We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb day out”

National Railway Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.27*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #1 of 200 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a fantastic day out for the whole family in York, visit the award winning National Railway Museum. Get up close to over 300 years of fascinating history in York's only National Museum. Explore our giant halls full of trains and railway legends including the majestic Duchess of Hamilton, step on to the futuristic Japanese Bullet Train or marvel at the stunning opulence of the Royal Trains. Get on board awe-inspiring locomotives, watch our engineers at work in the Workshop, uncover hidden treasures in the Warehouse and make tracks to the outdoor area. The children can let off steam in our outdoor play area, and our miniature railway ride is perfect for the whole family. Every weekend and throughout the school holidays, the kids can enjoy a lively programme of events, including science shows, story telling, steam rides, craft activities and special events. Please note that calls to our listed phone number (0844...) cost 4.25p per minute plus your phone company's access charge.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb day out”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

As a railway fan for 50+ years I visited the National Railway Museum in York recently. Entering the Great hall my breath was taken away by the massive "Duchess of Hamilton" steam engine. Other well known exhibits include the record breaking "Mallard" There are thousands of exhibits including various "Royal Trains" plus steam rides and plenty of interactive items to keep the youngsters occupied. There are two excellent cafes and well stocked shop. The museum itself is free entry

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russ1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,158
    2,917
    535
    93
    46
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highlight of vacation”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

When the motor-coach tour I was taking stopped in York, I rushed over to the NRM. Elation over the stunning collection mixed with anxiety over how little time I had. The NRM deserves to be savored. One should allocate hours to soak in the displays and the magnificent machines. I hope to return one day and give this place the time it deserves.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fogllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Visit”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We enjoyed this attraction very much, not real train enthusiast but was very interesting and enjoyable, especially enjoyed seeing the Royal Coaches fro the different years.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Palacefan1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not to be missed, amazing collection of old engines.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

You cannot visit York and overlook the NRM, it is quite simply a stunning National Asset.

Unbelievably free, you cannot say fairer than that. I visited as a kid of 6 and like many little boys, I gravitated straight towards the Mallard. I did exactly the same thing thirty odd years later, it is quite something. Being the 75th anniversary of the Mallard creating the 126MPH steam record, two other A4 class engines (Mallards to you and me) had been brought over and restored. The Dominion of Canada and the Dwight D Eisenhower. I was lucky enough to catch "Monster Moves" on TV a few weeks later which showed how these engines were transported to York from halfway around the world. A must see if you can get on catch up TV if you have seen these engines in real life.

The work and dedication which must have gone into restoring the engines on display is mind boggling. New since the last time I went was the working Stevenson's Rocket which you can pay for a ride on. Also there is a miniature railway for the kids to ride on. Definitely worth 2-3 hours of your stay in York.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pootleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Just a three day break”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Not into trains but we enjoyed this experience. This is free if you don't wont to donate but we feel thigs like this do need all the financial help they can get.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank westleigh34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Railway Museum also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to National Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing