We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved the York Glass Shop's free cat trail! :-)”
Review of York Cat Trail

York Cat Trail
Ranked #16 of 58 Tours in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: FREE FUN IN YORK... aka The Fabulous York Cat Trail provides both visitors and locals with the opportunity to find and photo the numerous statues of cats which are on York's old buildings. These were put there to frighten away rats and mice. The statues were also thought to ward off wandering evil spirits and to bestow good luck and good health on people. Enjoy the trail... it's FREE! You are warmly invited to download it from our website, or to pick it up from our Shambles based shop
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I loved the York Glass Shop's free cat trail! :-)”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The Shambles is my favourite street. A beautiful shop called York Glass gave me a leaflet with a treasure hunt style route on a map of the city. Spent a wonderful couple of hours spotting the various cat statues on the buildings. York Glass has one outside. Kept the children occupied! Highly recommended

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jennie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    18
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great family style treasure hunt FREE for all in York!”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Absolutely Amazing!, The York Cat Trail is a free treasure hunt style walk through the beautiful city of York. Created by York Glass which is found on The Shambles in York City Centre sends you on a journey through york searching for the hidden cats that lay somehwere on the buildings and bridges of York.
A fun free trail which starts at a small but amazing glass figures and collectables shop on the shambles itself. We got our map from the shop and followed the clues around town. My kids loved it and to be honest so did I! We managed to find all but one cat but the creator kindly pointed it out after we got back.
So if your looking for a great way to see York and have some fun whilst doing it the THIS IS DEFINITELY FOR YOU!!
And its Free!!
We also bought their cat figures from the shop afterwards as a keepsake for the great day we had.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank artworkstudio9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Brilliant walk whether you're a cat lover or not! You can either download the walk on the internet or just pick up a leaflet from the shop.

Didn't do the whole walk, but fitted most of it in whilst doing our walking tour of York. Liked the history behind it and it did take you to some parts of the city you wouldn't perhaps have bothered to visit.

The shop itself is also worth a visit as they have some lovely unusual glassware which would make ideal gifts.

A very novel and interesting way to tour a city!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank stenolass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent day out”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

did the lucky cat tour, plus 2 pubs, had an excellent day out

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank chrishughescyclingtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

As cat lovers we had great fun trying to find all 17 cats mentioned in the leaflet we’d picked up from York Glass in the Shambles. We gave up on Cat 2 initially, but went back when we’d found all the others and eventually found it. An excellent way of seeing parts of York that we hadn’t come across previously.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank EMC15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York Cat Trail also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Cat Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing