We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun experience”
Review of The York Dungeon

The York Dungeon
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$48.89*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #3 of 22 Fun & Games in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 2000 Years of York's Dark Grizzly History! The York Dungeon is a must-see, uniquely thrilling attraction that will take you back to the city's darkest history. See, hear, smell and feel York's stories come to life before your eyes as frighteningly funny characters transport you through time. Surprises await you at The Dungeon... Fear the Vikings as they invade and conquer York. Discover Guy Fawkes' Gunpowder Plot and what really happened that November night. Will you crack under the pressure of the Torturer and his intimidating instruments? Step inside Castle Prison and delve into Dick Turpin's infamous crimes. Visit our website for more information on opening times. Plus book your tickets online to save money and guarantee entry!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great fun experience”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Day trip to York and just turned up and got in.

Great fun experience especially as my wife was picked on a number of times.

The actors really play their part and it was a fun way to pass some time.

Well worth a visit

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank keithowen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,915
    956
    322
    101
    67
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An absolute blast”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I went to the York Dungeon with my husband and brother, we pre-booked on line, which wasn't really necessary as it was a Monday morning but would recommend if going on a weekend. We had an absolute blast. The actors are awesome, the store reasonably priced, they offer photos and the overall stories and experience was worth every cent. I believe adults are around £9 ea. We all got picked on by the actors but if you are willing to participate it is so much fun, nothing scary happens to you so give everything a go. Would recommend for children under 10-12.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tkhelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very entertaining from the entrance to the end!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We visited as a family of five (the youngest being 15 yrs), prebooking tickets online saving 40%, all had a great time. From the second we were greeted at the door by a very lively Jester, throughout the whole 4D experience we were all very entertained, the actors were brilliant *best performance goes to the Judge! :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 757Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east anglia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“fun”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I pre booked the tickets as they were a lot cheaper. Was enjoyable, some of the actors were incredible and i loved the audience participation. well worth a visit

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EastAngliaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Went to York Dungeons as part of a hen party and had a great laugh. The staff/actors all do their jobs very well and make the local history very interesting while involving the public. Not as scary as the Edinburgh Dungeon but still plenty of surprises. Sense of humour is required along with the ability not to take ones self too seriously. The photos at the end are hilarious! Overall just great fun.

Helpful?
Thank J300lsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The York Dungeon also viewed

 

Been to The York Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing