We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
York Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in York
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice stay, but not perfect”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We spent two midweek days here including Halloween. We were upgraded to a "garden" room which was nice enough except had a view of an ivy covered wall, not a garden. Room was not perfectly clean but adequate. Breakfast was good but we were disappointed with dinner. Menu uninspiring and service mediocre, though food was good. I had lamb steak, which was really nice.

Swimming pool would be better described as a large puddle compared to other hotels, but sauna , steam room and jacuzzi were good.

Free parking and regular bus service into town makes the location perfect for a city stay arriving by car. Don't even attempt to take your car into York!

£15 per day extra for wifi in the room is ridiculous, though free in public areas.

We would stay again because of location, but would eat out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wuzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    661
    362
    155
    75
See reviews for
420
819
41
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Have stayed at the Marriott York without booking evening meal in the past with fab experience...
Stayed for two nights for special occasion last week with my daughter and disabled mother booking an evening meal on both nights of stay.
The starter main and deserts were ordered..
ALL VERY DISAPPOINTING!!!!
One of the starters humus with pita chips, a large bowl of tasteless slop with 4 very small triangles of un-toasted or baked pita bread and 4 very small gem lettuce leaves were served with this..... inedible!!
The lack of staff attention meant this sat for 25 mins without being eaten.. at no point were we asked if our starter was ok...
On telling staff on clearing they said they'd mention this to the chef..
The second course fish and chips, steak and pizza... Where to start...
The fish was small and rubbery the chips were oil soaked frozen chips.. the steak was tough and very grizzly, searved again with the oil soaked frozen chips.. the pizza was stale..
the staff made no comment on recovery the barley eaten food..
The desert was the best course but still not what might be what you would expect.. raspberry Eaton mess.. a bowl of whipped cream with a few raspberries mixed in with half a cheap shop bought single serve meringue..
The lack of guests in the restaurant should have been a clue!!
The next nights evening meal was cancelled the next morning with an explanation as to why.
Staff asked if I wished to speak to the manager at this time which I refused due to a prior engagement.
Our second evening was spent in the Fox and Roman a short distance away, although not ideal for my disabled mother..
It was worth the effort my mother made getting there.. The atmosphere was good and the food and service were fantastic in comparison to the Marriott.. and much cheaper for a similar menu.. I would definitely re visit again..
On booking out I spoke to the manager about the disappointment in relation to the food.. She appeared un -phased and disinterested informing me she would speak to the chef and the supplier..
No refund partial or otherwise was offered for the uneaten food..
Would stay again but not ever eat their again!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzbeeinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I recently attended a black tie dinner at The Marriott in York for about 60 people. We had to choose our meal option before the event, which was either vegetarian or not. As a non meat eater I choose vegetarian and was rather disappointed at what was presented.
The starter was goats cheese for everyone, it was okay. But the main was mushroom ravioli, it was presented in a watery sauce and no offer of parmesan - when I asked for some parmesan a waiter brought me a few "slices"?? Having paid to go to a black tie event, I would have thought that a hotel of the standard of the Marriott could have come up with something more suitable than mushroom ravioli in a watery sauce!
Surely a hotel such as the Marriott could manage something better,they do many weddings and events at the hotel so must be used to catering for large groups.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights during busy half term. The room was plenty big enough for our family of 4, staff were nice but the hotel was let down by lack of cleanliness. Not as good as other Marriott hotels we have stayed in. The cups in the room were left dirty after the first night and there were always empty glasses or other bits of rubbish waiting to be collected outside other rooms. In the morning the corridors looked like a military operation was in full flight, I know they have to clean but they could be more appreciative of residents.
The ladies changing room for the pool was disappointing, the soap dispenser was broken and empty and there was no shampoo on offer.
The breakfast area looked like a bomb site both mornings with lots of families around. The fact it was busy was to be expected but they didn't cope well, food ran out constantly and most of it seemed to be on the floor or seats. Staff pleasant enough but I expected better from Marriott.
Food was average and expensive in the bar.
I echo other comments re the wifi - how they think they can get away with £15 for a day's access is extortionate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 367KarenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at York Marriott for 2 nights while touring the area, having stayed at many Marriott Hotels, around the world. This is a nice hotel with good bones--- great location with free parking on a frequent bus route into the city, attractive restaurant and large rooms by European standards. However, the halls and rooms have a musty odor, look dated and worn--- dings and paint chips everywhere-- and our room had a bed skirt with a very large stain that should have been obvious to anyone making bed. The bed, which was the size we requested, was not as comfortable as those in other Marriott's--- seemed old. Most inconvenient also was lack of wifi in room (which we needed for business) --- we did call for help and he arrived promptly, tried a few things and shrugged his shoulders and left with an "oh well..." On the plus side -- breakfast was great with many choices and quick service. We took the bus into the city many times and found this very convenient. All in all this hotel was okay but not what we expect of a Marriott Hotel

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cmahls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

After reading some of the reviews on here I wasn't sure what to expect, but we had a lovely stay. The room (second floor, overlooking the back gardens and racecourse) was large, clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was modern and clean. Staff were friendly and polite. The food in the bar was excellent and I can also recommend the back massage in the spa! Breakfast was fine with a good range of different styles. Only slight complaint was that it was very busy when we went down to breakfast and we had to wait about 10 mins for a table.

Overall a great place to stay - it's a bit out of town but there are bus stops right outside and several regular buses which get you to the station/centre in a few minutes, so don't let this put you off.

Room Tip: Didn't see any other rooms for comparison, but the view from the back of the hotel over the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel_842013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for half term with two children. The main attraction was an indoor pool and close to city centre. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the bedroom and child friendly approach.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jackandlilysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Property: York Marriott Hotel
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#16 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing