We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
York Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in York
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Ate in the restaurant as part of a small group (but did not stay in hotel).

Relatively good menu offering and good service. Mains took a little while to be served, I think we hit the busiest time. Would use again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mr_customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    660
    362
    155
    75
See reviews for
420
819
41
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff , the bedrooms were immaculate , beds large and comfortable.
Andrew couldn't do enough for us when serving drinks ensuring that our large party had enough seats , lots of champagne etc etc
Pity that the Internet is so costly in the rooms but that seems to be every Marriott hotel .
And even more of a pity that the restaurant evening dinner is very disappointing poor quality frozen chips ( if you have to use frozen at least ensure the quality is good ) we booked in for 9pm and indeed the lack of diners is surely a reflection on the food, particularly on race days .
How ever we haves booked to return in August just won't be having dinner .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely time in this hotel been for the past 3 years.
Close to centre so u can walk and has a lovely bar and gardens if u just want to stay in the hotel. The hotel is expensive but worth the money rooms are lovely and clean and all staff are helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Visited York and stayed in the Marriott York for one night. It's location allows you to take a walk into the centre and provides parking on site.

The hotel facilities are standard Marriott so, in my opinion, of a very good standard and reliable. All of the staff from those on the front desk to the restaurant and housekeeping were all friendly and polite. Visited the swimming pool and the staff there were also very helpful.

The room was very comfortable and really quite large compared to other comparably priced hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKP_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Hotel very well placed to visit York centre, with a view of the racecourse from the patio. Rooms very comfy, with modernised bathrooms. Had a lovely pool with spa area and the staff are really helpful. Only issue we had was no cocktails!!! And on a girlie trip you need cocktails.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieJohn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Just returned from a 3 night break to celebrate my sister in laws 50th birthday which I booked in February, my only disappointment was that despite checking and double checking before arrival that the booking was for 3 people and requesting a large enough room with a nice view, when we arrived around 2.40 pm they had only reserved a twin room. We were asked to wait while they arranged another bed which we did, however by 3.30 we were getting a bit fed up and there was a constant stream of people arriving to check in so I couldn't really get the attention of the receptionists without being rude. Eventually a bar manager approached us to ask if all was ok, we explained the situation and at that point he offered us a complimentary drink and made enquiries at the reception on our behalf advising that our room was nearly ready. When we did eventually check in the receptionist was apologetic and reduced the cost of our 1st night by £30 and also gave us 3 vouchers for another complimentary drink to use during our stay. I have to say I was very dissappointed that we were only given a twin room with a put up bed after all the phone calls that I had made prior to arrival I was hoping for a larger room, our space within the room was very restricted although the view from the room was lovely overlooking the gardens. On saying all that we could not fault the hotel itself, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the gardens are just lovely and as we had fantastic weather we made the most of them by sitting out in the sun relaxing after spending the earlier parts of the day taking in all that the beautiful city of York has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyR7-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borders
Level Contributor
81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Booked one night special rate for a Sunday during half term. Adjoining rooms provided after calling the hotel direct. Check in was good. Straight into the pool area where it was clear that others were taking advantage of the special offer. A few families annoying the odd business person who had arrived on Sunday evening!! Good pool with a shallow non swimmers bit and a hot tub.
We went out for dinner in York. Breakfast is a buffet and well worth the £10 per head. You can basically load up on the full monty, non stop coffee and toast etc etc. This is a good Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dog377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Property: York Marriott Hotel
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#16 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing