We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
York Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in York
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel!”
Reviewed 17 August 2009

My husband and stayed at the York Marriot for our wedding anniversary. It is a beautiful hotel with friendly and helpful staff. We had booked online and, being cheeky, requested a free upgrade due to it being a special occasion. They kindly obliged and as a result we were given one of the Grandstand Penthouse rooms - stunning!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the York Marriot and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterKelly16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    680
    373
    158
    76
See reviews for
436
842
42
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Tried to book on phone as they had lots of availabilty called at hotel to check in to see room. Told on reception they were fully booked. Called the number from the car outside to be told they had 5 rooms available. Apparently they can have availabilty come and go in minutes. Awful system extremely frustrating for customers - makes you wonder how good the other systems are at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffybunny666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Stayed here for three nights on a three nights for the price of two deal which was great value. Food was expensive at the bar but good and breakfast had a great choice.
We had connecting rooms that worked well for our family, they were clean and contempory. The pool had a steam and sauna room and a gym. Pool was not big but enough for us with Jacuzzi. They also had an outdoor tennis court which in need of a little renovation was good enough to play on.
Location was good for York and the surrounding sights; we went to the Castle museum, Castle Howard and Harrogate all great.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwampTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago illinois
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

One night stay at the Marriott in York. The rooms were predictable. The pool was very nice. Hallways a little narrow and the rooms were so far away from the main desk, I was sweating when I finally got there(oddly, in the basement area - weird view of car wheels from my window) . It was really a struggle to get all of our luggage there, and no other way in or out as all of the doors were alarmed for security reasons. The setting is very nice. Looks out over a racetrack and fairly close to the city center - but need to drive in. Overall a predictable stay - nothing super quaint about it - but it did not disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawdogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK for now !
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Not a four star hotel, by any stretch of imagination. decor is tired, restaurant over priced, although food of good quality but small portions. Wine list pricing is also over ambitious. Breakfast good quality. well located for race course, 10 min stroll across the race course. Would suggest finding other hotel on raceday, as £200 (£100 non race day) for room only is scandalous.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeUKfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

First of all it's worth saying that I paid £80 for a 'Deluxe Room' without breakfast. You can get brekkie at a discounted rate (£10) on arrival so this worked out pretty good value.

Our deluxe room wasn't that special but it was very big. It wasn't dreadful though and had air-con (essential on the one hot day per year in York). Everything worked and there were robes which normally tells you something about the place. The ice makers were broken but a quick call to housekeeping sorted that out (along with a bottle opener).

The leisure club is tiny and you can't really do a proper length in the pool but at least there is one and the steam room & sauna were good.

We didn't have an evening meal in the restaurant and got the bus into town instead. £1.90 is a bit steep IMHO but it was worth it as it's a long walk into town. The bar is quite expensive but it is a pleasant place to be.

Breakfast was very good (earlier then expected thanks to a fire alarm at 6:45 am).

I would consider coming here again if I could get it at a decent rate and free all-day parking is worth a few quid in York.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRLR_Hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

The Marriott was ok for a one night stay, the staff were lovely and friendly and the room clean and tidy. The location of the hotel was fantastic; a ten minute drive from the centre of York. The hotel recommended Streamline Taxis and they were fantastic; reasonably priced, quick and friendly. I probably would stay at the Marriott again, but I would check my booking. Expedia, who I booked with, had said I was booked into a deluxe room but upon reaching the hotel, we discovered we hadn't been allocated a room and ended up in a disabled room on the ground floor, which although very big was not what we wanted ideally.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#37 of 47 in York
2,816 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
3.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Property: York Marriott Hotel
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#16 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing