We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Judge's Holiday Made Perfect”
Review of The Judges Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Judges Lodging
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Judge's Holiday Made Perfect”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

It would have served me right if this had all gone wrong. I chose it for no other reason than my own job. I wanted to see what an English judge's circuit lodging might have looked like in the earlier part of the century. I need not have worried. If you visit York without a car, this is where you want to stay. If you visit York with a car, even chauffeur driven, this is where you want to stay. A great number of significant attractions are within walking distance as are a number of very good restaurants. It is quaint and very comfortable, the breakfast excellent and the location perfect. There is so much to see in the city it is impossible to fit it in in three days which is what my wife and I had allowed. Generally we found the people of York delightful but our stay was made perfect by the choice of hostelry. I doubt if you will find a more pleasant, helpful and considerate bunch than the team at Judges Lodgings. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheriffb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    289
    111
    37
    37
See reviews for
146
608
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guiseley
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We had pre-booked a table in the cellar bar on colleagues advice as we had arranged to meet friends in York for Christmas Shopping on the Saturday . As expected York was very busy so close to Christmas. I suspected something was wrong when we walked in as the bar was virtually empty at 1pm. We were expecting a menu choice of home cooked food as promised when the table had been booked a few days earlier. What we were presented with was a very limited sandwich menu with an option for pie and peas. The staff said we should have been told this when we booked as they had a wedding on in the main hotel. We were not told this and to cap it all the ladies toilets for the bar were in a disgraceful state. The staff response to our question on this was that they could not do anything about the condition of the toilets it and that the management upstairs had been informed of this following complaints from other customers. Needless to say we walked out without buying any drinks or food and we have no intention of returning if this is how they treat customers.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PCG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2011

My sisters and I stayed at this beautiful hotel in November. The staff were extremely friendly and so helpful. The accommodation was first class and our suite was extremely well appointed down to even a Jacussi bath. The hotel is so close to many of the sights in York and there are a couple of great restaurants very close by. Thank you so much for making our stay so memorable. We will be back again and recommend you to all.

Room Tip: No lift at hotel so make sure you exactly specify your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2011

A fantastic standard room, with space, views, a bed, a bathroom and in particularly a jacuzzi bath that all were far from "standard". The hotel staff were great; genuinely proud of their hotel and warmly friendly without a hint of pretence. Everything sparkling clean. The breakfast, delivered to the room at short notice, was delicious.

The cellar bar is a welcome bolt-hole from the packed and popular local alternatives. The staff equally as welcoming, with a great range of drinks and an upbeat, cosy atmosphere. The only let down was absolutely grotty bathrooms - a stark contrast from the amazing hotel upstairs. It was the smallest blemish on an otherwise amazing weekend.

We'll be back. Probably quite a lot!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cestparti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We were in Room 5 on the second floor of the main house and had a great view of the nearby Minster over the rooftops. Quite scenic, but even more impressive than the rooms and the views was the service. Seldom have we ever come across a staff so pleasant, professional and accommodating. Kudos to all. And least I forget --- the location was perfect. Part of the "old town" of York, you're in the middle of everthing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broseley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We have just got back from a long shopping weekend in york staying in this lovely hotel. Our room (9) was very spacious and comfortable - the only complaint about the room ( a very small complaint at that) is that you advertise that you provide hairdryers and bathrobes neither were present in our room but I can't really say this was a problem because I brought my own hairdryer but you shouldnt really advertise that these items are in the rooms when they are not.
The breakfast was amazing with a wide variety of choice and the staff were very curtious and helpful. We had a small problem with the heating in our room during our stay but this was dealt with very efficiently.
The only down side for us was the cellar bar as we had travelled a long way on our first day we thought this would be an ideal place for a meal on our first night - I ordered a glass of Rose' wine which was warm - and out of six items on the menu there were only three available our meal was then made rather uncomfortable by other members of the public using the bar who thought that telling crude jokes and using bad language for all to hear appropriate behaviour this was still quite early in the evening (well before nine) and I am just pleased that we didnt have our children with us. I do feel the cellar bar let's the hotel down in more ways than one.
Please dont let this put you off staying at the hotel as it is seperate enough to have little effect on your stay. If you need a quick bite to eat after a long journey to York cross the street to ZIzzi's it's good food for a reasonable price in a very nice atmosphere.

Thanks again for a lovely stay - improvements needed in the cellar bar.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLP15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here last weekend. We walked from the station (5 minutes walk) and from the moment we walked in we loved it. The staff were all very friendly and the building itself is (as per a previous posting) atmospheric.

The room we had was great, with all the features you would expect from a hotel of this type, plus the most comfortable hotel bed ever!

The building is perfectly situated for the major sights (the Minster etc) and for the shops.

One thing to bear in mind. Because the building is listed and therefore has single glazed sash windows our room suffered a little from noise (particularly in the morning when the bin men came!) but that was a small price to pay.

Great hotel, fantastic city. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricandlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudgesGeneralManager, Manager at The Judges Lodging, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us in York. I am particularly pleased that you appreciated the beauty and historic charm of the building, as well as the staff. We are very proud of our workforce, who always try their best to make guests feel welcome and satisfied with their stay. The hotel is situated right in the center of the city, next to one of the major shopping streets and a stone's throw from the Minster, Museum Gardens and the famous Betty's Tea Rooms. Unfortunately, a side-effect of this, as you say, is that there can be some unavoidable noise from the streets. Thankfully, as the area is pedestrianized most of the time, our guests are not troubled by vehicle engines! I am very glad that you thought this was a small price to pay, and we would love to see you again in the future. Thanks again for the review.

Kind regards,
The Judges Lodgings Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Judges Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Judges Lodging

Property: The Judges Lodging
Address: 9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in York
#7 Luxury Hotel in York
#9 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Judges Lodging 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively refurbished in 2014, the Judge's Lodging has 21 individually styled bedrooms, an original vaulted cellar bar,first floor dining and drinking and also 2 fabulous outside areas- quite unique within the centre of York! With a fabulous location in the shadows of the Minster, we offer a warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome to guests from all over the world. *Free Breakfast refers to our Bed and Breakfast rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Judges Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing