We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of York Marriott Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
York Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in York
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had a comfortable stay and I hope to return. It's a fairly standard hotel, but the staff are friendly, the rooms comfortable and maintenance generally good. It also has one of the tidiest back doors / staff entrances of any hotel I have seen anywhere, which is a reassuring sign.

It’s a Marriott, does a competent job and has a great location overlooking the race course (five minutes cab drive from the town, but busses come past the hotel about every ten minutes).

It’s a bit like reviewing a Golf - its good - does what it says on the packet - but is not a luxury / stylish boutique hotel or anything particularly flash. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a good TV and modern bathroom. There is a small pool with hot-tub which my daughter particularly enjoyed. There is also a very small gym, but the equipment was a bit old and not in great condition. The food is competent, but nothing flash and priced reasonably for a four star hotel. Service in the hotel is friendly and efficient. There is also a reasonable tennis court, which we enjoyed playing on. Views over the race course are quite special.

I can’t really fault our stay – except to say that as I booked last minute and the hotel was almost full I didn’t get a very good rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Recipient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    636
    351
    144
    64
See reviews for
393
783
39
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our family of 4 spent 2 nights at this hotel, it was warm and welcoming although having got there at 4pm the room wasn't ready. We had vouchers to have a drink while we waited. The room was nice but I felt that my bed was rather lumpy and too soft so didn't sleep too well. It was my daughters birthday on the Monday and I had pre arranged, with the online booking system, to have a cake delivered to our room on the morning of her birthday. Having waited an hour longer we enquired at the front desk and they had no record of the booking!!!
The pool here was very warm and the jacuzzi was lovely
The breakfast was wonderful with a lot of choice.
We never ate here in the evening as it was rather expensive for a family of 4.
I would stay here again, the staff were most polite and helpful and during the cold spring it was a nice warm place to be. Plus there were childrens craft activities going on constantly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flower1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Only stayed for one night and was dissapointed with the hotel. confusion upon arrival regarding the room [ supposed] to be a suit with a nice view, instead a small room with the biggest tree in york outside the window. not bad for £205 a night. Upgraded to a better room for more money. Room rather nice but not worth the money.Would not be staying there again unless on a better deal.Staff all ok. Breakfast good also.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Room was good and very clean though there was a dirty looking mark on the curtain. It was situated quite a way from the reception area but this was probably a good thing as there were 2 weddings on during our stay. swimming pool was great though much smaller than the website photos suggest - our children loved it. Beds were comfortable. The bar was nice and staff were very helpful and pleasant - we had a sandwich when we arrived and it was pricy and dry - next time I won't bother with their sandwiches. The breakfasts were very good. Would stay there again as, although its not in the centre, the number 4 bus stops just outside the hotel and it was very easy to get around in York.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here to attend a party over Easter. The room had a large comfy bed, clean and tidy with a fresh bathroom. The breakfast was a lovely hot help yourself menu. The hotel had a nice bar area with a conservatory. The staff were very polite and helpful. It's a short drive to York Centre. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms over look the race course. It might be worth requesting it, we were happy without the...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Leastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed 3 nights in this modern and comfortable hotel. We were with a few friends and older children and everyone was unanimous that the hotel catered well for all ages. The pool was small but the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna made up for it and we were able to spend a leisurley hour or so relaxing after our busy day. One problem let the weekend down and we did bring this up with the management, the staff were overly keen to remove candles from the bar area and attempt to tidy up while we were still drinking (10.50pm does seem abit premature to start clearing the area) This was also the case in the dining room, at 9.10pm tables were being set for breakfast and the noise was so overpowering we decided not to have the last course of our meal. when we complained we were told that they always did this and no one had complained before. We were on a well earned break from work at easter weekend so I do not feel we were being over demanding in our desire to eat in a relaxed manner. This did over shadow our trip slightly but I would return to the hotel if I was in the area, I would just eat elsewhere. This is a pity as the food whas excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olitaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Friendly relaxing break. Staff very attentive without being intrusive. Evening meal option of £25 excellent value. Good menu choice and food quality very good. Have stayed at the hotel on a number of previous occasions, and never been disappointed. An added bonus now is its proximity to the National Trust property "Goddards" the home of the Terry family, of the Chocolate Orange fame, which is now in the NT portfolio.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G-G-G-78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Property: York Marriott Hotel
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#16 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia and Superbreak UK so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing