We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and atmosphere”
Review of Tassili - CLOSED

Tassili
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just had a wonderful evening at Tassili. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and feels very exotic, with a lovely smell of incense as you walk in the door. I really enjoyed my soup starter, which was very tasty, as were the tagines we each had. Both the lamb and chicken tagines had lots of flavour. My chicken tagine was especially good. Refreshing mint teas rounded off a lovely meal. Recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Si_and_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    16
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tasty.”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Lovely, quaint restaurant with a warm and inviting interior design. The service was great and we didn't have to wait long at all. The food being the best bit, was full of flavour and very filling, it went down really well with a glass of wine. My girlfriend and I would recommend this venue to anyone and will be going there again when we are next in York.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Moroccan restaurant, brilliant service”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

One guy working - cooking, cleaning AND serving and it was still a fluid and perfect evening. Food was absolutely delicious, beautifully presented, and the atmosphere was exotic and so peaceful. Would definitely go again, the guy working was so friendly and did an amazing job, really fantastic considering it was only him there. Will recommend this to everyone who visits York!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious and freshly authentic food”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Very delicious recipes and enjoyable atmosphere, complete with red tinted lighting, treasures from northern africa and incense. Perfect for a friendly gathering of up to 6 people, or couples date out. The menu was good value for money, although we found service was quite slow and we had to request certain items rather than the waitress coming to us, but all was very good quality.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lolliesnips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really tasty food”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Moroccan restaurant 5 mins walk from York centre which we came across on our way into town. and I couldn't be happier that we did. The food is full of flavour without being spicy-hot, Good choice and variety, and the owner could not be friendlier or more attentive.

The aubergine dip was an excellent starter but my chicken-lemon main course was a delight.

So highly recommended for food, service and finally a nod to the decor which creates a warm, sociable ambiance.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tassili also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
Bishopthorpe, York
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing