We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
York Marriott Hotel
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in York
L'Orignal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Service lacking”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived with a group and the reception was at 6:30 pm. The hotel was not prepared, the dinner service slow, we were never offered coffee or tea, the wait staff never came to find out if we needed anything, the dinner included two drinks - people had to go and help themselves. The rooms were of average quality nothing special. We did not have a view but it was only for one night. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lactancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Lactancia
Thank you for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies for the issues that impacted your stay. I will be sure to review this with my team this week and also with your tour manager to ascertain the cause of the delay with dinner.
I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday and I hope we can welcome you back in the future to create a more positive lasting impression.
Kindest regards
Mark Leyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    653
    357
    149
    67
See reviews for
412
806
40
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Excellent hotel on the York Racecourse. Food good choice and quality. Rooms clean and modern with some having views over the famous horse racing course. All the facilities of York are but a 10 minute walk away. Staff very helpful. Large car park to the front of the establishment.

Room Tip: Great rooms with double beds and a fine array of free toiletries
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JABBTRAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Jabbtrad
Thank you for your fantastic feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to post this review.
I hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kindest regards
Mark Leyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We spent a very enjoyable three nights in this hotel and found the service from all staff to be faultless.

We frequented the bar late afternoon on our return from our day exploring some of what North Yorks has to offer and found the bar staff to be very welcoming and chatty. The only issue here was that there was an ongoing issue with the pumps at the bar, so Stella was off the menu for the hubby!

We ate in the hotel restaurant for breakfast every morning and found the food to be fresh, plentiful and of a good temperature.

We dined in the restaurant on the Sunday evening. Service was prompt and efficient and the good was well presented and delicious.

Good leisure facilities, although do be careful in the hot tub - I cut my shin quite badly going from the normal tiled step onto the last metal step and slipping! Maybe it was that 4pm glass of Savingnon Blanc!!!

All in all a lovely wedding anniversary weekend in a well appointed room with a view of the racecourse. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GemmaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear GemmaB
Thank you for such a fantastic review. I am delighted we were able to take good care of you to help celebrate your anniversary.
I will be sure to read your kind comments out to my team today and thank them for looking after you.
I will also ensure we follow up on your feedback about the steps in the spa to make sure there are no further issues. Thank you for letting me know about this.
I hope we can welcome you back soon and thank you for all your loyal custom.
Kindest regards
Mark Leyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Me and my Girlfriend booked here for our anniversary on the 17th May and we was unfortunatley let down. The hotel itself is nice, staff were pleasant and helpful, breakfast was actually pretty good. The location was nice and just slightly out of the way. However the bad things, on the hottest day of the year the Air conditioning were down and as we booked the Grandstand room at £235 per night its totally unnaccaptable even with the desk fan they provided us which did nothing at all. Furthermore we were in room 927, and at 3:10am a group above us must have come in and were shouting and screaming all night it sounded like a party above us so in all we both had a dreadful sleep. The views were pretty good, but as you expect they always look much better on the pictures, and the Leisure facilities were much smaller than we anticipated it was impossible to have a swim in a pool so crowded and small. I feel for people looking to book theres much better value for money elsewhere in York, im sure we will return to York but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quinnaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Quinnaay
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. As I mentioned in my email to you we did indeed suffer a critical breakdown of our main hotel chiller last week and despite our best efforts we were not able to effect a repair. I am pleased to report that a replacement unit has been delivered today, however I am of course very disappointed to learn of the discomfort you incurred. I am also very sorry that guests in the room above you further disturbed your sleep.
I hope we can welcome you back soon to demonstrate that these were isolated issues and hopefully reaffirm your faith in the service we strive to deliver.
Kindest regards
Mark Leyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel Friday - Sunday for a weekend break with friends. On arrival we were allocated 2 of the rooms wrongly. We went to reception where in no time the problem was sorted by a friendly and helpful young lady. Whilst trying to move to the correct rooms a member of the housekeeping staff came and helped us to make the move, carrying luggage for us and showing the way to the new rooms. The suites were very roomy, a lovely big bed with super soft pillows, and a separate lounge. We had the luxury of 2 televisions, great as it was FA cup weekend! We had chance to sit outside as the weather was glorious and we also made use of the pool and steam rooms in the leisure club. The hotel is in a lovely location, overlooking York racecourse. On the downside, the hotel could do with a lick of paint, both inside and out. The screen in reception shows Marriott hotels, worldwide, which all look lovely, so come on Marriott, bring the decor in this one up to scratch. It is very clean and comfortable, but many areas e.g. doorways, are a bit bashed and the decor is tired and dated.

Room Tip: The suites have a view of the racecourse and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Linda T
Many thanks for taking the time to post this review and I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our maintenance team is currently in the process of refreshing our internal decoration with a focus on our bedroom corridors so I am sure we will see improvements in this respect very soon.
Thank you again for your feedback and your loyal custom.
Kindest regards
Mark Leyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

From the time of our arrival to the time of our departure the staff could not do enough for us. Everyone had a smile and a word for everyone from the front staff to the housekeepers. I would not hestitate to stay at this hotel again when visiting York.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Beth G
What a fantastic review. Thank you so very much for your kind feedback. This will be really motivational to my team.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and do hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kindest regards
Mark Leyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here on a Sunday evening. The hotel is very well presented and close to town with lots of parking. Drinks are a little over priced with a large glass of wine being £10. The hotel is an easy walk into town, just over a mile or you can get a bus from outside. Breakfast was nice with efficient service. I would stay hear again just wouldn't drink wine in the bar. You get free use of the leisure facilities with a nice pool to relax in. There is also a nice outdoor seating area which looks over the race course

Room Tip: The rooms to the rear of the building overlook the race course
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Kevnorth
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I have asked my Restaurant and Bars Manager to look into your comments regarding the pricing of wine.
I hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kindest regards
Mark Leyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.9 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Property: York Marriott Hotel
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#15 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing