We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't sleep in room 35!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heworth Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heworth Court Hotel
Ranked #55 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't sleep in room 35!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

Had I written this review after my night in "room 35" it would be full of, deleted, expletives. I knew we were in the annex but nobody told me that we were in the attic; up 35 steps with two suitcases! The room had the hardest bed we have ever, not, slept on; blinds that couldn't exclude the light of a firefly let alone the sun and a funny smell. So far so bad...

...we complained, politely, and were moved to a nice courtyard room with a softer bed and curtains that worked. Helpfully, the staff moved our cases while we were out enjoying York. After that, all is bliss. The hotel has plenty of parking spaces and is only a 15 minute walk from York Minster. Regular buses run to and from the city center - but only till 20:00. The hotel is a bit worn and threadbare but breakfast is good and the location is excellent.

Despite meeting lots of friendly and helpful citizens, enjoying the attractions and history we didn't like York; too busy and frenetic after a week in the Dales. We suggest visiting at a quieter time of year.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyShand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    158
    52
    32
    4
See reviews for
49
233
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

York is a tourist honey pot, lots of hotels and B & B's. The Heworth Court stands out for its location, 10 minute walk to the minster, and the friendlyness of the staff. The main hotel is a perhaps idiosyncratic on three floors with steep stairs. The food was good without being fussy. And the whiskey bar is what it says it is!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston Tx
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

We really loved the decor...I don't want to see white plastic or fake wood in a beautiful old bed and breakfast. The decor is perfect victorian to match the hotel. We always travel with a small oscillating desk fan to block the traffic/neighbor noise and provide a little cool air in non-ac hotels....and this worked great here (room 42 of Sutherland house)where we were on the main road and near the front door. The bed was a little hard and the pillows flat, but the size and beauty of the room and hotel in general made up for it. The breakfast is very good, but apart from grapefruit sections there is no fruit, yogurt or options apart from the English breakfast or cereal items. The courtyard is breathtaking and relaxing for your ale at the end of the day. The walk into town is short and easily accessible to everything.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorib1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co. durham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

good location, easy 10 min walk in to centre but the accomadation seemed to lack what i expected to do a four graded hotel. staff friendly, stairs very difficult to climb whilst carrying luggage, room seemed quite dated, woodchip on the ceiling, wall lights old fashioned, room 5 toilet in one corner of room, shower and hand basin in other corner, shower very small. noair condition, very very hot. tea and coffee facilities in room basic( no hot chocolate or biscuits.
)husband cant have cup of tea without a biscuit !!!
don't thinkwe got very good value for money. have stayed in a lot better places in york for lest money

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katvillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

I stayed here for one night at the end of February. Like the previous reviewer I got room 7 in the courtyard and would echo all their comments. The bed sheet had some holes in it, it is VERY dated décor wise and there was some mould around the bathroom window.

That being said the shower was good and the bed was comfortable.

I couldn't fault the friendliness of the staff and it is a boon to have the free car parking. It's about a fifteen minute walk into central York. Breakfast was delicious, but the orange juice seemed to be watered down, which at £70 per night seems a little odd.

I probably wouldn't stay here again, and at the price it charges can't recommend it for the standard of the room.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattfromLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as I attended a course at York Uni. The location was good, handy for the railway station and restaurants and shops, and the staff were friendly, but I wouldn't stay here again. I was in room 7, beside the court yard, and I found the decor to be extremely dated and the room could have been cleaner. The shower room floor needed a good mop and the room a good dust. Also the room was very bright, even with the curtains closed, as the lights from the court yard illuminated the room which made it difficult to sleep. On the plus side the poached eggs for breakie were delicious! I'm sure some people wouldn't mind this hotel but it wasn't my cup of tea, I prefer something a bit more modern.

  • Liked — The poached eggs
  • Disliked — The dated decor and the dust!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lauramac78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan,Lancs
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2008

A nice hotel overall,our room was lovely as it should have been really as it was one of the more expensive ones.We had one or two minor issues that were sorted out by the staff.The breakfast was really good although we had to wait for almost an hour to be served on our last morning there,there was obviously some problem in the kitchen area,but it wasn't a problem for us as they kepy us well supplied with coffee.
The hotel is on a main road into York,but it is set back and was very quiet,it took us about 15 minutes to walk into the city centre and the free parking was excellent as it could be a problem in such a busy city.
Typical of most hotels I have stayed at in though country though was you had to be down for breakfast by 9.30,which is a bit of a cheek as we were on holiday!Then the checkout time was 10 o'clock,you could extend that to 11.30 but had to pay another tenner for the privilege!I find stuff like that infuriating,they are supposed to be there for our convenience not the other way round.As I say this hotel is certainly not alone in this so I suppose you can't really blame them for getting away with it.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dudek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#22 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beechwood Close Hotel
Beechwood Close Hotel
#2 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#26 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heworth Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heworth Court Hotel

Property: Heworth Court Hotel
Address: 76-78 Heworth Green, York YO31 7TQ, England (Formerly Heworth Court B&B)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heworth Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heworth Court,offers guest accommodation including breakfast 7 days per week. Plus our Lamplight Restaurant is open 5 nights per week - Tues-Saturday inclusive serving 6pm-8.30pm (last orders 8pm). All dishes prepared to order, using fresh local ingrediants by our experienced chef. Our Minster Bells Whisky bar is open daily until 11pm and serves soft drinks & spirits including over 30 malt whiskies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Heworth Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heworth Court Hotel York
Heworth Court Bed And Breakfast
Heworth Court York
Hotel Heworth Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing