We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting for a snack though pricey”

Bennett's Cafe & Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Bennett's Cafe & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 874 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Bennett's Cafe and Bistro is located right in the heart of York with incredible views of York Minster. Serving wonderful homemade cakes and scones daily, and delicious locally sourced evening meals from 5.30Pm Tuesday-Saturday, Bennett's has something to suit everyones tastes.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely setting for a snack though pricey”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Lovely spot just opposite the Minster but a little pricey. Nice for a snack though a basic menu, Bacon and cheese melt not as my husband expected it came as an open sandwich with lots of lettuce! My chocolate tiffin came already melted, though it was a hot day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    176
    32
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Adjacent to York Minster in a prime location, this restaurant is one of the best in the city.

Bennetts is not a large restaurant, so booking is highly advisable for dinner.

The menu is also not extensive but the lack of variety on offer is more than made up for by the quality and presentation of it's excellently priced food and wines.

Wonderful ambience, service and food. This restaurant oozes class, quality and sophistication.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Superb food and service”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have dined here twice and shall do so again over the weekend. The hostess was wonderfully friendly and hospitable which added greatly to the experience. Dinner was delightful. I ate the pear salad one night and the baked brie another as starters. Both were absolutely excellent. The duck entree was simply wonderful, excellent sauce and parmesan mashed potatoes under the slices of duck breast. But the dessert was the best panna cotta I have ever eaten, bar none. It had a lightness and delicacy which was greatly complemented by the raspberry sorbet and alternating dollops of raspberry sauce and raspberries. The meals weren't cheap (60+ gbp with generous tip), but worth every last penny.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best food in Bath”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

By day this is nothing special, but at night it is converted to a brasserie with incredible food and service. My wife and a friend both had a pea and mint risotto that they couldn't stop raving about. I had the duck, which was superb. The dessert, a sticky toffee we all shared, was one of the best anywhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“We Enjoyed the Whole Experience”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We ate here on Friday night and it was first class, we had a gorgeous meal, with lovely wine, very good, unrushed service and a really friendly atmosphere, it’s a winner.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bennett's Cafe & Bistro also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bennett's Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing