We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
York Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in York
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Weekend”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in the Penthouse Suite and had our own balcony as well with great views overlooking York Race Course. Room was well laid out, service in the hotel was excellent and I would recommend it anytime. The only fault would be the twenty minute walk into the city centre but I suppose the location cannot be helped.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMcM1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    671
    366
    156
    75
See reviews for
423
829
42
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Myself, husband and five year old daughter stayed here for two nights in August. The room was exactly as we requested, plenty of space for the three of us but don't expect lovely views unless you book a suite. The car park envelopes the vast majority of the outside of the hotel..
The swimming pool was perfect and we were actually alone in it a couple of times, ideal for out little one. She loved the choice of a children's pool or the adult's.
The food we had was very nice and the service very attentive. Some of the continental selections at breakfast did tend to run out quite early on and not be replaced but the traditional English breakfast was never ending.
Don't be put off by the location, even though it is not in the city centre there are ample buses every quarter of an hour and taxis on demand. This also gives the hotel a bit more peace and quiet compared to the ones on the main streets.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Clees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife and I stayed one night on Saturday 31st August 2013. Huge room, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. 5 minute taxi journey into York centre (fare £6). Overall a very good hotel, ideal location, plenty of free parking. The beds are very comfortable and breakfast was fresh and the menu varied. The staff were pleasant with particular mention for the ladies cleaning the rooms who made the effort to speak and smile without fail, maybe a minor issue for some guests but appreciated by my wife and I. No complaints about the hotel and one I would use again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malN50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for 1 night.
We had just been married the day before and just wanted to escape for a restful night.
We booked a king-size room and wow what a king size bed it was! It was lovely and soft with lots of pillows. The room was clean and tidy.
We ordered room service and the food was very good. We ordered a bottle of merlot and it was very nice.
Breakfast the next day was spot on. We were sat by the window which over looked York racecourse which was a nice touch.

Room Tip: We had a king-size room which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryAnn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I srayed for two nights in tge roons that have a valcony that oberlook the race course. Top notch room spoiked only by the amount of dust. Ti be fair when we mentioned it at checkout we had a fsir amount knocked off the bill.the duvet wsd ibside out which was sorted wholst we had free drinks at thr bar. Tpp notch response in my opinion. The breakfast was excellent. My only real problem is that one night we sat at the bar and clearly overheard a man talking to an escort who had met him to go a room, trust me no mistake there........aside from dodgy guest which was actually quite funny I cant wait to book again. Fantastic hotel really.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed at York Marriott due to location to city centre 5 min's taxi ride into centre 15 min walk back, hotel was very nice clean, tidy and quiet, we requested extra pillows and got a dozen in all shapes & sizes from soft to very firm at no extra charge, room had a nice view over the gardens and the garden is well kept and perfect for a walk and bit of fresh air after dinner.
Very enjoyable stay and would highly recommend, now our hotel of choice when visiting York City.

Room Tip: Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here for York races with late booking so had to pay a premium. As others have said the grounds are very pretty with great views of the racecourse. Service from front desk was very good - fast and full response in giving hairdresser phone numbers for my wife and very friendly. Parking OK, and rooms to side are quiet. Breakfast was perfectly reasonable. While outside looks OK, a number of things inside leave a lot to be desired. The public area toilets are really past it - very cheap DIY looking.

Worst aspect is the rooms. As others have noted they are well past sell by date. The size of the rooms is good, but not much else: buildings were I assume 1980s build with low ceilings - I am 6ft and having a shower I had 2 inches to spare; the bathrooms are the worst feature - really cheap fit out and very dated, thin, low quality towels, and low grade soap products. The beds are the other bad thing - firm top with old springs, not comfortable at all. The public area toilets are also really past it - really cheap looking. Air conditioning was OK - but not great.

One other positive and same time irritation is internet. Available for free in lobby - speed was fantastic, but £15 for wifi in room - for me a 4 star hotel nowadays should have this for free, especially after paying well over £200 for the room.

So overall this is a hotel that really needs a high cost fit out. Fully reviewing the hotels in York, it seems like Edinburgh was 20 years ago - a real struggle to find a good and decent value hotel. Some of the hotels seem to be ok if you get a good room, but in busy period, you may well get stuck with an overpriced, low quality room. In busy times, the York hotels are milking it and owners are not too interested in capex for improvements.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubainick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,761 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Property: York Marriott Hotel
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#16 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing