We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to eat”

Bennett's Cafe & Bistro
Ranked #122 of 970 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Bennett's Cafe and Bistro is located right in the heart of York with incredible views of York Minster. Serving wonderful homemade cakes and scones daily, and delicious locally sourced evening meals from 5.30Pm Tuesday-Saturday, Bennett's has something to suit everyones tastes.
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Situated approximately 200 yards from the visitor entrance to York Minster, we chose this establishment for lunch. Good choice of food on the menu with prices varying from average to a little expensive.
The service was good and sandwiches freshly made rather than out of a plastic box. Not a big place so seating numbers limited.
Worth a visit

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Venusbeachreturners
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 505 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2016

This restaurant is distinguished by its excellent food and friendly, helpful staff. We were very impressed, and would recommend it to anyone visiting York. Being next to the Minster is a plus.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Hakluyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

We ate here from the evening bistro menu

Good food we had the steak and salmon..

My husband is always very picky with steak but he said this was a great steak

Good wine list especially if you like a Sauvignon from Nz

Relaxed atmosphere, though it still feels like a speciaL meal

Staff attentive with out being too attentive

Essential to book but easy to do by website

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Artemis-diana-999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2016

7 of us went for a meal here whilst staying in York at the weekend. The service was excellent and food delicious. Try the lamb it was simply delicious cooked to perfection. lovely ambient restaurant with a really nice atmosphere.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EricaM107
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2016

It is a cafe by day and tuesday to saturday evening a bistro,good food,good menu very friendly staff

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Bennett's Cafe & Bistro also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bennett's Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.