We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
York City Pass: Access 25+ Attractions for One Great Price
102

Book in advance
from
£59.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience National Railway Museum
from £59.00
More Info
from £16.00
More Info
from £16.00
More Info
Reviews (19,150)
Filter reviews
19,150 results
Traveller rating
13,919
4,120
837
168
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13,919
4,120
837
168
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flying scotsman royal carriages bullet train free entry train enthusiast all ages steam engine love trains station hall suggested donation main hall free attraction well worth a visit on display few hours york station great place to visit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,014 - 2,019 of 19,150 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2019 via mobile

Four of us spent a whole day looking around the many beautifully presented exhibits in this wonderful free attraction. It was so much bigger than we thought, and we could easily have spent more time, but were on a bit of a tight schedule. We had tea and scones, which were very well priced, and tasted wonderful. Such a great way to spend a day, even if you are not a railway enthusiast.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank AlexTheJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2019 via mobile

I’m in no way a train groupie, but this museum was just amazing! Sooo many trains displayed in a great way....spent ages clambering around!! Quite a fan now...😂

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank pennys750
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2019 via mobile

Not a single negative to mention. Superb museum in every way. I am not a railway nut but found this museum fascinating. So much to see it would take a week to see it all I think. I was there for 4 hours and it was great. Something for everyone and of all ages... And it's free.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2019

An outstanding collection of (mainly) steam locos and carriages. You can get up close to pretty much all the exhibits and even stand on some of the footplates and walk through some of the carriages. The WW1 war trains exhibit was both fascinating and chilling and something I knew little about before visiting the museum. You could spend days here if you were a real train buff.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2019 via mobile

We arrived with our 3yr old Grandson at 10-45 am and left at 4pm. What a day from start to finish something for everyone. Our Grandson loved ever minute of it, Mallard his favourite engine. A very special treat was the steam engine leaving York Station and a wave from the driver. A huge place but very well laid out with plenty of space between engines. Free they do ask for a donation which is acceptable fo a great day out. Car parking is £10 for the day.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank boyd1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews