We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star hotel at the moment”
Review of The Judges Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Judges Lodging
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star hotel at the moment”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I should have read the other reviews of this hotel before I booked and I might have anticipated some of the failings of the hotel. It is obvious that the hotel is in administration as there are a lot of general maintenance issues that need attention. The paintwork at the front of the hotel needs redoing. There are light bulbs outside the hotel and in the bathroom of my room that needed replacing. The walls of my room were chipped and scuffed. The toilet in the en suite was not bolted to the floor! The hand dryer in the lobby WC was broken and there were no hand towels. I pointed this out but they were not replaced. The hotel is in a great position though and has its own ,limited, car parking which is a fantastic bonus in York. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. It did take 45 minutes for the cooked breakfast to arrive on the first morning though. It isn't currently even close to being a 4 star hotel but it does have great potential. What puzzles me is how it ended up in administration in the first place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarissaStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    282
    109
    35
    36
See reviews for
141
596
24
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband booked an over night stay at The Judges lodgings for my birthday last week.
What a treat, atmospheric surroundings, easy to find and central for everything in York.
It was also a bonus that we could park directly outside the building itself, i am sure in the height of summer you would not be able to do this.

Very helpful staff, Sophie on reception gave us a map and directed us to a great pub,The Lion and Lamb, lovely beer garden.

The hotel has a style all of its own quiet but grand with a great cellar bar and outside beer garden this must be fab in summer.

The room was ideal lovely bathroom, and the sound of the Minster bells in the evening and morning wonderful. Very nice breakfast with excellent choice of hot dishes not just the usual full English, try the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, yummy!

All in all a great location you can easily walk to anywhere, great value and i am looking forward to my next stay there soon i hope.

Room Tip: we had a room facing the entrance, in March it was fairly quiet but in summer it would be busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo2064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Spent three nights at the Judges Lodgings over 'Halloween' 2011. Arrived by train, was able to walk from the station...and walk everywhere in York too. Had a beautiful and 'individual' room at the top of the house, facing the front...so expect some street noise. Staff very helpful, friendly and keen to be of service. No guest lift so be ready for many stairs. Did not try the basement bar for drinks or food...loads of great places to eat in York. The 'residents' lounge and bar' in the Lodgings was fairly uninviting, got the impression that not many residents 'lounged' in it! Breakfast served to order and a fairly lengthy experience, but good quality.
So I'd describe this as a very elegant bed and breakfast hotel with a bar attached. Great location for all the sights in York

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank racecoursedonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Pros: I took my 10 year old son to York for 3 days during half term to experience the Viking festival and all that York has to offer in terms of its architectural and historical treasures. This hotel was exactly what I was looking for in terms of classic, understated style in historical keeping with the building, comfort and value, and it suited his needs too.. DVD library for the evening, his first jacuzzi bath (!), fluffy towels, a towelling bathrobe, and a wonderful selection of foods at breakfast. The location is fabulous..walking distance from absolutely everywhere. We took a taxi from the train station to the hotel but walked there on our return to London - it took 10 minutes max. The staff were, without fail, incredibly friendly and helpful, always there to greet us with a smile and interested questions when we returned from our adventures. The hotel is cosy, the fire in the hallway was blazing, the panelled breakfast room fresh and charming, especially with the sound of the Minster bells ringing in the background, and the breakfast delicious. We had a twin room (10) which overlooked the front courtyard which was beautiful with its snowy blanket and lit up steps.
Minor cons: only 1 bathrobe (but I'm sure they would have brought another had we asked).
P.S. Bar refurbishment not a limitation at all..there are SO many eating and drinking options in York, all within 5 minutes walk. What a shame to miss out on this wonderful hotel based on the bar not being open :-o

Room Tip: Room 10 is a twin. Plenty of space for two. Only downside to being at the front of the hotel was my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

what a find - an excellent bistro hotel in the centre of York.

When we arrived the staff met and showed us to our room, they were all bright and cheeerful and couldnt do enought for us. They helped us book a rastaurant in York for the evening meal

The rooms were very large and had excellent facilities, breakfast was served in a very nice room and the food was of excellent quality. Would use this hotel again .Mrs Mason Room 1

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyneside
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Pros: The Hotel is central and spacious. Architecture buffs will love the classical decor - a reminder of York's Vanbrugh days. Surviving features have been carefully retained and thankfully the owners have resisted any temptation to introduce faux 18thc design with the result that the public rooms are comfortable, tasteful and restful on the eye. The overmantel in the breakfast room is a treat. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and refined. The staff could not have been more helpful and are a significant asset.
Cons: Minor stuff really. My room looked down on a skip but I do know that restoration work had just finished on the Cellar Bar and restaurant. Continental breakfast could have done with a a few select cheeses. Would warn the disabled or those with walking difficulties that there are outside stairs to be negotiated. Otherwise a treat.

Room Tip: Ask for the Winteringham Suite (Room 11)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Novocastrian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orpington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

It is perfectly placed for getting round the city, the staff were very helpful and the room comfortable with a massive bed, 2 TVs. Down side TV1 didn't work and needed manager intervention. No bathrobes in room ,no access from hotel to bar and we could not put drinks from bar on the room. Given it's location and price these downs outweighted the positives.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steveorpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Judges Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Judges Lodging

Property: The Judges Lodging
Address: 9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in York
#7 Luxury Hotel in York
#9 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Judges Lodging 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively refurbished in 2014, the Judge's Lodging has 21 individually styled bedrooms, an original vaulted cellar bar,first floor dining and drinking and also 2 fabulous outside areas- quite unique within the centre of York! With a fabulous location in the shadows of the Minster, we offer a warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome to guests from all over the world. *Free Breakfast refers to our Bed and Breakfast rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Judges Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing