We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be strengthened”
Review of Yorkshire Museum

Yorkshire Museum
Ranked #31 of 204 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover thousands of years of York's history in one place, from prehistory to the city's medieval splendour. Walk on a genuine Roman mosaic floor, kneel at St William's shrine, see the monsters of the deep that swam when Yorkshire was beneath the see and much more in our fantastic galleries in the hear of the city.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Could be strengthened”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

As others have written, the Castle museum is significantly better than the Yorkshire Museum. The YM is, of course, rather smaller, but has potential to be much better. Perhaps an increased level of interaction with exhibits or guides who point out particularly interesting finds would help. The dress up clothes were pretty nondescript. Perhaps something more could be done with the epigraphic remains. The actual artefacts themselves are very good, but they need better framing. The chronological scope of the museum is Prehistoric to late Medieval.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    229
    141
    38
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Tyneside
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A fun way to spend a couple of hours...”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We visited on a cold and windy Saturday afternoon and were surprised at how quiet the museum was!

* Friendly staff
* Kids (aged 5 & 7) enjoyed the dinosaur trail - and their reward of a sticker
* Lots of varying interest exhibits
* The location - straight off the bus from Rawcliffe Park and Ride and into the park/museum
* The price - on an earlier visit to York we'd bought tickets lasting 12 months, costing £10 each adult, for the York Castle Museum and the Yorkshire Museum
* Children' activities (due to the summer/school holidays) were good - arts/crafts/lego model building
* Reasonably priced, and well stocked, gift shop.

The only thing I didn't enjoy as much as I thought I would was the History of York film, the content was interesting but the graphics were quite "whizzy" on the screen and I felt moved a little fast for my eyes...

We'll definitely return again, we didn't everything we could have!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Magpie0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's....... ok.......”
Reviewed 16 August 2014


Not great to be honest, lot's of things placed in rooms with little context or interest - it's ok but far from great and considering admission costs about the same as the far superior Castle Museum not really worth it unless it's raining and you've seen everything else

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mystabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnoldswick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Lots of interactive activities to keep the kids entertained, nice dinosaur exhibits and a play room.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank seabasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Pretty Good as a Local Museum, Even Greater Location.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I've been around the Yorkshire Museum a couple of times being a local. Overall it is a really good local museum providing a vast coverage of the different periods concerning York and Yorkshire itself as well as having a focus on the natural science side of things too. A place great for both adults and children. The parts that stood out to me just recently have been the Roman displays and the Medieval section downstairs (but being a history student locally too, and favouring the medieval periods, this was bound to be the case!).
There are some areas that could really do with a little updating and a focus on displaying information a bit more clearly and in a way that visitors are able to take a good chunk of info in without having to read a big paper file in a corner. Although, the majority of areas and their information are displays quite satisfactorily.
The location of the museum is great as the Museum Gardens also contain St Mary's Abbey, The Hospitium and The Observatory. Although the Gardens themselves are great for a sit down to take in York and its history.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire_Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yorkshire Museum also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Yorkshire Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing