassle and took advantage of the bed breakfast and dinner that my friend had booked which meant we had £25 each towards our meal in the restaurant. We got our meal booking for the time we wanted and only ended up paying another £10 each on top of our £25 allowance this was for a 3 course meal and a bottle of wine.
The room itself was extremely well planned, very clean and ideal for us both and we had our own queen sized bed each. Lovely hot water on demand and also a fantastic breakfast in the morning.
Friendly staff and also a well priced break at a fantastic hotel, will definitely be visiting in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shunurse28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This was our first experience of a Marriott hotel and I have to say, we were rather disappointed.
The price of the room was considerably expensive - especially considering that there are other chains close by (Premier & Holiday Inns, Travelodge etc).

We checked in and the reception staff were very welcoming. We were happy to say that our room was spacious, easily accessible and a cot had already been placed in the room for our little one. There were no toiletries or towels in the room however but after a call to reception, this was resolved immediately.

One issue which was not resolved was the fact that the TV remote didn't work. It wasn't a major issue but still an annoyance. Again, a member of staff came straight away but was unable to fix it (even changing the batteries). Worth noting also that the bathroom sink had a large crack in it.

Like I say, not major issues but when you pay £130 per night for a room, you expect these things to be right. What I will say is that the bed was extremely comfortable and we had a great night's sleep!

Breakfast, dinner and overall service in the bar and restaurant were nice enough and the leisure facilities are plentiful. We didn't have a need to travel into York but it is a little far if you intend to walk. Perfect for catching a bus, taxi or for the Races however.

Room Tip: Double rooms are spacious enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swiss_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,753 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.9 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Property: York Marriott Hotel
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#16 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing