We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

National Railway Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.43*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #1 of 200 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a fantastic day out for the whole family in York, visit the award winning National Railway Museum. Get up close to over 300 years of fascinating history in York's only National Museum. Explore our giant halls full of trains and railway legends including the majestic Duchess of Hamilton, step on to the futuristic Japanese Bullet Train or marvel at the stunning opulence of the Royal Trains. Get on board awe-inspiring locomotives, watch our engineers at work in the Workshop, uncover hidden treasures in the Warehouse and make tracks to the outdoor area. The children can let off steam in our outdoor play area, and our miniature railway ride is perfect for the whole family. Every weekend and throughout the school holidays, the kids can enjoy a lively programme of events, including science shows, story telling, steam rides, craft activities and special events. Please note that calls to our listed phone number (0844...) cost 4.25p per minute plus your phone company's access charge.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Rhos On Sea
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Free entry, some amazing exhibits to see. Reasonably priced food. Would go back and well worth a visit if you are into choo choo's or not.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jubsfawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,154
    2,915
    535
    93
    46
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Always wanted to visit the National Railway Museum and wasn't disappointed. The standard of the trains on display are amazing and everywhere you turn you will be saying ' I remember that!'
Tea, coffee and snacks seemed good value to us. Don't miss the area where they store items that are not in the main halls, you will see some great pieces.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Photoscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Ok even if you have no interest”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We had a few days in York so this sort of fell on the list. I have no interest in any kind of trains or railways etc. My partner had more interest although not a massive enthusiast or anything. We walked down from the other side of town just about 10 min walk. The museum was free when we arrived which was a pleasant surprise and you just made a donation of your choice. The whole layout was good, plenty to see and a large collection of items. My partner thought it was really good, there's a variety of cafés in there and there is a train that you can get a ride back into town on for a couple of pounds or free with a York pass.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Visited on the 30th April and had a great time. Entry to the museum is free but you do have to pay £9 for the car park. Good value I think. A s the car park was accessible until 6.30 we left the car there and visited the town centre as well as it only takes 15 minutes to walk to York Minster.
Some great exhibits to see. The cutaway engine near the entrance really gives you an idea as to how a steam engine actually works. The "royal" carriages are worth a viewing. We spent over 2 hours wandering around and could have spent longer.There is a restaurant in the main hall with reasonable prices. All the staff we spoke to were really helpful and friendly. There is a little road train to take people to York Minster for a small charge Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank klingoneddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Firstly, it's free to go in, although not giving a decent donation would be pure meanness. However, this does mean that shorter visits are not prohibitively expensive.
Packed with railway engines, carriages, information, anything relating to railways. A view of the workshop where the real hard graft happens to preserve our railway history. Demonstrations and brief talks are "on the menu" and presented well with staff who really know their subject.
This is one of our national treasures, and I hope will always be here.
I have visited this museum a number of times over the years, and every time has been a great experience.
NRM - just keep on doing what you do...!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Railway Museum also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to National Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing