We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast in bed listening to the Minster Bells.”
Review of The Judges Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Judges Lodging
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Having got married that day and arriving to such a wonderful place really ended the day with a bang! The room was very clean and spacious with a very good bathroom and fantastic range of complimentary toiletries. The bed was very comfortable and plenty of pillows. A late check out was easily arranged and breakfast in bed was a delight, especially when the Sunday Minster bells began in earnest. A real pleasure.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a fantastic sleigh bed which is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinkerpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

927 - 933 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

Staff were fantastic - engaging and helpful.
Stayed in Room 2 - which was large and dramatic to match the hotel in general.
Particular mention of the bed which hosted the entire family.
Lovely breakfast with good choice and ingredients.
Skip the faceless generic modern hotels.

Room Tip: Room 2 is large with separate area with a sofa bed and views of the minster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Duncan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The building is an absolute delight and the staff very pleasant, helpful and concerned. The kitchens were being refurbished so we ate out and their restaurant recommendations were absolutely spot on. Breakfast within the hotel is excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. If you want a typical group hotel The Judges Lodgings possibly isn't for you but as a slightly eccentric and unusual stay it's wonderful. Moreover, the location is central and only a few minutes walk from Betty's and other York must experience places. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnStratfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We (the girlfriend and I) bought a voucher deal for this hotel back in 2011 prior to it going into admin. We had tried to book the hotel for a weekend in December but were advised the hotel was fully booked so we opted for the weekend of my birthday - mid April. Stayed in contact with the hotel uptil that point just to confirm everything was still OK. Communication with the hotel was spot on.

We came by train (having been advised that car parking couldn't be guarenteed) and walked the 2 - 3 minutes upto Lendal and to the hotel.

The grounds of the hotel (as we walked through the main gates and up to the stairs) were generally clean although they could do with moving/cleaning the car right at the entrance covered in bird droppings! Not the most pleasant of welcomes! Apart from that, everything seemed in good order.

We couldn't check in until 3 but the hotel staff were very accomodating, taking in our luggage at 11am although it was only stored in the small reception room, along with the luggage of departing guests.

Coming back to the hotel late afternoon, we were met by James who showed us to our room - Room 5, right at the top of the hotel! The room was very large, a king sized bed dominating the main part of it. Samsung flat screen TV and external DVD player were at the end of the room, with other furniture including drawers and table. Full tea/coffee facilities were available. Another nice touch was the inclusion of an integrated radio/iPhone docking station.

One small wardrobe for hanging clothes was available in one corner of the room, also housing a full length mirror and the hair dryer.

The bathroom was fully tiled, clean and tidy, plenty of towels supplied and the usual shower gel etc. We opted to try the double-end jacuzzi bath, which worked well and was fun (although as mentioned in another review, only one bath robe), before getting changed and going out around York for the evening.

The room had two windows, providing plenty of light, and looked across the roof-top seating area of the hotel/bar and other roofs of York towards the Cathedral. Prior to heading out we booked breakfast to be delivered to our room for the morning - a full choice of continental or English, drinks, options etc.

We were awoken in the morning not by breakfast or the Cathedral bells but by the cooing and squaking of the pigeons! It sounded as it they were going to come through the roof at one stage they were so noisy on the roof - without these, I'd have given a full 5 for the sleep quality! When breakfast did arrive, it did not dissapoint! I had full English, the gf went continental. Plenty of it, it certainly helped soak up the beer from the night before and set us up for the day.

All in all, a very nice hotel - there were little bits that maybe let the rooms down - we had a bulb not working on the bathroom mirror for example, but it didn't detract from the overall experience, I didn't report it. Also, the room handbook states we get two visits from house keeping - one to clean the room (which they did) and one to turn the bed down (which they didn't) - little bits like this would have made the rooms a 5.

We never ate in the dining room, opting to take breakfast in bed again on the Sunday - this time delivered with a birthday card from the hotel which was a very nice touch.

Any problems were quickly sorted (an issue with the TV loosing its channels were sorted as soon as reported).

Not sure I'd pay the normal room rates (for the amount of time we spent actually in the hotel) but for what I did pay, I cannot fault. Its a fantastic old building, lots of character which you notice as soon as your walk into the foyer. The staff were always helpful and willing to stay and chat (hope James got his new car!), nothing seemed like too much trouble.

I hope the hotel gets sold soon and wish all the staff well.

Room Tip: The cooked breakfast is fab, especially when eaten in bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCFC56-YNWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

we booked a room at the judges lodgings for saturday 7th april,after getting a confirmation email for the wrong night a very helpful receptionist insisted to upgrade us for no extra charge as the room we had booked was actually not available for the correct night.

the hotel is 5 minutes walk from york station and very easy to find. on arrival we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff who showed us the breakfast room and then took us up to our room. the entrance room of the hotel is lovely with an open fire and the building itself is lovely.

our room was room 3,it was massive and gorgeous!the huge bed was mega comfy and the sheets and pillows were crisp white and clean. the kettle was clean(although it was not dualit as mentioned on website but a very much cheaper cookworks!no problem as did same job but not as upmarket as mentioned on website) it came with tea,coffee etc and a bottle of water also.we heard the minster bells from room in the morning and this was lovely!
the room was large and clean and the view to the minster was lovely!! the bathroom was fab!loved it! the jacuzzi bath was great (although it did leave black bits all in the water when you used the jacuzzi button,perhaps it hadnt been used for a while??) the rain shower was nice too and there was some lovely little toiletries provided. the towels on the towel radiator were lovely big and fluffy :) also there was a hairdryer provided.we did have to keep bathroom door closed at night as the towel radiator was making room so hot!
i couldnt really fault the room,was really nice,but,i wouldnt be happy paying the full room tariff of £195 per night as it doesnt warrant this price tag.
we opted to have our breakfast delivered to our room the following morning,it arrived hot and on time,we had a full yorkshire breakfast and it was really nice but oddly didnt include any toast or bread?(perhaps i should have requested this but thought it was a basic element)
checkout was quick and after being given bill for full price of room,it was immediately rectified when we pointed out our email confirmed the lower price. the staff at this hotel are really nice,down to earth. and helpful
the hotel's location is fab,easy to find everywhere,very central.
all in all i would say the hotel was a beautiful building and very nice inside but it does need a little makeover,new carpets etc but these are only little things. the room prices really are a bit high.would go back again but only for the lower price we paid.
we didnt get to check out the cellar bar as we headed straight out for dinner in the eve and when we came back around 10:15pm it was closed,shame!

Room Tip: ask for room 3! was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I should have read the other reviews of this hotel before I booked and I might have anticipated some of the failings of the hotel. It is obvious that the hotel is in administration as there are a lot of general maintenance issues that need attention. The paintwork at the front of the hotel needs redoing. There are light bulbs outside the hotel and in the bathroom of my room that needed replacing. The walls of my room were chipped and scuffed. The toilet in the en suite was not bolted to the floor! The hand dryer in the lobby WC was broken and there were no hand towels. I pointed this out but they were not replaced. The hotel is in a great position though and has its own ,limited, car parking which is a fantastic bonus in York. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. It did take 45 minutes for the cooked breakfast to arrive on the first morning though. It isn't currently even close to being a 4 star hotel but it does have great potential. What puzzles me is how it ended up in administration in the first place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarissaStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband booked an over night stay at The Judges lodgings for my birthday last week.
What a treat, atmospheric surroundings, easy to find and central for everything in York.
It was also a bonus that we could park directly outside the building itself, i am sure in the height of summer you would not be able to do this.

Very helpful staff, Sophie on reception gave us a map and directed us to a great pub,The Lion and Lamb, lovely beer garden.

The hotel has a style all of its own quiet but grand with a great cellar bar and outside beer garden this must be fab in summer.

The room was ideal lovely bathroom, and the sound of the Minster bells in the evening and morning wonderful. Very nice breakfast with excellent choice of hot dishes not just the usual full English, try the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, yummy!

All in all a great location you can easily walk to anywhere, great value and i am looking forward to my next stay there soon i hope.

Room Tip: we had a room facing the entrance, in March it was fairly quiet but in summer it would be busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojo2064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 47 in York
1,521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Judges Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Judges Lodging

Address: 9 Lendal, York YO1 8AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in York
#7 Luxury Hotel in York
#9 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £119 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Judges Lodging 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively refurbished in 2014, the Judge's Lodging has 21 individually styled bedrooms, an original vaulted cellar bar,first floor dining and drinking and also 2 fabulous outside areas- quite unique within the centre of York! With a fabulous location in the shadows of the Minster, we offer a warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome to guests from all over the world. *Free Breakfast refers to our Bed and Breakfast rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Judges Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings Hotel York
Judges Lodgings York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing