We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay for a wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of York Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
York Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in York
hounslow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“stay for a wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

went to this hotel march 6th as was going to a wedding on the 7th march 2013. the hotel is very nice and the staff are frendly very willing to help. had dinner the night we stayed was good. also had swim and steam much needid after long drive from london. room nice also they done a com 1 oclock check out witch was great,

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelishounslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    636
    351
    144
    64
See reviews for
393
783
39
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Stayed 2 nights midweek .
Room very comfortable & well equipped back of hotel so very quite.
We were able to check in early 12.30 and park our car ( 160 spaces )
which enabled us to get the number 4 bus (very frequent service) from opposite Hotel
into center of York ( Clifford Street for most attractions ) concessionary passes excepted after 930am, to meet friends .
Breakfast was a buffet which I dislike , no menu offered which surprised me in this style of hotel, as I like kippers , omelets cooked to order tho. seating was cramped & dishes slow to be cleared, a disappointment no attentive staff .
Had to ask twice for TV to be tuned into Yorkshire TV instead of London , not good for local tourism.
Disappointing for the price compared to other hotels I have reviewed

Room Tip: back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We arrived quite late to check in (around 7pm) but the very helpful lady still gave us a choice of room, so we opted for one with two double beds. Room was on the second floor, unfortunately had an ajoining door to the next room (which was housing a family with kids, so a wee bit noisy in the morning) but other than that the room was great. Very soft beds indeed, which takes some getting used to. Breakfast in the morning is well worth getting, we had both room service and went downstairs, I'd reccommend the latter. The pool and spa facilities are great as well, and the staff were fantastic. The front desk booked us taxis and gave us a map and loads of suggestions of where to go for eats and drinks. Location wise it's a little way out of town, maybe a 20-30 minute walk? (We did walk it on 4 hours sleep however so my timing may be off!) Taxis are really easy to grab as well, and cost between £5.50-8 from the centre of York to the hotel. It is right on the racecourse though, so if you're heading up to York for the races I'd think it'd be a great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We had a weekend break here and it was lovely. It's next to the racecourse and about 1.5miles from the town centre, which was a nice stoll into town, or you could jump on one of the many buses that pass by.

Up side:
Breakfast was very good. Comfortable Bed. Clean Bathroom. Nice big TV if that's what you like. No noise from other guest. Friendly staff. Free parking. A small functional gym and pool with the usual steam, sauna etc.

Down side:
Hotel was too warm. You could hear the guest in the next room using the bathroom (room No.162) :-( but it didn't bother us too much as we had music on from the laptop. No free wi-fi not good enough!!

But saying all that I would stay here again, and hope someone from the company monitors reviews.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootcamp09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Stayed this week as part of a conference package.

The hotel itself, ie Bedroom and conference facilities were very good, breakfast was also good as is often the case with Marriott.
What was a bit of a let down was the buffet lunch on both days, not a particularly good selection to choose from.
Also noticed that although there was no refurbishment work going on around the corridor where my room was there was decorators tape hanging off several of the walls and around the lift entrance. Certainly hadn't been placed there on the day and no work underway in the 2 days I was there.
I also thought the bed was a little softer than is usual in a Marriott.

Overall still a pleasant enough stay and I would most likely return if the price was right.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 18SCFC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed again for a family birthday weekend. The hotel has completed renovations since last year, but overall still has pretensions beyond the service offered. We arrived at 1230 hoping to check in to our rooms before a family lunch booked for 2pm, but only one was ready. It was made very clear that 'check-in is 3pm', this repeated loudly and emphatically by reception. There was clearly no possibility whatsoever of asking housekeeping to prepare our rooms out of their usual sequence, so we had to leave our bags behind reception until we returned at 6pm. No chance to freshen up after a long drive.
It was suggested we should come down for breakfast early if possible to avoid the 9.30 peak as the hotel was full. This prediction was certainly right - from 9.30 to 10.30 there was a permanent queue and this was purely because tables weren't being cleared as there was insufficient staff! The entire breakfast service was crippled due to lack of low-paid service staff, while suit-wearing more senior staff half-heartedly and slowly cleared a few tables.
A steak on the bar price menu is £24! And internet still continues to be a chargeable £15 per day WHAT A RIP-OFF.
All in all a hotel purporting to offer superior service at a high price [£140/night], and simply NOT achieving it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masaya, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We have experience with the Marriott hotels and most if them are really good, This time was also good, but the restaurant staff on the Sunday breakfast was clumsy and u inefficient, ee had to wait to be seated and there were too many guests for so little staff. Maybe they should've anticipated how busy the hotel was going to be and just be prepared to give a better service.
Besides that the hotel good, leisure club, location, the view, front desk staff very friendly. The room was clean and the bed was so very comfortable...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jassgalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Property: York Marriott Hotel
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#16 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing