We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely house”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Treasurer's House

Treasurer's House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.98*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #16 of 200 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Step through 2,000 years of history with one visit to this house of dreams, where rooms are set up and furnished to mirror the grand styles from medieval times to the early 1900's.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I loved going around this house. I liked that there was someone in each room who could answer any questions. Would loved to have gone into the gardens but we couldn't find the entrance to it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Audrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    591
    437
    84
    20
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Interesting house and lovely garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The house is full of interesting furniture and objects. The volunteer guides are very enthusiastic about their subject and keen to tell you more. We particularly enjoyed the 'ghost' tour of the cellars - very atmospheric! The gardens are lovely and a peaceful haven to escape from the bustle of the town. What better view than that of the Minster across the road.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JanWBromley_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
388 reviews
247 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Eclectic mix this house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Well a bit strange this house, all sorts of stuff and possibly not for the purist. I thought it was very good my partner didn't care for it. We went into the cellar for the ghost talk which was very good and well explained by the guide.

We stayed for lunch which was very good indeed, get there early, cos the locals know about it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopefull-guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

the National Trust staff are very polite and friendly, we enjoyed our tour and were given lots of intersting facts

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great National Trust House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Situated in the centre of York just behind the Minster, this was a first class house to visit. All that was in the house was left exactly as when it was handed over to the NT, which made it particularly authentic. Don't miss the ghost trip to the cellar!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Treasurer's House also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Treasurer's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing