We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MARRIOTT YORK HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
York Marriott Hotel
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 3 October 2012

beware this is not a 5 star hotel perhaps 3/4.my husband and i spent a long w/e here in sept.,room ok but over priced, had a shower first evening and put used towels in bath to be changed next day, upon our return late afternoon used towels had been neatly folded and replaced on towel rail for us to use again!! (not 5 star service) however this was reported to sophie on reception and i have to say within 10mins of reporting this, new towels were at our door. staff were pleasant, especially sophie, we can see why she is front of house. sophie also checked us in and was very pleaseant and accommodating. breakfast good.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking racecourse they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,488 - 1,494 of 2,001 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

I must confess, we had a 2 person lunch voucher, Any way,the bar n grill room was nice to wait in. pity they had to run out for some cream, for the coffees. dining room was fine, starters good,beef very nice, plenty of veg. Felt full, but had a very sweet toffee sponge, bad lad. all in all, good but all 4 * s are expensive. get a voucher....

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank thesprinkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We spent one night at this Marriott. I can't believe Marriott claims this place. The room we had was tiny. There is no Wi-Fi. This place could seriously use some updating. The beef dish we had for dinner was terribly overcooked. Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liveoak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I recently attended a 2 day training course in the Marriot York Hotel.

The hotel is situated about a mile from the station and costs approx £6.00 in a taxi. Check in was excellent, staff were nice & efficient.

My room was located on the ground floor and was big & spacious and most importantly very clean. The bathroom area was a good size and complimentary toiletries were provided. I was however, disappointed at the dirty towels that housekeeping forgot to take with them when they cleaned it

I ate in the restaurant the first nigth and was quite disappointed to be waiting for a couple of minutes to be seated whilst the only visible staff member continued his converation with other guests. The menu was nice, but not extensive. On the 2nd night I tried to order room service but gave up out of frustration as the lady at the other end of the phone could not understand what I was requesting (English is not her first langauge - I suppose it could be said that me Scottish, it isn't mine either). I toddled along to the restaurant but as they had no tables managed to order my dinner to be sent to my room anyway!

Breakfast was buffet style and catered for all.
Lunch was also buffet style and was quite limited but did the job.

The conferencing facilities were great. Tea, Coffeee & snacks were available prior to our training, mid morning & mid afternoon. It got to the stage we were 'excited' to see what goodies had been laid out for us.

Would I stay here again, probably. I would just put the service on this trip as small series of unfortunate events.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squeezy67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel with a friend for a city break and the hotel could not have been more perfectly located. 30 minutes easy walking and you are in York centre. We parked right outside the door and did not use the car once over the weekend and better still the parking is free! Staff were polite, happy and efficient.

Our twin room situated on the ground floor was spacious and had all facilities you would expect from four stars. Shower was powerful, tv HD and beds were SO comfy. Not a great nights sleep though due to inconsiderate wedding party guests at 1am and 3am.

Leisure facilities we felt could do with updating. The pool area was a little on the grubby side and the relaxation area inside the pool were the remnants of someones lunch scattered around the floor and beds and plates not cleared away. Jacuzzi very warm and relaxing although I think staff should restrict children using the jacuzzi as we had kids jumping in and splashing and generally being a pain which spoilt our enjoyment, as the parents thought it was funny and we felt we couldn't say anything.

We ate in the restaurant that evening and the food was superb. The staff were helpful and although a little overrun, managed to serve us as quickly as possible.

We did have to share the hotel with a wedding party who then seemed to take over all of the public areas of the hotel which was a little frustrating as they were noisy and insisted on smoking outside on the terrace with the bar doors wide open which made the bar area really cold and not relaxing at all so much so that we retreated to our room to watch tv. Shame. Although the hotel states it has a no smoking policy this does not extend to public areas outside of the building and a big let down for the hotel were the crowds of wedding guests smoking immediately outside the Reception door and on the bar terrace. The whole of the Reception / bar area was just cold and very uninviting.

So on the plus side we found this hotel to be a great location and great staff. However we felt it was more an average 3 star stay rather than the 4 star experience we were hoping it would be and for £170 room only, we would probably have had a similar stay at the £80 Travelodge in town.

Room Tip: Don't pick ground floor close to Reception. Ask for quiet room at the end of the the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alouayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had a really lovely stay here. The hotel is very family friendly, the food is lovely, although very expensive. The pool is perfect, with a little splash pool for the younger children and jacuzzi and steam room for the adults. And it never got too crowded. The family rooms are spacious and comfortable, childfriendly to a degree. Some of the furniture has loose toughened glass covering the top to protect it, my 1 year old loved sliding it about which was a worry.
All in all a lovely hotel, clean and friendly but not sure if it's the best value for money, but I would stay again as I enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here for a wedding.Hotel was very busy as there was racing at York that weekend.Some rooms stretch a fair way from reception but our room was above the area used for the wedding and reception/disco and was quite noisy,but you live with that.Hotel staff very helpfull.As usual drinks a bit pricey.Rooms were booked for a wedding group but still some individuals payed more than others,Perhaps that is driven by the room locations in the hotel,but one would expect the group rates to be the same.Always check things like this at time of booking. Because of the group name Marriot we did expect something a little bit better,but we enjoyed our stay.Finally this is an ideal place to stay for visiting York as you are only a short distance away by cab or bus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArfEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,996 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#15 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £67 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howards, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms, the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style. Secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Cast Iron Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing