We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, with one small caveat...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Judges Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Judges Lodging
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic hotel, with one small caveat...”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed one night, and the overall comfort and service of the hotel was wonderful. The room was spotless, the breakfast delicious and the service excellent. Particularly of note would be the beds, which were among the comfiest I have ever slept in, and the breakfast combination of cold buffet and a choice of around ten hot options. The service in the hotel was faultless as well. The building itself focusses on old-school comfort, with an open fire in the reception, thick carpets and soft lighting.
Separate from the hotel is the bar, which one has to go outside to reach. The atmosphere here is completely different. Whereas the hotel is smart, clean and friendly, the bar is scruffy, sticky and unwelcoming, and it seems as though the management, who have clearly gone to great length to ensure great service in the hotel, have not shown the same concern when employing the bar staff.
However, as the bar is practically a separate entity, please do not let the above comments dissuade you from staying at this wonderful little hotel.

Verdict:
Hotel: Excellent work, well done
Bar: Could do better...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudgesGeneralManager, Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Judges Lodgings.

Our highest priority is service, and we are extremely proud of our members of staff, who work tirelessly to make guests feel welcome in York and satisfied with their stay. Our housekeeping team aim for perfection, which is immediately visible throughout the hotel, by the cleanliness and comfort of all of the bedrooms as well as the communal areas. I will also pass on your message about breakfast to the chef,. who will be very pleased about your lovely comments.

I am particularly glad that you appreciated the "old-school comfort" of the hotel. We like our guests to enjoy the history of the building, and we have made every effort to maintain its antique beauty, whilst also accessorizing it with modern features. We feel that elements such as original fireplaces and vaulted ceilings distinguish us from other hotels in York, and allow us to become part of the city's cultural reputation.

We am sorry to hear that you were not as keen on the cellar bar - it is currently in the process of improvements, both in terms of aesthetics and also the food and drinks menu. There are also new offers out, for both guests and members of the public, which we would love for you to try if you ever return to York. We really value your feedback, and will certainly take all of your comments on board.

Thanks again for the review. We hope to see you back at Judges Lodgings some time in the future!

Kind regards,
The Judges Lodgings Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    273
    109
    36
    34
See reviews for
134
578
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We had an enjoyable stay as the room was large and airy and the bathroom very nicely done. What was not so good was that the TV, Internet, heated towel rail and vanity mirror did not work. Also, we found it could use a bit of a paint and a clean up in the front yard as it looked a little shabby. The staff whilst friendly, were very young and inexperienced. Having a young girl ask to help you with your luggarge is really not acceptable, alos one wearing a mini skirt. That they weren't uniformed made it difficult to know who was staff and they were constantly absent which made getting your room key a bit difficult. Finally, the fishmonger blocked the driveway and then refused to move, being verbally abusive, so that did not make our departure particularly pleasant. Kitchen struggled with breakfast with hot meals taking half an hour and then the poached eggs were cooked hard. Great spot for location, as in being close to everything.

Room Tip: We were in Room 3 and it was lovely, beautifully furnished and very large, but could be noisy in sum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudgesGeneralManager, Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that your stay at the Judges Lodgings was a positive one, particularly with your references about our prime location in the centre of the city of York and the beauty of the room in which you stayed.

I am deeply apologetic that the electrical equipment in your room was not working in the duration of your stay. Prior to your arrival, we had some trouble with heavy winds, which damaged the signal to both the television satellite and the internet. We have managed to resolve the problems with the TV... the internet in some of the bedrooms has proved more difficult to fix, however I can assure you that this will be done as soon as possible. Meanwhile, our guests can still enjoy full internet access in the common areas of the hotel, such as the foyer, the breakfast room and the reading room. However, the fact that these items were temporarily out of action during your stay is unacceptable, and I am sincerely sorry for this.

In relation to your other points, I assure you that despite the staff being young, they are extremely competent. We are very proud of our workforce, and usually receive very positive feedback about their service. As you can imagine, it would be impossible for us to have door staff considering the size of the hotel. It would also not really be inkeeping with the style of place, which favours a personal approach, rather than the 'detached' aura of larger chain hotels. We prefer our staff to get to know the guests, and we feel this commitment can be seen by policies such as helping you with your luggage, showing you to your room and dealing with any issues or queries directly.

I have taken notice of your concern about the staff dress, and your constructive criticism has been very useful in reminding us that we must be smart at all times. As a direct result of your review, the front of house staff have all been instructed that they must pay very careful attention to make sure they look professional, even though we do not have a strict uniform policy. I am very pleased to say that there have been a lot of changes in this respect in the past couple of weeks.

I apologise about your unfortunate encounter with the fishmonger, however of course, he is not directly employed by the hotel so we cannot really claim responsibility for it. We did discuss our concerns him afterwards, and I hope that our members of staff managed to pacify the situation somewhat!

Our kitchen is usually very swift with breakfast orders, and people also tend to be very pleased with the quality of the breakfast that they receive. We are very disappointed that this was not the same for you, and I will certainly pass the message onto the chef. I hope that if you come back to the Judges Lodgings again, you will be satisfied with all elements of your stay.

Kind regards,
Judges Lodgings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2011

There was a double reason for our stay in York this weekend. It was my birthday and my daughter had an Open day at York University . So we booked well in advance and were looking forward to our visit. Boy, we were not dissapointed. Got an extremely warm welcome from a young man and this theme continued throughout our stay from all the staff. The Suite(No,11) was a beautiful and bathroom a real treat. Breakfast was unbelievably good. If there was a Judges Logdings in every city why would you stay anywhere else. Hope to come many more times.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudgesGeneralManager, Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are particularly pleased with your lovely comments about the staff. Here at Judges Lodgings we are very proud of our friendly and welcoming reputation, and I am glad that you experienced this service first-hand. We have a few students from the University of York working here, who would be happy to give you and your daughter any advice about university life in this city.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Judges Lodgings Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This place is beautiful, very unique with a colourful history. We stayed in room 5 which is on the top floor, the room is massive with lovely furnishings and decor, spotlessly clean with a view of the Minster. The bathroom has a jacuzzi bath and posh looking shower, tried the jacuzzi bath and it was amazing albeit noisy the products were Gilchrist & Soames and nicer than the usual stuff you get in hotels. The bed was massive and comfortable. It was very quiet and peaceful. Room had many facilities, including iPhone dock which was great. We had the full Yorkshire breakfast which was delicious. The staff were very friendly & helpful. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and can't wait to stay here again, in fact I might ask if I can move in!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanGirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudgesGeneralManager, Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thank you very much for your fantastic review.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Judges Lodgings. We are very proud of our beautiful rooms, as well as our staff, who favour the personal approach that is often lost in modern, chain hotels. The town house was built in the early eighteenth century and is surrounded in history, which makes it completely inkeeping with York's culturally rich reputation!

We would love to have you to stay with us again, or even move in!

Kind regards,
Judges Lodgings Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Having just stayed in this hotel, i feel the food would have been better in Macdonalds!!! and the service better in pizza hut!!!!!!!! Get your food else where!!!!
The room was ok, but when you pay over £100 for a room am i rude in believing that you want better then ok?
York is a lovely city to explore! however im afraid that the judges lodgins could taint your display! It is very over priced and the cost you pay does not represent the quality of the hotel or sefvice received.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thedaddy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudgesGeneralManager, Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We apologise that you did not find our the food to your liking. We have just introduced a new, more up-market menu in our cellar bar, which has been very well received, and includes dishes such as braised featherblade of beef and creamy mushroom risotto. I hope that if you come back to York you will give this updated menu a chance to impress.

As for the service, we generally get very positive feedback on this, so I am disappointed that you did not feel the same as most. Perhaps you caught us on an "off-day", however this is no excuse for a 4* hotel, and thus I will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff here. Great service is our central goal at Judges Lodgings, and we are extremely proud of the welcoming and hospitable reputation that we have cultivated here.

I am not sure which room you stayed in, however all of our rooms are furnished to the highest standards, combining an antique beauty with modern features, such as LCD TV's, iPod docking stations and jacuzzi baths. I can assure you that the price of the hotel reflects the quality... our attention to detail is reflected by, for example, the luxury toiletries and complimentary beverages in all bedrooms, as well as our delicious all-inclusive breakfast. I am, of course, very sorry that you were unhappy with your room... guest's opinions are very important to us, so if you would like to contact us further about your specific problems we would be happy to speak with you about it.

One thing I must comment on about your review... you gave all of the categories one star. This seems to be a bit of an abuse of the ratings system, as I find it incomprehensible that certain categories justified this (most notably location, as we right in the city centre). I understand that overall you were not satisfied with the hotel, but we prefer that our ratings are done in a fair way, even if they are negative.

Kind regards,
The Judges Lodgings Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runway27
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

One night was not enough to fully enjoy this wonderfully warm and stylish hotel with its impeccable service. I can't recommend it highly enough including the wonderful location i the heart of this engaging city. We will return .. oh, and a special mention of the ultra comfortable bed !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav4114r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudgesGeneralManager, Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
You can almost sink into our beds and never... ever... emerge. Can be dangerous if your briefly staying with us! We greatly appreciate your review and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Judges Lodgings Hotel.

With warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a short break at the Judges Lodgings and ENJOYED is the right word.
From the moment we checked in to the time we left the staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful.
Excellent breakfast; a large bedoom (just that bit different, and spotless); excellent service - and the location in the city centre of beautiful York is ideal - Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve1454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudgesGeneralManager, Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Thank you for your enthusiastic highlights! Good breakfast, comfortable bed and a dedicated service, that is what we wish to provide you and all of our guests with. We hope that you come and see us again shortly, maybe for a Christmas shopping break in December!

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
1,039 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 45 in York
1,440 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Judges Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Judges Lodging

Property: The Judges Lodging
Address: 9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in York
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#9 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Judges Lodging 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively refurbished in 2014, the Judge's Lodging has 21 individually styled bedrooms, an original vaulted cellar bar,first floor dining and drinking and also 2 fabulous outside areas- quite unique within the centre of York! With a fabulous location in the shadows of the Minster, we offer a warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome to guests from all over the world. *Free Breakfast refers to our Bed and Breakfast rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Judges Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing