We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best cafe in York”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Luca

Cafe Luca
Ranked #235 of 858 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$13
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Luca is a table service licensed cafe,with 70 covers.Serving everything from allday breakfasts ,sandwiches/toasties,soups,main meals,salads,and snacks.With both vegetarian and gluten free options available.Everything is made to order and made on the premesis,including the cakes and sweet treats.A childrens menu is also available and with plenty of room for pushchairs.With an extensive range of drinks including,teas,coffees,soft drinks including the fentimans range and luxury milkshakes made with Yorvale ice cream.We now have a small al fresco area at the front of the cafe,for sunny days, people with dogs or those wanting to smoke.
york
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best cafe in York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I have been to cafe Luca nearly every day since it opened, i live nearby so find it very handy to pop in for a coffee while out shopping. I have never been disappointed with the food or drinks and yes you do get a free refill which is very welcome. Staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. I would say to visitors and locals alike go to cafe Luca you won't find a better cafe in York.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    77
    22
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York
2 reviews
“Great reasonable cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Also visited post-work - but will definitely visit again. Lovely cakes and drinks, really helpful pleasant staff. Some cafes in York can leave you feeling a bit robbed - not this one. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Many thanks to Cafe Luca for hosting our post party conference. It's an excellent destination in York, with a delicious selection of drinks and desserts and very friendly, obliging staff.

As a multinational group of 35 we were looking for somewhere to suit a range of needs and tastes and Cafe Luca fitted the bill perfectly, with every one of us able to find something to our fancy.

The cafe itself is very comfortable and spacious with good seats - all making for a very nice atmosphere.

I'd highly recommend this cafe to anyone visiting York and I hear the rest of their menu is fabulous too.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellerjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best full English breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I was craving a full English after a very early start. This cafe is bright and airy, comfy chairs, great menu at very reasonable prices and a few cards and crafts for sale. Absolutely delicious, generous breakfast and a great cup of Yorkshire tea for £7.60. Just what was needed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Klizjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well worth going to”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Lovely for a spot of lunch and a break from shopping :) I'd recommend it to anyone

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LickingLarryTheLlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Luca also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing