We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you'd expect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
York Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in York
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Exactly what you'd expect”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here recently to celebrate some significant birthdays. It's pretty much what you'd expect from a Marriott: clean, utilitarian, a nice spa and a good breakfast. Very close to the race track if that's where you are going, but not that close to the town centre if that's what you want.

Room Tip: get a room facing the race course if you want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Char0nM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa R, Director of Operations at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Char0nM

Thank you for your feedback following your stay here at the York Marriott hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards

Lisa

Lisa Robinson
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    660
    362
    155
    75
See reviews for
420
819
41
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here to use up Marriott points and go to York races. We got a Superior room which had a separate seating area. 2 TVs, 1 in the bedroom, 1 in the lounge, the tv in the bedroom wouldn't switch on, which wasn't a disaster just slightly annoying and 1 of the remote controls wouldn't work. Tea & coffee making facilities were there. We stayed on 1 of the hottest days of the year so far (doesn't happen a lot in the UK, particularly in the north), the air con just regurgitated hot air so wasn't that effective. The following day, the weather was just normal (around 18 degrees celsius) yet our room was still sweltering hot. The hotel is located on the other side of York races - you just had to walk a few hundred metres on the grass (ladies - take some flat shoes), great location for the races. We used the pool in the morning - quite small. Nice jacuzzi and steam room. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that. If you want to visit the city centre, it's about a 20 minute walk so there are probably better options if you are there for the culture.

Room Tip: We were in room 316 - on the corner so larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kateguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa R, Director of Operations at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Kateguide

Thank you for completing a review following your recent stay here with us at the York Marriott hotel.
We have recently experienced an issue with our main Air Conditioning control panel and have put in a temporary measure to eleviate the issues throughout the hotel.
I hope you enjoyed the races and were lucky enough to have a couple of winners!
Thank you once again for your feedback

Kind regards

Lisa Robinson
Director of Operations
York Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I am a member of the leisure club. I just want to say fiona keeps it immaculate and she is always helpful.
The hotel is lovely fantastic location overlooking the racecourse what more can you ask for living in york. The staff cant do enough for you and the ambience is lovely.
Well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 123celebration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa R, Director of Operations at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear 123celebration

Thank you so much for the kind words you have written and a special thank you for recognising Fiona our Leisure Club Manager.
It is our pleasure to serve you

Kind regards

Lisa Robinson
Director of Operations
York Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night and had a lovely stay.
We arrived early but were allowed to use the spa facilities which were lovely. Included a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Staff in the spa were really nice and friendly.
When checked in we had a Grandstand suite with beautiful views. The bathroom was nice and large with a double shower and lots of complimentary toiletries, which were replaced when the room was dressed down later on for us, along with chocolates on the pillows!
One thing that really stood out for us was the friendliness of the staff, when asking for the receptionist to call a taxi for us the young lady, Gabrielle, heard me say I had left my phone charger at home and my battery was flat ... in a flash off she went and was able to lend me one until the following morning - nothing was too much trouble for her!
Overall we had a lovely stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeiraYork_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa R, Director of Operations at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear KeiraYork_England

Thank you for your kind review following your stay with us here at the York Marriott Hotel.
Gabbie is a new member of the team so we are thrilled she made such a great impression with you, I know she will be excited when I speak with her about this name mention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Lisa Robinson
Director of Operation
York Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The grounds are lovely and the staff are so attentive, really go out of their way to make your visit enjoyable. We were lucky enough to visit during the sun so we had full use of the sun terrace and grounds. Will definitely be returning when I'm next in York!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cmcurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Cmcurtis
Many thanks for your kind words and also for taking the time to post this review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back soon. I will be sure to share your feedback with my team and they will be delighted to learn you enjoyed the grounds as this has been a real focus for them this year.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon.
Kindest regards
Mark Leyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We made a last minute booking for a one night stay in York. We arrived early so had a wander through the town. It was certainly well worth a visit. We checked into our room to find we had a double bed each. The room was adequate & nicely furnished. We didn't eat in the hotel, but had a fantastic breakfast taking advantage of the buffet service on offer. After cereal/fruit you could help yourself to food from the hot plate & had ample tea/coffee & toast. We would certainly recommend this hotel & would gladly visit it again if we were ever in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Julie D
I am really pleased you had a great stay and enjoyed your time in York. We really are very lucky to live in such a beautiful city.
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and my team. I do hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kindest regards
Mark Leyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

the hotel is in a good location ,with free parking on site. our family room was of agood size and nice and quite at night.the staff were friendly and helpful . this is a well run hotel with a view of the racecourse , it also has a pool which is a bonus.you can easily get a bus in to town if you dont want to walk.overall we had a great stay and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear TonyS
Many thanks for your great review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and I will be reading out your kind comments in our daily meeting as my colleagues find this very motivational.
I do hope we can welcome you back soon and many thanks once again.
Kindest regards
Mark Leyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Property: York Marriott Hotel
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#16 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing