We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub on the river”
Review of The Lowther

The Lowther
Ranked #362 of 874 Restaurants in York
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: International, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Preston
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice pub on the river”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Had some drinks and lunch on the side of the River Ouse in York were the pub has a section roped off for their customers. The wait staff were friendly and efficient and the food was tasty. You do have to wait at busy times in nice weather but it is an excellent location to chill out and enjoy a glass of wine watching the boats go up and down the river.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    99
    68
    36
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“To the dungeon”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My family and I visited the pub come restaurant on a sunny afternoon in April for a quick lunch, the staff informed us that there would be a half hour delay in food service due to the number of patrons eating outside. We ordered our food and bought our drinks...45 minutes later still no food, we were told it will be another 15 minutes due to "the number of patrons eating outside". Whilst we were waiting the table next to ours who had been waiting 20 minutes for their food were offered complimentary drinks and an apology. We however were on the verge of asking for a refund when after an hour and five minutes our food finally turned up...it wasn't worth the wait. My daughter's chicken tikka massala looked like a Tesco ready meal and my wife's sandwich certainly wasn't on ciabatta. All in all a very unsatisfactory experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beardy Nigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Average slop, average meal”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Arriving for a meal after hearing good reviews, we were a little dissapointed with the food and drink we were served.

I started with a pint of Amstel, my favourite, however, it was not great so I moved to bottles of desperados. You can't really get that wrong ay.

The menu was extremely predictable, actually, I could have guessed everything.

For starter, we had oil, balsamic vinegar and bread. The bread was little buns so not much bread for dipping. Also, a lot of oil compared to balsamic.

For main I had burger and chips. The chips were good but came in a little frying basket....I don't understand why I need this? The burger was nice, however, it was served on a large rectangular piece of bread which was not symmetrical with the bun, making it difficult to eat and lots of excess bread. The coleslaw was good though!

Must try harder. Poor chain pub

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

When we got inside we had to move seats because it smelt like sick around the glass collection point. there was hardly anybody in so i don't know why it smelt so bad there, anyway we found a table that was ok, we had bread and balsamic vinegar and oil to start. the bread was very nice but the oil and balsamic vinegar was pretty tasteless. the steak and ale suet pudding i had tasted very nice inside but i couldn't eat the pastry because it was so hard and thick so really i had pie filling and veg. the gravy was very tasty and so were the hand cut chips, my boyfriends burger was very nice he said although the burger came on a bap that was oblong so the burger was drowned in bun. all in all it was very average so nothing to shout about, we wouldn't go back next time were in york though as i think we paid far too much for what was offered.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Otley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We visited the Lowther last Sunday afternoon and we were served by efficient friendly staff,there was plenty of choice on the menu,I had the Scampi which was lovely especially enjoyed the chips.We had a nice window seat over looking the river,and what a nice place to people watch.
Will return the next time we visit York,it is pub grub but it is also cheap and cheerful

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanetteplatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lowther also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Lowther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing