We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
York Marriott Hotel
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Marriott always give good service but in York customer service was excellent. Room was lovely and clean. Bus or taxi into city in five minutes. Everything you could want for a weekend break. Mumbai lounge great Indian food and Silvio Italian both excellent value and food delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minty999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,248 - 1,254 of 1,981 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Hotel is in a good location on the outskirts of York, a minutes walk to the bus stop which takes you into the centre (very regular service) I really don't think it's worth taking the car - the hotel overlooks York racecourse so perfect for race goers.
Our room was on the third floor situated about 100 miles from reception!! i jest, of course, but it was quite a walk, on the plus side it was very very quiet and had a lovely balcony which gave a great view over the racecourse. The room itself was a good size and as usual in a Marriott the bed was very comfortable?
The bathroom was large, bright and clean with a powerful walk in shower.
Hair wash data - shower good, hairdryer good, electric socket near mirror (sounds trivial but amazing how many hotels DON'T have sockets near mirrors - not good for us ladies!!)
Food wise we had breakfast both mornings, it was of a good standard with a decent choice of hot and cold options. We ate in the restaurant on our first evening and found the food to be quite nice and for a Marriott not extortionately priced, we were also given some vouchers for complimentary drinks on arrival, which was a nice touch. We would have eaten there on the second night but could only get a later table as they had a large party arriving, something to bear in mind if you definitely want to eat there. I would just like to pay a special compliment to the staff at this hotel, every team member that we encountered was friendly, polite and very helpful - well done.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ispeaktheblondetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Marriott York was centrally located. Room was clean and tidy. Hot water was great compared to the previous hotel at Stafford Upon Avon.
Wifi was available at lobby.
Food and drinks at restaurant were fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

After seeing some of the reviews I was a bit worried about booking the marriot. How wrong I was. I booked threw a late booking deal and got an over night stay for a really good deal. I travelled to York for an overnight stay with my partner and the marriot was an excellent choice. About 15 mins walk or 5 min car drive. The hotel was very nice and the room was brilliant and the bed was FANTASTIC! It was massive!! The staff were excellent and very friendly. Breakfast was good and plenty of choice. Would recommend and would defo come and stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

The Marriott York is a well appointed hotel located about 20-30 minutes from the centre of beautiful York.

We checked in later on in the day, and when we were shown to our room (a family double) we were amazed by the amount of space on tap! With 2 large beds (which were incredibly comfortable, with feather duvets and a featherbed underneath) and air conditioning we enjoyed 2 nights of peaceful rest.

The grounds of the hotel are nice, with views over the adjacent racecourse. We drank tea outside on the terrace, but £6 for a tea and coffee are a tad steep by anyone's standards!

Overall the stay was very good, with god facilities available (the pool for example, however this was a highly public area with views into the pool/spa from the driveway of the hotel, which did put us off)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night on tour. Wifi is £6/hour in your room. You can use wifi once a day in the lobby but there is very limited seating. Breakfast - eggs were cold and even tho we asked twice for decaf coffee and were assured it was available our waitperson never brought it. The pool looked quite nice. Also the exercise room.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jk5853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I have been travelling for over 35 years and I have never had to spend 20 minutes scouring the hotel for my room number! What would it take to spend 1 hour, unscreww the room numbers, and glue on new ones? They were up and down across 3 floors with a broken elevator and no rhyme or reason! I was in a sweat by the time I found my room!

The room itslef was large, the bed comfy, the bathroom bright and clean. The air conditioning worked well and the view of the racetrack from the patio off the bar was pretty. Staff were cheerful.

the rugs need cleaning or updating. Wifi was only available in the lobby.The hotel was far from the city center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. The others face the parking lot, but it was very quiet even with being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,949 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#15 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £76 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howards, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms, the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style. Secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Cast Iron Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing