We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some birthday treat...........not!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heworth Court Hotel
Ranked #59 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester le street, Co Durham
1 review
“Some birthday treat...........not!”
Reviewed 2 November 2009

What can I say? We stayed in room 10 in the annexe, to say I was disappointed would be an under-statement! It was meant to be a wedding anniversary & birthday treat one of the only nights each year we spend away from our two small children to get away from it all...........then we arrived at Heworth Court, for a 4* romantic experience...........not!

The room was very old-fashioned & in desperate in of re-decoration, modernising & throughly cleaning, not enough room to swing a cat never mind jump off the wardrobe! Good job we had a good meal & didn't feel too peckish after a few bevvies as the rule book states strictly no hot food in rooms for fear of spillage, which would result in a £150 minimum fine..............is this a friendly hotel or student halls of reseidence, judging by the decor I'd go with the latter!

Good points - Excellent location 10 min walk to minsterf, ree parking....tick, friendly reception on arrival & excellent breakfast

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    161
    53
    33
    4
See reviews for
52
239
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Room 11 Ok ish small,but black mould along the skirtings. The quilt on the bed was that thin and small, only just covered the double bed. yuk The pillows were just as bad, no under cover on them and not sure what they were made of. Very uncomfortable. The bedding on the so called quilt was just as bad, gross. The curtains didn't cover the windows properly, hanging down and too light to close out the court light outside, so the light streamed into our room all night long. The noise through the thin walls woke us up on several occasions. They did serve a lovely breakfast though and the staff were cheerful.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kings lynn
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

the hotel was very clean and tidy the only thing i was not pleased with was we did not have a bath and the toilet and swer rooms was very small.breakfast was lovely but the evening menu was to overboard evrything had too much rich sauce,and nothing plain on the menu.but every thing else was very good

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Had I written this review after my night in "room 35" it would be full of, deleted, expletives. I knew we were in the annex but nobody told me that we were in the attic; up 35 steps with two suitcases! The room had the hardest bed we have ever, not, slept on; blinds that couldn't exclude the light of a firefly let alone the sun and a funny smell. So far so bad...

...we complained, politely, and were moved to a nice courtyard room with a softer bed and curtains that worked. Helpfully, the staff moved our cases while we were out enjoying York. After that, all is bliss. The hotel has plenty of parking spaces and is only a 15 minute walk from York Minster. Regular buses run to and from the city center - but only till 20:00. The hotel is a bit worn and threadbare but breakfast is good and the location is excellent.

Despite meeting lots of friendly and helpful citizens, enjoying the attractions and history we didn't like York; too busy and frenetic after a week in the Dales. We suggest visiting at a quieter time of year.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyShand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

York is a tourist honey pot, lots of hotels and B & B's. The Heworth Court stands out for its location, 10 minute walk to the minster, and the friendlyness of the staff. The main hotel is a perhaps idiosyncratic on three floors with steep stairs. The food was good without being fussy. And the whiskey bar is what it says it is!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We really loved the decor...I don't want to see white plastic or fake wood in a beautiful old bed and breakfast. The decor is perfect victorian to match the hotel. We always travel with a small oscillating desk fan to block the traffic/neighbor noise and provide a little cool air in non-ac hotels....and this worked great here (room 42 of Sutherland house)where we were on the main road and near the front door. The bed was a little hard and the pillows flat, but the size and beauty of the room and hotel in general made up for it. The breakfast is very good, but apart from grapefruit sections there is no fruit, yogurt or options apart from the English breakfast or cereal items. The courtyard is breathtaking and relaxing for your ale at the end of the day. The walk into town is short and easily accessible to everything.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorib1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co. durham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

good location, easy 10 min walk in to centre but the accomadation seemed to lack what i expected to do a four graded hotel. staff friendly, stairs very difficult to climb whilst carrying luggage, room seemed quite dated, woodchip on the ceiling, wall lights old fashioned, room 5 toilet in one corner of room, shower and hand basin in other corner, shower very small. noair condition, very very hot. tea and coffee facilities in room basic( no hot chocolate or biscuits.
)husband cant have cup of tea without a biscuit !!!
don't thinkwe got very good value for money. have stayed in a lot better places in york for lest money

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katvillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#23 of 47 in York
1,181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.0 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#25 of 192 in York
1,071 reviews
1.2 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#41 of 192 in York
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heworth Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heworth Court Hotel

Property: Heworth Court Hotel
Address: 76-78 Heworth Green, York YO31 7TQ, England (Formerly Heworth Court B&B)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Heworth Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heworth Court,offers guest accommodation including breakfast 7 days per week. Plus our Lamplight Restaurant is open 5 nights per week - Tues-Saturday inclusive serving 6pm-8.30pm (last orders 8pm). All dishes prepared to order, using fresh local ingrediants by our experienced chef. Our Minster Bells Whisky bar is open daily until 11pm and serves soft drinks & spirits including over 30 malt whiskies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heworth Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heworth Court Bed And Breakfast
Heworth Court Hotel York
Heworth Court York
Hotel Heworth Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing