We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience National Railway Museum
from US$64.98
More Info
from US$21.66
More Info
Reviews (18,459)
Filter reviews
18,459 results
Traveller rating
13,490
3,993
760
137
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13,490
3,993
760
137
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flying scotsman royal carriages bullet train free entry train enthusiast steam engine love trains station hall all ages main hall free attraction well worth a visit on display few hours york station great place to visit couple of hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,125 - 1,130 of 18,459 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2019

Fantastic day at the railway museum free to get in, you could spend a full day and enjoy every minute.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank CHUBS246
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2019

Went here with my husband. I had been before but he hadn't. Spent a wonderful 3 -4 hours walking around visiting various trains on display, including Mallard which is still fastest steam train. Whether a train enthusiast or not thisbis still worth a visit.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank kabjeffrey890
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2019

It has been many years since our last visit and we found it very interesting. The fact that it is free is a bonus.

We are not "train buffs" but we spent an enjoyable couple of hours here. The royal trains were a fascinating glimpse into changing fashions ans we were enthralled by the ambulance train.

The places to eat looked very pleasant although we did not try them and there was planty of space for taking a picnic.

We did feel that the Mallard simulator ride could ahve given a better sense of the speed and motion and we were a little disappointed.

Since this is a National Museum, it would ahve been nice to see a few references to innovations that took place in Wales such as Trevithick's locomotive, the Mumbles Railway which whilst it was originally powered by horse not steam was still the first passenger railway in the world and even the invention of the steam whistle which was not invented for trains but did serve them well.

All in all, there was planty to see and do and they were catering for children as well as adults.

The themed shop was very well stocked.

At the end of our visit, we took the land train back to York Minster which was a very pleasant little add-on.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Val W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2019 via mobile

Had a wet day in York so popped to the railway museum

Free entry and two large halls of trains and smaller side areas.

Kept us busy and interesting,

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank gbmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2019

Amazed to find that entry is completely FREE. I would have happily paid to go in. Terrific collection of locomotives, mostly from UK, but also from the rest of the world. Two big sheds of exhibits, including some really iconic examples (Evening Star, Mallard etc). Good maps, informatiion boards. Extra stuff outside in the yards. Access to the "store" part of the collection, restoration workshops etc. My only negative on the place is the very expensive (and noisy) catering options. Given that it's free to get in, I suppose I should just accept that. Overall a cracking day out. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews