We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see the city”
Review of York Cat Trail

York Cat Trail
Ranked #18 of 59 Tours in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: FREE FUN IN YORK... aka The Fabulous York Cat Trail provides both visitors and locals with the opportunity to find and photo the numerous statues of cats which are on York's old buildings. These were put there to frighten away rats and mice. The statues were also thought to ward off wandering evil spirits and to bestow good luck and good health on people. Enjoy the trail... it's FREE! You are warmly invited to download it from our website, or to pick it up from our Shambles based shop
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great way to see the city”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend did the cat trail while on a 2 day break away in York! It's well worth doing, not only is it great fun but you get to see parts of the city you might not normally see

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank emmamariew86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    19
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“You will find hidden gems this way”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband was not looking forward to doing this when I suggested it, but in the end he actually said he enjoyed it. The cats themselves were a bit worse for wear, but it did make it a fun way to get round York. We definitely wouldn't have found some of the areas we came across if we'd just been wandering around York. This is a great way to find your bearings. Give it a try!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank karon_duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun & free”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

There's a leaflet outside the glass shop on the Shambles with a map showing the location of a total of 21 cats (mostly little statues on the sides of buildings). As you walk around the town, it's great fun to spot the cats.
My husband was patient with me & helped me spot all 21 cats!! (over a couple of days) -- we just looked for the cats as we were in an area for sightseeing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank merlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cat lovers or not, this is surprisingly really fun and guaranted you'll get hooked!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

If you only have couple of days in York, try this!! This is the best way to know all parts of this cute little town on foot. Mind you everywhere in York is within walking distance. So why not kill two birds with one stone? Whether you are traveling in groups, a famuly with children, or solo traveler the York Cat Trail suits everyone.

There are total of 21'cats' to be found all over the city but you can first try completing the Kitten Trail which can be done in less than 1 hour, provided you have a generally good sense of direction. If you are feeling adventurous go find the rest and you will see some'off the beaten path'of York which is a rewarding one. Total duration to complete the whole trail is max.2-3 hours. Happy hunting and don't say you are not warned!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Found this by accident. What great fun!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We'd already spotted a couple of cats and picked up the leaflet outside the York Glass shop. We organised the next day's sightseeing around the location of the cats. It was a brilliant challenge - and we got them all!

A fantastic way of seeing parts of York you might not otherwise see - and got us chatting with some lovely people.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Biddy123749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York Cat Trail also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Cat Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing