We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heworth Court Hotel
Ranked #65 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was our 6th visit to the Heworth Court B & B and once again we were not disapointed with our stay. Right from our arrival on Sunday the 16th Feb 14 the staff were warm, freindly and welcoming, our room was clean, fresh and maintained daily to a very high standard. The food was once again to high standard served by friendly staff only to happy to help, this was echoed by all the staff during our stay, with staff enquiring as to our well being throughout our stay. Our latest stay was during the school/college half term week, yet it was still great value for money. The hotel as ample on-site secure car parking at both of its sites.
We are already planning our next visit hopefuly for the Easter holiday's.
Well done Heworth Court for making our stay what it was.

Room Tip: In the annex block at the rear of the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

One night stay for a weekend in York.

Very good value for money. Room basic but comfortable.

Distance to town centre ok if weather good. Cheap taxi ride if not.

Bar comfy but empty when we were there so can't comment on atmosphere.

Breakfast plentiful but average quality.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Went to york for a short break and wanted a comfortable and cosy hotel,thats xactally what we got too.so clean and friendly with absoulutly lovely breakfast.
Hubby called the Hotel to see if we could park at the place and also if there were downstairs rooms available with showers,on doing this we had a special rate, this only happens if you call direct so is worth doing.
It's very close to a bus stop and five minutes ride to the city centre,about 15 mins walk depends on how quickly you walk.
We stayed in a courtyard room number 6 (because I was unable to use the stairs ) and it was next to the kitchen which I thought that we would get an early morning call with the noise,but heard nothing at all,in fact we both slept very well.
The rooms are great just what was needed with a large shower in the en suite,all mod cons,including wifi,and cleaned within an inch of their lives for all you clean freeks.Lovely and warm and easy to get to from the private car park situated at the back of the property.
Nice clean and well maintained restaurant/breakfast room and a small bar with some eclectic whiskey's if you fancy it...........
The staff were friendly enough and nothing was to much troubl.on;ly thing they didnt have was granular sweetnerfor my Weetabix but hey I put up with sugar for one day.
Breakfast was immense and service was up to standard.
All in all we would defo like to say would stay here again and anyone who wants to visit york should stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMOOLEY-LOU42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

stayed at Heworth for 3 nights. After a long drive from Glasgow in horrendous weather it was lovely to be met by a friendly welcoming face. Our room was comfortable, warm and had a lovely hot shower. There is lots of parking round the back in the car park. It was only a short walk into York city centre where there is lots to do. We only had breakfast on one occasion, but it was lovely. Will definitely return and recommend to friends. Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This was our 3rd visit to Heworth Court. We had a huge room in Sutherland House which has a very old character but very cosy. I feel the room could now do with some refurbishment as the decor is getting a little tired. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I think it has been a family run business for years.
The dinners however were brilliant. All home made food and some of the home made desserts were just to "die for". The chef offered to make porridge for my breakfast.
As we cannot walk so far now the Hotel was also very conveniently placed as the bus stop to town centre is almost outside front door.
The receptionist advised us to contact Hotel itself if we wanted to book again, rather than on the internet. We will do that if we are fortunate enough to return to York

Room Tip: The attic room used to have a big roll top bath - lovely to relax in after spending all your money i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosesFife_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Managed to book a one nights stay on a Saturday at short notice
Half mile walk from York city centre, we were billeted in the annex across the back, room was OK, nothing special, but certainly not worth £93!
No air conditioning, and smelt of kennels, you know that slightly damp and bleachie aroma
The breakfast was OK, but I had to ask for refills of coffee, the dinning room was full at 8.45 am and no coffee offered until sat at the table ...not good service at all. Oh and the toast was cold thin pre sliced cheap bread!
Bedding had a cheap washing detergent smell....There were pubic hairs in the bath...not ours!
Not a romantic setting for a get away
The service at reception was the best thing about this place, the Adele look alike is FAB!

Room Tip: Was not offered a room in the main house, but must be better than the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProprietorYork, Manager at Heworth Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear guest, would just like to respond to your comments. Firstly, we advertise that we are approximately 15 minutes walk away from York Minster. There is a regular bus service into town from a few doors down which runs most days until 8pm. We do advertise that some of our rooms are in an annexe building, which is 2 doors away. However, I see that you stayed in one of our courtyard rooms, to the rear of the main building and you are correct in saying that the rooms do not have air conditioning (which we do not advertise). However, I can assure you that we do not allow pets in our bedrooms and therefore I cannot see how they would smell of 'kennels'.

We have waiter/ress service at breakfast and endeavour to offer guests as many refills as they want of coffee/tea and so I apologise if you had to ask for a refill. We do not offer coffee until you are seated at the table as this is when the waiter/ress comes to take your order and offer you tea/coffee to accompany it.

I cannot agree with your comments about the quality of the bread, but again apoligise if your toast was cold. Our waitering staff would have brought you some fresh toast on request. Our bed linen is of a high quality polycotton.

I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We encourage guests to contact reception during their stay if there is anything that has been missed by the housekeeping staff, if anything is broken or if they are unhappy in anyway so that we can if possible retify things before departure. Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you were happy with the reception service and have passed your comments on to the member of staff you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

we spent two nights here sun to Tuesday. Staff were so lovely, very helpful. room cosy , in the rear courtyard. Everything fine including the English breakfast. A lovely walk into York and back. second stay here and we'll definitely be back again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cardav2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#45 of 194 in York
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#23 of 194 in York
1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
York House
York House
#68 of 194 in York
347 reviews
1.6 mi away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heworth Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heworth Court Hotel

Address: 76 - 78 Heworth Green, York YO31 7TQ, England (Formerly Heworth Court B&B)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £47 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heworth Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heworth Court offers guest accommodation including breakfast 7 days per week. Plus our Lamplight Restaurant is open 5 nights per week - Tues-Saturday inclusive serving 6pm-8.30pm (last orders 8pm). All dishes prepared to order, using fresh local ingredients by our experienced chef. Our Minster Bells Whisky bar is open daily until 11pm and serves soft drinks & spirits including over 30 malt whiskies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heworth Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heworth Court Bed And Breakfast
Heworth Court Hotel York
Heworth Court York
Hotel Heworth Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing