We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heworth Court fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heworth Court Hotel
Ranked #59 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heworth Court fabulous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel 29th July for two nights,we had the King size bed which was very nice. Bath and shower great. Bar staff good and didn,t rush us to drink up .qStaff fantastic and looked after us.Breakfast very good. Would we stay again.Yes.

Room Tip: We liked the king size bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamjar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    159
    52
    33
    4
See reviews for
52
236
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed at the Heworth Court for two nights in room 25, 2nd floor at the front of building. Very narrow steep steps up to room, but our bags were taken up for us. Room clean and adequately equipped but nothing special. Bed comfortable, pillows lovely but a rather unsightly sweat stain on the headboard from a previous guest. Shower quite weak and
took a while to heat up. Breakfast good staff very helpful and attentive.

Main problem was the "designated smoking area". Basically a bucket of sand and a sign at the end of the garden.....and a hell of a way from our room, or any other room not in the courtyard. A seat and some shelter would be nice.

Overall decent hotel better described as a large guest house, reasonable value but if your a smoker definitely try for a room in the courtyard

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDeeSexyCoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I always stay here when we come to York. Lovely staff, great rooms, fabulous food. Everyone is very welcoming and we are made to feel at home.. Can't wait until our next trip! Good luck Mrs Smith with your op at the end of August. Your garden and courtyard are absolutely beautiful!!

Robert and Jackie Batten

Room Tip: We booked a standard room this time and it was quite small. We,spoke to The lovely Sue at reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights as we were at york for the races, we booked direct with the hotel which was easy, when we arrived we made our way to reception and was met by friendly staff who were full of information and booked local taxis to the races etc....

We stayed in Room 12 which was a big room, 2 large singles pushed together to make a very large double, the bed was very comfy, the room also had freeview TV, Tea and coffee, Iron and Iron board, plenty of wardrobe space with hangers, and a good shower. The hotel is a good 15 min walk but has good bus links into centre of york, breakfast was quick and was a good breakfast with waiter service.

Little downsides to the hotel, the bathroom needs upgrading as looked old mismatched, needed new pillows, there was a funny smell in the annex building and in our room but we had the windows open all the time due to the recent hot weather. But these little issues would not stop us going again.

Overall its a good friendly hotel, near york with parking, a decent resaurant with a nice courtyard to sit in, the flowers were lovely, if returning to york we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eduardandkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and another couple stayed at the Heworth last week during our tour of the UK. What great accommodations! We stayed in the "annex" which really was just an extension of the main building. We were in room 9, which had a large window that opened onto a garden area near the car park. Our room was very nice, large enough with plenty of storage area. The windows open, which was nice during the recent hot spell that York had(no A/C). The bathroom was also nice, and had toiletries in the shower. The bed was comfortable. You have a selection of teas and creamers in your room along with biscuits...which are replenished daily! The cleaning staff always made up our room while we were out. (for convenience, you can leave your room key rather than carry it around all day!) The receptionist double as bartenders in the Whiskey bar they have. The bar is well stocked. The reception staff was very helpful and polite at all times; whether assisting with scheduling a golf outing or giving directions for the bus. The main part of York is an easy walk - but after you walk around touring all day...it was nice to jump on the bus - which let you off right in the front! The location was very nice, in a residential area. It was very safe. The courtyard was a nice place to congregate and visit with others staying at the hotel. There are several tables and seating areas. I am sure that during most times the bar is a nice place to sit, but it was too hot and the windows don't open in it - so we sat outside! Thank you to the staff for an enjoyable visit!!!

Room Tip: IF I were to stay again...or if traveling with another couple...choose rooms 8 and 9. They are link...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jucahaNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Excellent I just did not expect this level at the price room clean comfortable attentive staff when required. But the biggest surprise was the food simply delicious and a must try if they had charged double what we paid it would of been good value I can not praise the chef cook enough a delightful meal

Room Tip: All or courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent two nights here with the offer of Dinner,Bed and Breakfast. This worked well after a long drive south. We enjoyed a delightful meal in the Lamplight restaurant.
Although the courtyard room was small, it was clean,comfy bed and had a walk in shower.
The courtyard garden was stunning in full bloom and very welcoming. The whiskey bar was a pleasant area to chat with fellow travellers. It is a good idea to ask for directions to get to the car park at the rear of the property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#23 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#25 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beechwood Close Hotel
Beechwood Close Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heworth Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heworth Court Hotel

Property: Heworth Court Hotel
Address: 76-78 Heworth Green, York YO31 7TQ, England (Formerly Heworth Court B&B)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heworth Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heworth Court,offers guest accommodation including breakfast 7 days per week. Plus our Lamplight Restaurant is open 5 nights per week - Tues-Saturday inclusive serving 6pm-8.30pm (last orders 8pm). All dishes prepared to order, using fresh local ingrediants by our experienced chef. Our Minster Bells Whisky bar is open daily until 11pm and serves soft drinks & spirits including over 30 malt whiskies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heworth Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heworth Court Hotel York
Heworth Court Bed And Breakfast
Heworth Court York
Hotel Heworth Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing