We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
York Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in York
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for 1 night, his is not a Marriott if you have stayed in this hotel chain in Asia or Australia. The fridge did not work, was not even a fridge - no one helped us with our enormous cases and we had kids. The wifi costs £15 per 24hrs and only works on 1 device. The bathroom was dirty, the movie channel did not work. The hotel is not walking distance to the city centre. The only good points are the breakfast is very nice and good coffee, the gym is also larger than expected.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Annie S
Thank you for your recent loyal custom and also for taking the time to provide this feedback. I am very sorry to hear of the challenges you faced as this is not representative of the service we strive to deliver. I will be sure to look into the points you have raised. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfasts and leisure facilities.
Kindest regards
Mark Leyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    661
    362
    155
    75
See reviews for
420
819
41
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here recently on our tour of the UK and enjoyed staying here.We stayed 2 nights and took the bus from across the road when going into town,which was very convenient.We had one meal in the restaurant which also was very good.My only problem was we had problems connecting to the free WiFi in our room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Rob B
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am very glad you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your kind words.
I will be sure to look into the challenges you faced with the Wi-Fi and ensure this has been fully resolved.
I hope you enjoy the remainder of your time in the UK and that we can welcome you back soon.
Kindest regards
Mark Leyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here the night before a wedding with the bride and my fellow bridesmaids. They gave us big rooms all next to each other and a bottle of champagne waiting for us! Bar staff were excellent and The bar food we had was lovely. The next day our limo was late arriving and Jeanette and Verity were so helpful in helping us contact the company. Thank you for a unforgettable stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nattyb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Nattyb87
Thank you for such a lovely review. I am delighted we were able to take such good care of you and I will be sure to thank Jeanette and Verity especially. I hope it was a lovely wedding and that we can welcome you back soon.
Thank you again for taking the time to provide this feedback.
Kindest regards
Mark Leyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights in the garden level. The room was perfect for us as we wanted a quiet room. We weren't bothered by little view as we were out most of the 3 days sightseeing. Weather excellent!! Hotel is in a great position as we could take the bus (bus stops nearby) and leave the car behind without the hassle of driving into the city. Breakfast was fairly good. It is a shame that the toaster always burn the slices of bread at the edges. We enjoyed our dinner at the Chase & Bar Grill. All in all, a lovely hotel with good friendly service. We hope to come back to stay and visit this beautiful city again, and walk the rest of the walls.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowsaffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear YellowSaffron
Many thanks for taking the time to provide such fantastic feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to read out your comments to my colleagues today in our morning meeting and thank them for creating us a positive impression. Thank you also for the feedback on the toaster – I will make sure this is rectified.
I do hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kindest regards
Mark Leyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigeria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just back today after 3 nights staying at this Hotel. Staff were really nice and helpful, room clean but tired really needs to be upgraded, the lift carpet was worn and dirty also the hall carpets were very dated. Breakfast was well worth the money and the dining staff and bar staff were great. Food over priced for what you got. Sat outside a few times as weather was good, decking needs painted and the outside a bit dirty, gardens could be better. Hard to find the cushions for the seats which were really uncomfortable. Don't think I would stay at this hotel again, there are some really nice ones for the same price and less which look better. Overall all though enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear LornaQ
Many thanks for sharing your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to follow up on your comments with my colleagues today.
I am really pleased to read how helpful and nice you found my team members. This is always very heartening to learn as we place a huge focus and take great pride in this.
I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
Kindest regards
Mark Leyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely room with really comfortable bed. Would have liked a better shower but ok. Staff really lovely, but there were problems with computer systems when I checked in, this seemed to spill over to the bar when we ordered food in the evening where things were a bit chaotic. However, overall quality was good, consistent with the standard you'd expect of a Marriott Hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JenK297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear JenK297
Thank you for your review and feedback. It is always lovely to receive such positive comments about my colleagues and I will be sure to thank them for looking after you. We did indeed have a computer outage as you mention during your check in. Luckily such events are very rare however my management team have already met to discuss how we might work around this more effectively should it occur again. I am very sorry for the impact this had.
I do hope we can welcome you back soon and thank you again for taking the time to provide this review.
Kindest regards
Mark Leyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned from my weekend break at this hotel. This is what I though of it :
Liked:
* really confortable beds
*tea, coffee and biscuits in the room
* nice bar stuff and reception stuff
* breakfast
*nice garden
* pool , sauna, steam room and sunbed.

Disliked:
* Price - paid 170£ for two nights. I have stayed at much more exciting and beautiful places for less of the price. This is a decent hotel but not worth such big money.
* Location - not walking distance to the town so its just extra hassle -getting a cab or a bus. Also extra money. around 7£ to the centre. or £2 by bus
* Staff at the SPA. the young girl was very unhelpful and looked too bored to care about the potential costumers. She was not very keen to provide any information about the spa services or products sold there. We were keep getting 1 word answers so didnt bother booking anything.
*Staff at the pool .A young guy working at the pool was being very cheeky and was keep staring at the girls , watching us at the swimming pool. we found him very unpleasant and unprofessional.
*No wifi in the room. Ridiculous bearing in mind that hotel charges £170 for two nights!
* view to carpark

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aiste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear AisteM
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback and indeed for your loyal custom. I will be sure to read out your comments to my colleagues today in our morning meeting and thank my bar and reception team for looking after you. I will also be following up on your feedback about the Spa and Leisure teams as we very rarely receive comments such as this and I will be sure we act upon this immediately. My sincere apologies for the dissatisfaction you incurred.
Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kindest regards
Mark Leyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.8 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Property: York Marriott Hotel
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#16 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing